We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”
Review of Hotel Halima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Halima
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nouakchott
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel has clean,cozy rooms.Reasonable price. Everytime I visit Nouakchotto, I stay there since 10 years. Keeping the quality. Attention the mosquitos, spay before sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niangsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    13
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
2
2
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Unfortunetely for Trip advisor I recently made reservation for Hotel Halima in Nouakchott as it was "recommended" by tripadvisor. I arrived around 2 am because of a late flight out of Casablanca in Morocco. The place is a total disaster, roaches in the bedroom, barely running water no hot water, noisy, dirty, very old. Bathroom was terrible, I slept in my clothes and went to another hotel as soon as I woke. Hotel Mouna is a much better choice for the caliber to be expected in one of the poorest country in the world. the other hotel to consider in Nouakchott would be hotel TFEILA. For the overwhelming price I paid tripadvisor needs to do it's homework. I travel around the world and will not use tripadvisor again.

Room Tip: go to hotel Mouna, ask for Abdul he will take care of you, he owns a Mercedes benz very clean and ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgeorget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nouakchott hotels

Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Good basic hotel. If you are travelling for business and are not fussy, and don't appreciate gardens/or any outside areas, this is your place. The breakfast is good (compared to a couple other hotels in the area) they have crepes and fruit salad. Dinner food is disappointing; recommend Spanish restaurant across the street or a Turkish restaurant around the corner (although not very Turkish either). Internet quality depends on your room location, so check if you rely on it. Garden is upfront, on a busy road and there is no place to meet and relax, if you don't want to stay in your room. Overall, service is very attentive and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snegrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is ok for a couple of nights. The rooms are small, moderately furnished but clean. The bathroom was ok except the water was not hot enough in winter. The breakfast was not good at all, very limited items and if you go late (8:30) some items will be already gone and not refilled. Credit cards are accepted but a big hassle and not welcomed. The area is ok with several shops around to get water, maybe fruits or snacks.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank telerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
306 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

on my bz trip i booked the halima hotel, nice clean confortable and well located.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlos g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Located a few minutes from the airport, this hotel provides you the basics needed to enjoy a safe stay in this dynamic country. The room, bed, shower was just fine. I was there for business and did not expect north american standards but was pleasantly surprised.
I appreciated the politeness of staff. The food was well prepared and enjoyed the breakfast. The pool was large yet no one used it. There was a traditional Bedouin-type tent on the hotel grounds which was impressive although I did not see anyone using it. It seemed as if there was a high level of security and you're checked as you enter the hotel thru a metal detector.
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it comfortable enough to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belsole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Halima has it best days ten, fifteen years ago. But today downturn is moving fast. To get breakfast in time was impossible, dessert list was long but nothing was available. Lobby bar is the best point. Rooms are quite ok if you accept non-working lights and lousy bathroom condition as standard.

On positive side the hotel is quite clean and saff friendly. Location is good. You can manage in Halima but check neighbours also.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nouakchott hotels
0.0 mi away
Azalai Hotel Marhaba
Azalai Hotel Marhaba
#2 of 16 in Nouakchott
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Semiramis
Hotel Semiramis
#3 of 16 in Nouakchott
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monotel Hotel
Monotel Hotel
#1 of 16 in Nouakchott
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tfeila
Hotel Tfeila
#8 of 16 in Nouakchott
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ikrama
Hotel Ikrama
#6 of 16 in Nouakchott
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nouakchott Hotel
Nouakchott Hotel
#14 of 16 in Nouakchott
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Halima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Halima

Property: Hotel Halima
Address: ZRA 668, Quartier des Ambassades | Tevragh Zeina, Nouakchott 5144, Mauritania
Region: Mauritania > Nouakchott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nouakchott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Halima 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Halima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing