We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good and friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tamana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tamana
Ranked #14 of 23 Bamako B&B and Inns
Craiova
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good and friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

A good place to stay, with a nice garden and swing pool. Not far from the city center

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
4
7
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Horrible and very rude service by the front desk. All of them, absolutely no smiles just bad looks. They tried to put us in one of their rooms not connected to the hotel. It was about 200 yards from the actual hotel in a dreary, grimy shack of a place. They are overpriced and WILL try to cheat you as they did on our bill. They took 45 min to bring us tea in the morning and just ignored us the entire time after they finally acknowledge us. Three separate incidents with three separate people they tried to cheat me out of money for things like laundry and setting up a ride for me. There are tourist hunters all over the place around the hotel making it hard to get away from them once they recognize your face and the fact you are staying at the hotel.
I RECOMMEND YOU STAY FAR WAY FROM THIS PLACE!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mha323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bamako hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
The Hague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Bamako is a big bustling city that is hot noisy and polluted - Hotel Tamana is the antidote.

This really is a great place to stay; the rooms (especially in the main hotel) are clean, cool and pleasant; the location is excellent (a good taste of Bamako's nightlife is on the same street); the atmosphere is great; the staff are knowledgeable; the food, while basic, is good.

While the bar at the hotel is nice I strongly recommend that you try one of the local bars on the street, especially if there is some football on TV!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3c0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Hotle Tamana is fairly overprized for the dark and moldy rooms and the uncomfortable beds. On the plus side - they have a nice garden and a cute little pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Arrived with my daughter aged 8, stayed in a room for 3 as my wife arrived the next day. Room without any decoration. Beds are a bamboo affair which is neither straight nor flat, and makes queecks and tweeks as soon as you move a toe. I kicked mine out of the room after 2 hours and put my mattress on the ground : much more comfortable. Ordered one half chicken, fried, with two portions of french fries at noon, and after waiting for 80 minutes two half fried chickens (not cooked enough) arrived with green beans. I then asked for a third pillow in the room as we would be three from that evening on (as requested in the reservation), only to be told that it was company policy to have only two pillows in a room, even if the room is rent out (and invoiced as such !) for three persons. Had to insist several times over a 4-hour period before the pillow arrived. Breakfast is a clumsy affair with nescafé and powdered milk - how difficult can it be to make milk in the kitchen before serving it ? The room was very noise. Internet has to be paid extra for. Too expensive for what it is, there are much better options in the vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

this is a hotel that should know better. its a part of the Lonely Planet recommended hotels in Bamako, and I know they have had enough business come through there to spend some money and upgrade the hotel, the staff, and the food.

you can tell that it used to be a great place to stay, but now its totally musty, and the staff really could care a less about you. the food is terrible, and the place has lost its charm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdoggiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

This is a nice basic place to stay in Bamako. The staff is great. I would return for the decent shower pressure and bath tub (not common in budget Mali hotels). But the rooms are very basic. The pool was small and didn't seem too clean and the food was expensive. Internet access is available.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Dunia
Azalai Hotel Dunia
#28 of 38 in Bamako
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#6 of 38 in Bamako
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#12 of 38 in Bamako
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamana

Property: Hotel Tamana
Address: BP E 985 | Hippodrome, Bamako, Mali
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bamako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tamana 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tamana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing