We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk, dodgy map”

Black River Gorges National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.78*
and up
Trou-aux-Cerfs, Black River Gorges National Park and La Rhumerie de Chamarel...
Ranked #18 of 199 things to do in Mauritius
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 6,574-hectacre natural reserve is filled with hiking trails to observe the indigenous forests and variety of wildlife.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great walk, dodgy map”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a lovely 4 hour hike up a hill with some beautiful views. It was very peaceful, we came across 3 seperate school parties but other than that only saw 5 other people in the whole 4 hours. We had intended to get a guide but our hotel and taxi driver told us not to bother so we made do with the map. Interestingly the map you can buy (very cheaply) does not match up with the maps on display in the park, not sure which, if either, of them is correct, and there are very few signs so we had no idea where we were and never did see that waterfall we set out for!
Unbelievably entry to the park is entirely free even though it is well maintained and there are toilets etc, which is great, but I can't help feeling charging tourists a small charge and putting up some signs would be a good idea!
There are loos at the start but nowhere to buy anything so make sure you take plenty of water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HRDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    230
    62
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
248 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely valley with a view!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The valley is huge and resembles something from a jungle book movie. The history is interesting so visiting with a guide is a good idea. There are pretty flowers and water lillys and many birds if you look carefully. The peace of the area is spoilt a little by a market for all the usual sarongs, shells and curios available everywhere in Mauritius and they seem to be quite happy to negotiate and accept a variety of currencies. The area is neat and clean with tour buses coming and going! Nothing too special!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JUSTINE-JESSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hike to the top”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

While the view point was beautiful I recommend a walk to the top. Access to the trail is a bit further down the road from the view point and we may not have found it if we weren't with friends who had done it before.
The walk took us 3 1/2hours there and back again. The going is quite steep and at the end you need to pull yourself up using some ropes and chains. No climbing experience is needed but it definitely helped.
The views are breath taking and we were lucky enough to see some brightly coloured parrots and two hawks. It does give you a sence of what the Island would of looked like to the first inhabitants.
Well worth the visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarinLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic views - need a car or tour to get you up there. Get a great fell of how it used to be with the Flora and Fauna.
Generally well setup with good signposting and access, unfortunately the litter and tidiness lets the place down in comparison to how well kept the beaches are

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice drive through BlackmRiver Gorges”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After visiting Grand Bassin, we decided to return to Flic en Flac, through the Gorge. And we were glad that we did! It was a beautfiul drive with numerous viewpoints to stop and view this amazing natural, unspoilt landscape. There are numerous waterfalls. I think that hiking or walking through the gorge would be very enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank PoobenShailou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black River Gorges National Park also viewed

Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
Riviere des Anguilles, Savanne District
 
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
 

Been to Black River Gorges National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing