We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
2
12
15
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
12
15
6
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

We stood waiting to check in while the two men behind the counter occupied themselves with other tasks. Eventually, I heard, "Passport." I looked up and saw one of the men holding out his hand. I gave him my passport. Without saying a word, he looked up my reservation, then handed me my key, my passport, and a slip of paper with the wi-fi password.

Welcome to the Hotel Massaley.

The room was drab, with about 10% of a roll of toilet paper balanced on the back of the toilet because the holder was long broken. The twisted hangers in the closet could perhaps be described as an attempt at modern art. The wi-fi was off my first night, but got switched after some discussion with the front desk in the morning. Don't expect to get useable bandwidth after 7am, but you can stream video at 3 in the morning.

Breakfast was thoroughly uninspired. The coffee was sometimes drinkable, especially if there was milk. However, when an item ran out on the buffet, it did not come running back in - I waited 45 minutes one morning until the fruit salad finally came at the same moment as my ride.

A redeeming feature was the pool, which was clean, quiet, and refreshing.

This is a hotel you stay at because you have a need to be in that part of town for work. Otherwise, there is nothing interesting nearby, and nothing attractive about the hotel.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malangali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

Transport in Bamako taxis is slow, hot and dusty. We had a week in Bamako, with several meetings each day, most of which were in the Commune IV area, in North Western Bamako. This is where Hotel Massely is situated.

The hotel is relatively new, and well maintained. The rooms are spacious, with excellent baths, and water, electricity, air conditioning and elevators worked all the time. The hotel has a good sized pool, well maintained and little used. The restaurant is not very popular, there were very few guests, but basic meals are served on request. Breakfast is OK, but not fancy.

wifi is available throughout the hotel, but weak, which is the case everywhere in Bamako. If you are there for business, the best is to get a local SIM card and set up your smart phone as a personal hotspot to feed your laptop.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired_Stockevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

About the most dullest place we've ever been. Boring, sterile, and feels uninhabited, which a lot of the hotel is -- on the other side of the pool, building closed. Utterly bland in every way, except the pool where the water looks like it could spawn life. Restaurant food overpriced, wretched and with limited menu. But, you'll have to eat here as the hotel is located near to absolutely nil commercial activity. Another hotel nearby (a Laico) has been requisitioned by the militar and sealed off with barbwire perimeter. Staff utterly useless. Cabs camped out by door, pounce to take advantage of hotel's poor location.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for five nights during course of volunteer assignment with an NGO. Unpretentious room with refrigerator and workable Wi-Fi. Toilet worked well and plenty of hot water in shower. Rooms well cleaned daily. Air conditioner worked well. Shelf space for working, big bench for suitcase, closet and storage shelves to be avoided in room I occupied. Generally quite location and hotel. Had some pounding one night that sounded like someone removing a wall somewhere. Hotel bar has variety of beers and alcohol. Breakfast offers choices from buffet. Dinner menu in French, food portions generous but plain. Staff courteous, only desk persons speak much English. Unless you speak French or Baramka, TV incomprehensible.

Room tip: Ask for room with balcony, then you can open doors for ventilation.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeRoemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed for two weeks on a volunteer assignment. It is located in a newer, safer, and less populated area of Bamako with nearby businesses and NGO's. The newer annex is closed and the restaurant was closed temporarily (now open) because of the rebellion, I understand the hotel business is under stress as a result but many improvements could be made that cost practically nothing. Room quality varies greatly from room to room. The hotel is completely tile, acoustically live, please take earplugs. Varies from night to night. The doors lack rubber bumpers and a door slam will wake the dead. Minor annoyances: The A/C remote disappeared twice during my stay. The shower head holder was gone and the shower head nozzle kept falling apart. The A/C was oversized for my room, the fan had no real "low" setting, and was positioned to blow right over the bed, so I woke up with a sore throat every morning. Major annoyances: The front desk nor the restaurant ever have small-bill change, so getting small bills for tips is impossible. Only the night clerk at the front desk speaks any English, so finding a pharmacy or restaurant or any thing else is hopeless. Despite the fact that 60-70% of the guests speak English or ESL, the restaurant menu is in French with no English counterpart, there were two menus with different items and different prices on different tables. (you get the higher price) Only about half the items on the menu are available at any given time. There are no "local" dishes on the menu, just faux-French items, so you have to go elsewhere to sample local food. The food is marginally edible but unexciting. A continental breakfast comes with the deal, you can order food pretty much anytime at the bar or room service. The hotel pool is a dark green/brown muddy water and the source of mosquitoes that often inhabit the restaurant. There is no map in the hotel to nearby useful services. The lighting in the lobby, bar restaurant and rooms is the narrow-spectrum fluorescent, the whole experience is a greenish-blue tinge. There is usually a taxi outside and in the evenings a local souvenir vendor inhabits the lobby, his sales tactics would turn a U.S. used-car salesman green with envy. There is a pizza restaurant within walking distance and a "supermarket" (western foods to a limited extent) about a mile away. The Massaley just teeters on the edge: one side with minimal investment could be an easy and comfortable place to stay, on the other side it threatens to become the Bamako version of "Fawlty Towers".

Room tip: Quieter and balconies on the back side. Ask to see 2-3 rooms, they are only about 5% full and you have a choice. The annex is new and great but closed during the coup/rebellion difficulties.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews