We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, great atmosphere, friendly staff ”
Review of selFish

selFish
Ranked #169 of 968 Restaurants in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SELFISH IS A COSY RESTAURANT MAINLY SERVING SEAFOOD. OUR SUSHI DISHES ARE BASED ON MAURITIAN FLAVOURS SUCH AS GUAVA AND TAMARIND AND ARE A NICE TASTY TWIST ON TRADITIONAL SUSHI. WE ALSO SERVE DELICIOUS BURGHERS WITH HOMEMADE FRIES AND A BEEF FILLET TO DIE FOR. OUR LOVELY TROPICAL GARDEN SITUATED AT THE BACK OF THE RESTAURANT IS WELCOMING YOU TO RELAX AND ENJOY A DRINK WITH FRIENDS OR FAMILY. SO TREAT YOURSELF, BE SelFISH!
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great atmosphere, friendly staff ”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant twice in a row, because it was just so delicious and we enjoyed the laid back atmosphere there. Staff is very friendly and attentive. We loved the sushi as well as the other fish dishes. (try l'orkide and Le bomb!) children are very welcome at selfish. It's a good place to enjoy great seafood at affordable prices in a welcoming and warm surrounding.

Helpful?
Thank Vrenivreni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    35
    10
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Second chance also failed”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We gave this take away a second chance after having had an appalling bad meal last year in January and afraid to say nothing has improved. We got burned chips again! Coincidence???

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Nice place to eat”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our family stayed in Mauritius one month ago. Selfish was really easygoing place to go. We were there twice. My husband eat every time fish and me and our son liked very much chicken with homemade chips! The chieflady from Poland was very friendly and Rocky was the best!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sivettikissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place is great! The cosmopolitan staff were fairly new to the venue but they were so welcoming, friendly, attentive and ready to explain anything on the menu. I went with my parents who are very fussy about their food and eateries but they polished off their plates good style, as did I. A wonderful fishy menu that has traditional dishes with a twist that work wonderfully. The venue is quite casual with a relaxing atmosphere. Such value for money too, you really can't go wrong with this place - long ay it last.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atinus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trou aux Biches
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Went there to grab a quick lunch on Sunday and had a great time.

I was joined by my partner and we arrived around 13h and we're welcomed by the owner and we're sat down quickly and easily.

We ordered our drinks and we're served very fast - 2 bottled beers.
as it was our first time there we really enjoyed reading their very interesting menu.

We finally ordered - Grilled fish & Calamari Steak for her, as well as some sushi as starters.

A few minutes after we were suddenly attacked by bees coming from the plot of land in front. Luckily the owner and his staff were very proactive as there were kids within and they rushed us inside to their back yard where they also had some tables. Within minutes we were out of reach of the bees and could continue with our day.

The food came a few minutes later and we could finally taste the sushi and the unexpected blue wasabi. The grilled fish was cooked like I love it, i.e, smooth and tender. Pity the sauce wasn't as great as I would have expected it. The Calamari Steak on the other side of the table was going faster than I even had time to ask for a bite - must have been great I imagine.

Finally we finished our nice lunch and settled 'el conto' like our waiter explained.

Good experience and great ambiance.

We will definitely return sometimes soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP_Bellerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed selFish also viewed

Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 

Been to selFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing