We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable experience”
Review of The Crown Lodge

The Crown Lodge
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the oldest racecourses in the world, Champ de Mars saw the first race on the 25th June 1812. While you enjoy the Show, our fully dedicated team will do its utmost to make your wish come true. Just sit back and enjoy the variety of drinks and canapes offered all day long by the house. Access to our private VIP box, all Inclusive rate. You will always find a friend to help you.
Vacoas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was my first time at The Crown Lodge and it felt like I have been there for years. It really felt like home! The hospitality was just amazing. Thank you Mr Ritter for his great sense of hospitality and the excellent food we had. This is sure an unforgettable experience that one should experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownlodge_12, Gérant at The Crown Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments about us ...i do hope tht you will always receice a 5* sercice in our box.
Kind regrds jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    26
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Jacque”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were collected and dropped off and we when arrived,Although the race course could do with a bit of an update we had a really fantastic day and the host (jacque) was 1st class the surrounding staff made us feel like VIP's,and the food yummy the warmth and kindness shown to us was splendid we had food and drink all day long and the experience was really great we would re-vist if we go back to mauritius and I Would recommend this to everyone visiting Mauritius and wanting a fun day away Fantasic atmosphere.
Thanks
Mr Danny Miles and Suzan Sharman

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownlodge_12, Manager at The Crown Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much and glad that you enjoyed your day with us
The friends of your friends are...welcome !!
Kind regards
JR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent the day at the Crown Lodge on the last day of our honeymoon. What fun! Excellent views of the races, brilliant atmosphere, access to the paddocks, yummy food and drinks on tap. Everyone was so friendly. We had a great day out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PinkLadyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownlodge_12, Manager at The Crown Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Welcome back home...i wish you all the best .
It was nice having you at the Crown Lodge sharing the passion of horses...
Kind regards JR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were collected from our hotel at 10.30am and taken off to Port Louis, which was about an hour away. We were greeted upon arrival by Jacques, who wasted no time in making sure we were in the private box, with a drink !
I think there were 22 guests in the box, which is in a great position overlooking the track and finish line. A mixture of nationalities, and a great atmosphere. It is an old venue, so I suspect not good for people with mobility issues. Drink flowed all day with various finger foods, and very good service from the ladies.
Betting odds were a bit different here, so I don't think anyone was going to win their fortune, but it didn't matter at all. The weather was great and the horses were beautiful.
Quite an expensive day out, but we didn't leave the track until after 5pm, and of course the transport was included. So worth the money for the fun we had.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownlodge_12, Manager at The Crown Lodge, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hello from the Crown lodge
It was really nice to have guests like you ...happy to spent a day in a friendly atmosphere. I do hope that you will come back to Mauritius in a near future, and why not at the Crown Lodge...
please note that there is a lift for disable guests and we also reserve for them a seat in the box
Kind regards JR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
“A Day at the races”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited the Crown Lodge with with a friend and it was really worth every second. Jacques greeted us upon arrival and made sure that we were treated well with drinks and finger foods. Excellent service and a very friendly atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IsmaelPortelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownlodge_12, Owner at The Crown Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments....crown Lodge is a small world where you meet peaple from all over the world....and you are the first one from Malta......it was so nice meeting you.
Kind regards jr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Lodge also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
Le Morne, Riviere Noire District
 

Been to The Crown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing