We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is located on the port. There is a free water taxi that will take you to the other side which is only a minute. Directly across is a shopping centre and also the local markets. The local markets are extremely busy. Nice pool area and grounds. Good breakfast but the evening meal on the half board menu was limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    217
    78
    24
    20
See reviews for
35
66
34
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Le Suffren Hotel is highly recommended for businessmen having meetings in Port Louis.You can easily find a boat taxi for le Caudan Waterfront and way back.The happy hour on Friday night is marvellous and nice atmosphere to chill out after a long/tiring day.However i thought that internet would be FOC for business users which was not the case and service at breakfast is quite poor and slow ,staff seems to be still sleeping and not willing to serve.Overall i will still recommend this hotel to my business partners however please improve your service at brekafast as your guests will never start the day in a mood.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FS_MU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

If you're doing business in Mauritius and in Port Louis in particular then this hotel is a good choice - a cheaper cousin of the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel just across the channel. There is a water ferry which takes you across the water into the waterfront, from there you can walk into Port Louis. Service is OK, location is great - the least they could offer is free internet for business users, it amazes me that this is still a service that you pay for in 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteF621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Le Suffren hotel is a good hotel and very convenient especially if one is staying on business in Port Louis.

The Hotel is in a quite location just a short trip from the more busy Caudan waterfront. A free water taxi service is available all day to cross from Le Suffren to Caudan (30 seconds trip). Whilst the hotel is a bit outdated, the rooms are nice and very comfortable. The service is also very good and the staff are nice and friendly. The hotel also offers a great restaurant (good food and decent prices) with indoors and outdoors seating + a stocked bar which makes for easy relaxation especially after a days work.

However there are some major negatives that should be addressed.

1 - Internet in the room is not free. In 2013 this cannot be the case especially for a hotel that you are paying a hefty price for the stay. I found internet connectivity generally very slow both in the free areas and in the room. You also have to constantly connect when you move from the different areas. Really annoyed me.

2 - Breakfast is extremely poor. There is basically no choice at all and I could only take it for 2 of the 6 days I was there. If you have a long stay you will suffer from this.

3 - I also had a bad incident on my arrival as my hotel transfer was 2 hours late, which after a 16 hour trip is really not nice. The manager in charge told me it was due to traffic which annoyed me more than the delay as it was clearly not true. The management also did not offer anything to compensate for this mishap. I understand it was a mistake but it should have been handled with more grace.

All in all I would recommend Le Suffren as it makes for a comfortable stay. However with some easy corrections I think I could easily up my rating to 4 or even 5!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_MALTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Le Suffren is a great hotel. I had the pleasure of staying in Mauritius for 3 months and I stayed in the apart-hotels at Le Suffren. The staff were fantastic, and with a bit of encouraging, did everything possible to make my stay as pleasant and comfortable imaginable.
The facilities are great and the On the Rocks Bar is nothing short of the best bar in Port Louis. Run by charming and helping staff, Friday nights 'Happy Hour' is the place to be in Mauritius.
The spa in the hotel is simple and exactly what you need, run by capable therapists who also give excellent service.
For business this is probably your best option. 15 minutes to Ebene, CyberCity and a 5 minute walk into Port Louis town centre. On the weekends your closest beach, Flic en Flac is maybe 25 minutes away.
Highly recommend this place, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are nice as they open out onto the grass and pool area. Away from the reception as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAVenn-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days during a business trip.
The welcome was warm and professional and the first thing we saw where pictures on the wall of the "employee of the month" something you would expect more in MacDonalds but not in a hotel.

The rooms were ok but very sober and no extra's. Even the bottle opener was locked on a chain :-).

When we had breakfast next day, service was very poor, we had to ask almost for everything. Napkins, coffee, there was only 1 pack of butter for 2 persons, everything at the buffet was cold, I asked for 2 eggs on toast...hey were delivered without toast etc etc etc etc....so we had a bad start of the day.

However, next day I had breakfast in my room, after a few phone calls as they "forgot" to collect the breakfast card hanging on the door know and what tells me that during the night there is no one checking around. However the breakfast itself was nice, fresh an warm bread and croissants, etc.

The plus is that the hotel is very quite and you can sleep very well.

Internet is too expensive.

The outside bar is cozy and there is a very nice staff.

This hotel is overvalued for the money you pay and the service presented.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLJ_Habets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Le Suffren is a very nice hotel. Though it's quite dated, the hotel is well maintained. There is a free water taxi that can bring you to water front. It's free. Comfortable bed. Nice and warm staff. Breakfast option is limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitchieKurniawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Louis
0.2 mi away
Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel
12.8 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,277 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
Holiday Inn Mauritius Mon Tresor
#1 of 1 in Plaine Magnien
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
2,263 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,890 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Suffren Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Suffren Hotel & Marina

Property: Le Suffren Hotel & Marina
Address: Le Caudan, PO Box 91, Port Louis, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Port Louis District > Port Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Suffren Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the waterfront node in Port Louis next to the Caudan Waterfront and the Labourdonnais Waterfront Hotel, Le Suffren Hotel & Marina offers both business travellers and holiday makers alike a unique location in the capital of Mauritius. Ideally located within walking distance of the central business district and close to the Pailles International Convention Centre and Cybercity, Le Suffren is also within easy reach of the various cultural and tourist sites in Mauritius. Facing the marina or the mountains, our 102 bedrooms offer great levels of comfort in a modern décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Suffren Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Suffren Hotel And Marina
Le Suffren Hotel & Marina Mauritius/Port Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing