We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay at this hotel, but not the last” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“First stay at this hotel, but not the last”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I usually stay at the Southern Sun just opposite the Radisson Blu when I'm in Maputo for business, but they are currently under renovation.
Didn't regret my choice, the driver picking me up from the airport was very friendly and courteous, as was the reception staff upon arrival in the hotel.
I had initially wanted to book the -cheaper- standard room for which we have a corporate rate but as these were all full, I had to book the seaview room which was quite a bit more expensive than what we usually pay for a seaview room in the Southern Sun.
The receptionist changed my initial room number to a new one (same room type though), and I guess the sudden change explained why there were no amenities and no toilet paper in the room.
It took a bit of a hassle to get this sorted, but five calls and one trip to reception later it eventually worked out.
The room was otherwise very nice and the wifi was working flawlessly.
The 24 hour gym is really great, good equipment, just bring your own towel as I noticed that if you work-out in the evening, there are none.
Both the ground floor coffee-bar/lunch restaurant as well as the main restaurant were very good, and the breakfast is fantastic.
Definitely a place I will come back to on my next trip to Maputo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear FlyingGonzo_10,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.
Your feedback allows us to improve on our seervices, we will take it all into account and action it. We are glad that overall your stay was pleasant and that you would return to us.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    184
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
19
60
11
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Radisson Blu Maputo is the hotel, I want to recommend my friend to stay in when they will visit Maputo. I found the shortage of water pressure in the shower in my last visit, but it is still my favorite hotel in Maputo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kimihiko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kimihiko I,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.
We hope that you reported the issue with the tap to the reception so that we could tacle it. Your feedback is very important to us.
We are pleased that overall your eperience was very good and that we remain your favorite hotel.

Best Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maputo, Mozambique
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is very clean and service excellent. Prices in general for food and drinks very expensive compared to other places nearby. Price per night is also expensive. Transfers to and from airport and hotel on time with wifi in the bus which was very handy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Leslie John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Leslie,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.
We do our best to match services, facilities to what we charge for it.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the gorgeous view to the extremely modern rooms, this hotel was a treat. I knew from the very start when the checking in process was handled swiftly that the service was 5 star.

Thank you to the staff and management for making my stay enjoyable , I will definately be returning

Oh and remember to have the prawns at Felini - Yummmmmmy !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHBreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear JHBreview,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are extreemely pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and felt our Yes I Can! Spirit of service.
The management team and I thank you for the compliments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Please like us on Facebook and stay up to date with our activities and offers.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nicer than many of the other options locally, breakfast very good and for variety it's well worth heading across the road to what appear to be very basic restaurants but offer sea food as good as you will find anywhere

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed our hotel. Your feedback helps us improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great Hotel, I will stay there again. Good location, service, everything was fine. The only advice I would give would be that the room service menu was a bit basic. Everything else was fantastic. Be nice when the very nearby construction is finished.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear David,

We apreciate your feedback regarding our room service menu, it helps us improve.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

first time i have stayed at any Radisson and was very impressed. the service when we arrived was friendly and efficient. the room is wonderfully laid out, clean and has all the little touches that make it that little bit more luxurious. the bathroom has ceiling to floor glass and the view to the sea was amazing.

the restaurant is quite expensive, to the point of being over priced, however the meal and service were both very good.

free wi-fi is a definite must for me and there was availability continuously. we also required working space, which we comfortably used in the coffee area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando G, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Marisi,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We look forward to your next stay.
Please like us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Warm Regards,
Fernando Gruenberg Stern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#4 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#9 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
Address: Avenida da Marginal 141, Maputo 1880, Mozambique
Phone Number:
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A sense of class!" Is what will sets the new Radisson Blu Hotel, Maputo apart from the rest bringing new international standards for travelers to Mozambique's capital. Guests will find the hotel & residence a tranquil oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Maputo though near the city center with world-class amenities including elegant guest rooms, suites, apartments, superb dining options in the world renowned 'Filini' restaurant, newly arrived Azul restaurant, pool and gym, state-of-the-art conference facilities and sought after private parking places for 150 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, HotelsClick, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing