We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Basket

Ocean Basket
Ranked #115 of 933 Restaurants in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We are used to having food at ocean basket at the terminal 3 at Dubai International which is always sumptuous especially the world famous fish n chips fried. We went to the ocean basket at the bagatelle mall in port Louis with the same expectations. But the fish n chips was not as crispy as what we are use to having at the Dubai airport. Needs improvement.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SameerSultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    28
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Praslin seychelles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Service was great and fast. The food was excellent.
The dessert is a must.
Will definitely visit again next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 415Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Fish platter was amazing- nice variation - tasty and excellent value for money and the lime soda drink is so refreshing

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walshxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor taste - Cold and bland fish, calamari and prawns”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I went with my wife to Ocean's basket for a dinner. I had expected to have a decent dinner, but was highly disappointed. We ordered a platter (prawns, fish and fried calimari) and a meal with fish. The fish was cold (seemed it had been cooked 2 days ago) and stale. The platter was also a disaster with nothing that I would like to recommend.
The service was good and the staff cheerful and helpful. However, the overall experience was ruined owing to the unacceptably pathetic food quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duggalharshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food for decent prices - can't fault them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have only ever visited the one in La Croisette on numerous occasions. We've never had a bad meal. The staff are usually very polite and prompt to serve. Food always got to our table within reasonable time. Chilled atmosphere while sitting outside with nice music. Will definitely visit again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DomPriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

 
Ebene, Plaines Wilhems District
 
Pointe de Flacq, Flacq District
 

Been to Ocean Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing