We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms and Good Service”
Review of Azalai Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Azalai Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed for one night while transiting Bamako. The Hotel is well appointed and secure. I am not sure if I was in a standard room but it was large and very comfortable. It had a mini-bar and wifi available in the room. I found the service to be very efficient and reliable. I wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamL1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

I was visiting my family who live in the area - and we ate a lunch at this hotel. It was very clean, more modern than most of Mali would expect, and the wine, buffet was very beautiful and tasted wonderful. The chicken in the stew was the local very small birds but the taste of the stew and meat was good . . . nice scalloped potatoes and great french desserts. There was taxi service available - a very calm and simple city to visit. . . not a tourism spot - still untouched in many ways. Rotary uses this hotel so you know it is a solid place. The market is walking distance out the door and around the block. This is not rated for New York but a third world country so take that into context. CLEAN bathrooms !! a delight - a pool view in the dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captainchickJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Azalai Grand for 10 days - on business. The rooms are fine. The doormen were always very helpful but that was where the hospitality ended. Unfortunately there aren't any restaurants in the immediate vicinity so I was forced to eat in the hotel restaurant - at least for a few days. The food was terrible and the servers were just plain rude - if you could ever get them to come to your table anyway. It didn't change, even when a manager came around. They would stand at the bar laughing at customers and refusing to help them. They tried to overbill me by 5000 francs for the last breakfast I had there. For the last 5 days of my stay, I just caught a taxi to restaurants that were too far to walk. And on that note - don't let the front desk "organize your taxi".... It will be an unofficial taxi and will charge you double the going rate..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cielopictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We flew in to Bamako October 20, 2011 and stayed two nights at this hotel. It was a good choice as it offered all that we wanted. The room was clean and fresh. No problems what so ever. We liked it more than its sister hotel where we stayed just one night at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Micheljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I was transferred here from Hotel Salaam when they made an error with my reservation.
Positives:
- clean, spacious, beautiful rooms
- fast enough internet with a cord provided by front desk (wifi only in lobby)
- a real fitness room!

Negatives:
- The restaurant had a very small portion of the items on their menu and took great liberties with making substitutions without asking.
.
- The hotel required a deposit up front which was unlike other hotels I'd stayed at in the city . This would have been fine except for the fact that it was Sunday. I was told that you can't pay with AmEx on Sundays (??) but the banks were also closed so I couldn't take money out. It seemed like my only option was the terrible hotel exchange rate (significantly higher than the sister hotel I was at an hour before) but I couldn't even get a straight answer about how much of a deposit they wanted. Eventually the staff called a black market money changer for me who gave me a decent rate so I could pay in cash.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0_Just_Laura_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This was my first trip back to Africa in 9 years and my first ever visit to Bamako having lived and worked a total of 14 years in West and East Africa in 4 different countries. I was holding a driver safety seminar and stayed 12 days in the Grand Hotel.

The hotel certainly exceeded my (slightly low) expectations. I found the staff to be perfectly pleasant and friendly; the room was large, quiet and cool; the bathroom was adequately clean and decent; there was free, reliable broadband (though rather slow).

The only aspect that was disappointing was the restaurant where the quality of the food was not too good and it was also very overpriced. I had several much better meals at much cheaper prices in eateries in Bamako. The buffet breakfast had an adequate selection; I liked the locally made guava jam.

There were rather a lot of mosquitoes in the room and restaurant so I was glad I had packed a spray can of room insecticide and my DEET lotion. With that I did not get bitten once.

So I have given this hotel a 4 star rating (very good) as it is one of the best business hotels I have used in Africa. I would quite happily stay there again. And I really liked Bamako (not the traffic though) - I found the Malians to be great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night in January 2009. I don’t think I’d stay here again, but I might, depending what else was available. I have a much more wishy-washy opinion than usual about this hotel. What it did well, it did very well, but parts were – not good.

Positives:

– The location was good, near the train station.

– Excellent breakfast buffet, my favorite during the month I spent in West Africa – mainly because of an exquisite black-eyed peas dish, and some excellent cold-cereal choices. A real treat. The buffet was also completely stocked and ready at 5 AM (yes, 5 AM!), much appreciated since I had an early flight out.

– I had a huge room (I was in a single) with a comfortable bed.

– My A/C/ was pretty loud, which meant I didn’t hear any other noise from street, other rooms, or hall.

– There were two excellent reading lights next to the bed.

Negatives/other factors:

– The A/C was acceptable, but not great; I prefer a cold room, and was not able to get it as cool as I would have liked.

– There was no mosquito netting in my room, and there were mosquitos in it. The lobby was also filled with a large visible cloud of mosquitos.

– I had no towels at all, and despite asking twice, never got any.

– The trash in my room had not been emptied before I occupied it; one trash can had water bottles, food wrappers, and used q-tips in it (ick).

– Although my single room was huge, the two twin beds in it were very narrow, narrower than the typical twin bed. They were comfortable, though.

In summary, this hotel could be improved on both in terms of cleanliness and of service, and the rooms need to be equipped with mosquito netting. Bonus points for the buffet (and its early availability), though, and for the good reading lights (rare in West Africa) and comfortable bed. Usually I’m pretty sure after a hotel stay whether I’d return to it or not. I’m not so sure about the Grand. Maybe yes, maybe no, depending on what else I could find out there, but leaning toward no.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank velevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Loft
Hotel Le Loft
#1 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Salam
Azalai Hotel Salam
#22 of 38 in Bamako
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#5 of 38 in Bamako
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#14 of 38 in Bamako
48 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#7 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalai Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalai Grand Hotel

Address: Ave. Van Vollenhoven, Bamako, Mali
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bamako
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bamako
Price Range: £87 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azalai Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Azalaï Grand Hotel, a landmark 4-star property located in the historic heart of Bamako. Built in 1950, the hotel has undergone substantial renovation under the Azalaï Hotels Group and continues to offer a high calibre of comfort, convenience and security in Mali's capital city. Set in a quiet residential neighbourhood, the Azalaï Grand Hotel features 77 spacious guestrooms and a comprehensive selection of supporting services that provides business travellers and long-term residents with all of the amenities they require while spending time in Mali. Whether you're visiting Bamako as part of a quick tour or an extended stay, the Azalaï Grand Hotel offers an oasis of comfort, wellbeing and warm African hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Azalai Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bamako

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing