We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moldy & noisy”
Review of Hotel Tamana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tamana
Ranked #13 of 24 Bamako B&B and Inns
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“moldy & noisy”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Hotle Tamana is fairly overprized for the dark and moldy rooms and the uncomfortable beds. On the plus side - they have a nice garden and a cute little pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
7
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Arrived with my daughter aged 8, stayed in a room for 3 as my wife arrived the next day. Room without any decoration. Beds are a bamboo affair which is neither straight nor flat, and makes queecks and tweeks as soon as you move a toe. I kicked mine out of the room after 2 hours and put my mattress on the ground : much more comfortable. Ordered one half chicken, fried, with two portions of french fries at noon, and after waiting for 80 minutes two half fried chickens (not cooked enough) arrived with green beans. I then asked for a third pillow in the room as we would be three from that evening on (as requested in the reservation), only to be told that it was company policy to have only two pillows in a room, even if the room is rent out (and invoiced as such !) for three persons. Had to insist several times over a 4-hour period before the pillow arrived. Breakfast is a clumsy affair with nescafé and powdered milk - how difficult can it be to make milk in the kitchen before serving it ? The room was very noise. Internet has to be paid extra for. Too expensive for what it is, there are much better options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bamako hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
usa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

this is a hotel that should know better. its a part of the Lonely Planet recommended hotels in Bamako, and I know they have had enough business come through there to spend some money and upgrade the hotel, the staff, and the food.

you can tell that it used to be a great place to stay, but now its totally musty, and the staff really could care a less about you. the food is terrible, and the place has lost its charm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdoggiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

This is a nice basic place to stay in Bamako. The staff is great. I would return for the decent shower pressure and bath tub (not common in budget Mali hotels). But the rooms are very basic. The pool was small and didn't seem too clean and the food was expensive. Internet access is available.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 38 in Bamako
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Dunia
Azalai Hotel Dunia
#30 of 38 in Bamako
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#19 of 38 in Bamako
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#7 of 38 in Bamako
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamana

Property: Hotel Tamana
Address: Bp E 985 | Hippodrome, Bamako, Mali
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bamako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tamana 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tamana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing