We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel away from the bustle of downtown Bamako - breath of fresh air!”
Review of Hotel Badala

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamako
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Badala
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel away from the bustle of downtown Bamako - breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Bamako on business, and it has been wonderful seeing it develop over the course of the last three years. A smaller hotel in the residential neighborhood of Badalabougou, it is decorated beautifully and the staff are always extremely friendly and accommodating. It has a nice pool and delicious restaurant. The Internet speed has improved vastly since I first stayed here in 2011. For business travelers, it is just missing a gym and printing /fax/scanning facilities, but the hotel staff will let you use their printer in case of emergency. It's nice to support a locally-owned and managed small business like this one, and I highly recommend doing so!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    44
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
1
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is mediocre. The food at the restaurant is good and the hotel is overall clean. However, not a good choice for business trips as it does not have professional amenities and comfort. The room is big but set up in a weird way, quite basic and dark. Not very pleasant to hang out in. The toilet smelled like sewers but the worst thing about my stay there is that my room had bed bugs! I got devoured literally. I asked for a new room, which was accomodated immediately but the staff did not seem to be familiar with bed bugs or really take any steps to take care of it. I saw previous reviews that there were boold stains on the sheets from mosquitoes. Those are bed bugs people, that leave stains on your sheets, not mosquitoes!

Wireless connection is okay but no real business center. The staff is not particularly qualified either. the restaurant is full of cigarette smoke so does not make it a pleasant place to hang out. Also, in an almost empty hotel, I asked for a late check out and they charged me. In many international hotels I've stayed at, even with a full hotel, late check out requests are accomodated without a fee so not sure why a family owned business that is mostly empty can't.

Anyways, not a very good experience overall and I will not be returning on future business trips if I can avoid it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandHopper974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is an excellent choice for Bamako - the hotel has beautiful rooms, very tastefully decorated, very clean and quality linens and bedding, very spacious rooms too. I am thoroughly pleased and comfortable. However, there isn't an elevator so handicapped, sick, or elderly should be aware, and also the restaurant is grossly overpriced, but the food is good.

Room Tip: No elevator so choose based on your fitness level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I was disappointed with the Badala hotel- it could be a great hotel but they are missing a lot of the small things- like bednets, because there were lots of mosquitos. It sucks when you wake up and there are spots of blood on the sheets from the mosquitos. Appropriate soap in the bathroom would have been nice, but instead we got a huge bar of the same industrial soap locals use to wash their clothes in the river just outside the hotel. Wifi was spotty and the tv channels sometimes were blocked or had a notice about needing to update software that covered the program you were trying to watch. The food at the restaurant was good, just dont eat outside because you will be swarmed by flies. Be careful with your luggage- my friend's suitcase was accidentally loaded into the wrong car and disappeared for a couple hours. Also be sure none of the other rooms around you try to take a shower at the same time because there isn't enough water pressure and you will end up with a cold trickle while covered in industrial grade soap!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lthammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

nice little hotel with friendly staff, good food and pool close to the river Niger

Rooms are clean and decorated with pieces of Westafrican art and matching pictures,
Bathroom was clean as well, hot water shower,
Restaurant with small, nice terrace
Little manko: single rooms do not face the river.

Price: single room with breakfast approx. 45.000 CFA

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KatiLoewenzahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As this was my frist trip to Mali I was concerned about the accommodation in Bamako. When we pulled up to the Badala I was impressed. Check in was smooth and professional. The rooms are perfect. Not too big, not too small. Modern decor, flat screen television, comfortable bed. The restaurant is fantastc for dinner. The special of the day is usually excellent and the staff are friendly and very attentive. I really have no complaints. As I am statying here for four weeks, I am glad to be doing it at the Badala!

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David_Major
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel several times now and it is a good alternative to the "big" hotels in Bamako. It is situated at Badalabougou est, close to some embassies. If you have to work downtown Bamako you have to cross the "old" bridge to go there which could be time consuming due to jams in the morning.
The hotel is clean, the junior suite is about 70.000 F CFA without breakfast. As it is fairly new, everything is working properly which is can't be found everywhere in Mali. WIFI included. On the ground floor you'll find the reception (24hrs) with outstanding friendly and helpful receptionists as well as a restaurant with excellent food. This restaurant does not directly belong to the hotel, it is run by a French couple.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutOpitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
1.0 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#6 of 38 in Bamako
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#7 of 38 in Bamako
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Dunia
Azalai Hotel Dunia
#30 of 38 in Bamako
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#20 of 38 in Bamako
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Badala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Badala

Property: Hotel Badala
Address: Le Pied dans l'Eau. Quartier Somono | Badalabougou-est, Bamako, Mali
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing