We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good dim sum”
Review of Grand Ocean City

Grand Ocean City
Ranked #38 of 90 Restaurants in Port Louis
Price range: US$30 - US$150
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not good dim sum”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

the dim sum had been sitting around for far too long and was not flavorful. i am use to very good dim sum so perhaps this Chinese dim sum is as good as it gets in Port Louis, but I hope not. The restaurant looked authentic but that was where it ended. One of the waiters had a very lackadaisical attitude. One waitress was attentive and helpful and even gave the lazy waiter some direction. I would not return to this restaurant when there is an amazing restaurant across the courtyard at Labourdonnais.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank taneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The view of the Bay is beautiful at night, try their crab dishes, these are the best, also Chines soup to start, this is a meal on its own but my favourite at this restuarant is fish in ginger

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“DimSum ??”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Went for dimsum. quality is good. price is around Rs 80 for a basket. most of them have 3 units.

tip: if you are going for dimsum on sundays be sure to book for a seat. because it can get very full and if go just walk in you may not get a seat. Call the restaurant on 211-8357

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yurit0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dim sum is nice”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Often go there for dim sum with my cousins and uncles. I like the foods and desserts they serve, though in all fairness I must admit I've never been to a dim sum outside Mauritius. There's both variety and taste.

Service is hit-and-miss. The waiters who know you will try to be as helpful as they can, while others just walk past you and don't bother.

Location is great on the Caudan Waterfront. Atmosphere can be a bit noisy on Sunday mornings when you have so many people coming over for dim sum.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrAppadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dim sum avoid”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The dim sum was horrible and expensive. Avoid at all cost. If you are used to dim sum in HK and Asia, please avoid as the dimsum was worse than the ones you eat in the food courts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Ocean City also viewed

Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 
Port Louis, Port Louis District
Port Louis, Port Louis District
 

Been to Grand Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing