We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, okay dorm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima's Place Maputo
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Maputo
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fatima's Place in Maputo is well-located in a nice area of town. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Communal chill area looks nice, with enough spots to host large groups. The dorm I stayed in (Baobab) was not the cleanest ever and the mattresses were pretty thin. Bathroom facilities were okay. Good security in this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Fatima's Place Maputo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Two weeks ago I spent one night in Maputo to take the "shuttle" from Fatima's to Tofo.
First of all the rooms are totally overpriced and the "shuttle" is a public bus, which leaves whenever it is full. Hence our total trip lasted 13hours instead of 6.
Suggest to take another hotel or hostel in Maputo and look for alternative transport up North.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for just one night before heading on to Tofu. Arrived late and checked into the mixed dorm which was very full! Good bathrooms, nice showers and pretty comfy beds. Had to wait a long time dealing with the silly, show-offy guy in charge at the front desk. From here a bus comes past in the morning doing direct transfers to Tofu, which was handy and on time (in fact a bit early).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Some of the other reviews are pretty harsh, but I think this is pretty much what you're going to get in Maputo. There aren't many choices, and it's not so bad and quite fun. It's very central and I could walk most places in Maputo, which was a big plus.

The prices, like everywhere else in Mozambique, are a complete ripoff - a beer at the bar, for instance, costs 4 times what it costs at the roadside bar/tuckshop around the corner. That's ok for a fancy hotel, but not for a budget backpackers. But as I say, that's a general thing in Mozambique, and not limited to Fatima's.

I camped there, they have an astroturf-covered roof as a campsite, which was quite good (for once the tent was on a flat surface) except the astroturf had never been cleaned and after walking around on it for 5 minutes the soles of my feet were black. Otherwise the hostel was fairly clean.

Staff were ok, I certainly didn't find them as unfriendly as some of the reviews have said. Actually they were quite friendly.

All in all, not bad, and certainly a good place to explore Maputo from, which I was mostly interested in.

Room Tip: I liked the camping - pretty unusual to camp on astroturf, and the surface is completely flat.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

After having read some horrifying reviews about this place we had gone with the expectation of being there just for the night. However our stay was actually very pleasant that we ended up staying for 3 nights.

Overall the reviews made have some truth to them but I personally having been there believe some of the bad reviews are exaggerated.

Relax vibe, and friendly staff.
Only low point is the WIFI was down the whole time of our stay.

Beyond that all the other glitches aren't worth mentioning.
Would go back again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Best place in Mozambique.
Great place, great people and they have a pick up that actualy works.
I stayed for 3 days in a dorm room very clean and not far from showers.
Night life in Maputo is amazing, and the staff know all about it.
By the way i notice that they have air condicion on the suit rooms, thats is where i am going to stay on my way back from Fatimas in tofo, because is soo hot that a fan is not enough lol.
Better rates chamge your money in the bank.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Xidaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

1) They are very helpful with the visa situation. They email you the confirmation you need to get a visa. Yes, you have to email them 15 times. Yes, it takes longer than you think it should but hey, you get your reservation via computer (!) which is very good for Mozambique. Also, consider the fact that they are a business and they don't have a way to take your room deposit in advance because of how things are in Mozambique. Just imagine how many people email them every day, how many people cancel, how many people don't show up. It's just amazing to me they still manage to operate without taking the first night deposit.

2) They pick you up from the airport, bus station etc. For free. You feel safe. Yes, sometimes you have to wait for an hour or maybe they'll forget about you. Just call them. Communication is everything.

3) You can exchange your money at the hostel. The exchange rate is ok (good for them, bad for you) but again, it's very convenient. Just don't change a lot of money when you get there, exchange some to get you through a day or two and then go to the bank to get a better rate.

4) Rooms are ok. They have beds and mosquito nets. No, they don't have a cable TV. Sorry about that =)

5) Bathrooms are ok. Not the cleanest. Showers don't always have hot water. But hey, guess what - you can use the toilet for what you need to use it for and you can take a shower (even if the water cold).

Conclusion: haters will hate, lovers will love. This place is an adventure, it's up to what attitude you choose.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina_20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
565 reviews
3.4 mi away
Catembe Beach Lodge
Catembe Beach Lodge
#3 of 18 in Maputo
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Quiet Corner Guest House
0.4 mi away
Taka-Taka
Taka-Taka
#4 of 18 in Maputo
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
#27 of 43 in Maputo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Place Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Place Maputo

Address: Mao Tse Tung Ave, Maputo 1317, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Place Maputo Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing