We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful workers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maputo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fatima's Place Maputo
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maputo
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helpful workers”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a world challenge expedition and it was just what we needed, open social areas for big groups and large dorms; also a basic kitchen area where we could self cater and the staff were really friendly and helpful which was great since it was our first time in Mozambique!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    40
    48
    31
    43
See reviews for
6
46
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We were driving from Kruger to Maputo. Never seen such an ugly capital as that one. When we arrived at Fatima's, I was happy the gate closed and we were save. Showering is horrible and beds are not that good. But nice vibe there! Friendly people and free WIFI.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed one night at Fatima's after not finding any accommodation in the city we decided to make a stop at Fatima's. It was a bit expensive and cost 2,500 mzn for a private room with a bathroom, but the hot water did not work which was very disappointing! Neither did the WIFI. They did have secure parking which was nice but we were happy to get out of the city the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at fatimas for two nights in a 12 bed dorm. On arrival the staff weren't very friendly and only one staff member was friendly and helpful for our stay, which wad mire suprising as theyre really helpful over email when prebooking and send out info for onward travel and visa. The place is huge but very basic, tiny kitchen thats not adequate to cook anything in and has no washing up liquid and bugs on the crockery. Nice outside area with sofas and tables but lots if mozzies and a few other creepy crawlies. The dorm was ok but only half the beds had nets and these were holed. Bathrooms very poor, bugs, unclean and very few to share between a lot of people. It's a little out of town too but in a nice enough area with 24hrs security.
The bus to tofo runs every day and the staff will (grudgingly) organise it for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ccknight23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed there some nights, and found it just ok. Not specially good, not specially bad. Though my friend got something that looked like bed bugs after the first night. She changed her bed, and didn´t notice anything after that.
The location is not that good, a bit far to walk to the center, but with a taxi it would go quick.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Fatima's Backpackers in Maputo is unfortunately the worst backpackers I've come across in all of Southern Africa. I was placed in the female dormitory, which a tiny room for 8 people - but that didn't really bother me, as I'm generally super low maintenance.

What did bother me was waking up halfway through the night to discover that I had bed bugs in my bed. I had bumps all over my skin and on the side of my face. To top it all off, even with the mosquito net, mosquitos somehow found their way into my bed at night. Finally, after tossing and turning a bit, I decided to get up at 4AM to use their internet to do work, since they only turn on the internet between 7PM and 7AM (which I thought was a bit bizarre, but I went with it). To make it worse, the internet wasn't even on at that time - I guess they shut it off when the guests go to sleep, which I thought was a bit unfair, especially if you advertise that you keep your internet on between those specific hours.

All of that (plus the overpriced room - 500MtC to be cramped in a small room like that? I found cheaper and better accommodation in Tofo and Vilankulos, the touristy areas of Mozam!) wouldn't have even bothered me, if the staff and the boss had reacted accordingly. When I told the staff what happened, they even admitted that they had had the same complaint twice over the past couple of days of bed bugs... But THEN said, "But we don't think it is bed bugs. It can't be." When I told them that it might be a huge possibility, since I am the third guest to have complained in the past several days and I had the skin to prove it, they still refused to believe me. When I told them that the internet wasn't working between 4 and 7AM, the staff member I spoke to said, "I'm not calling you a liar and I am not telling you that I do not believe you... But the internet must have been on at that time. There should have been no problem."

Umm... What??? I believe you are calling me a liar, sir. Why in the world would I lie about that? At that point, I asked to speak to the manager and asked for some sort of discount, at the very least. After the staff member got the hostel owner on the phone, he returned and said that a discount was not possible at all. Needless to say, I cancelled the rest of my stay (four nights more) and left to find other accommodation. Overall, really the worst backpackers I've come across.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chibirdfreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent a couple of days and stayed in a dorm for 500 met per person.
The hostel as a good security service, good bar and equipped kitchen,
Staff speaks English and can arrange local transports and city tours.
Unfortunately, during the afternoon there was no electricity; apparently it was a problem in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
547 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
461 reviews
3.4 mi away
Catembe Packer's Lodge
Catembe Packer's Lodge
#4 of 16 in Maputo
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taka-Taka
Taka-Taka
#3 of 16 in Maputo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatima's Place Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatima's Place Maputo

Property: Fatima's Place Maputo
Address: Mao Tse Tung Ave, Maputo 1317, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Maputo
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Fatima`s Place Maputo Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing