We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Quiet Corner Guest House
Ranked #11 of 41 Maputo B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This nice little B & B is pretty good value in a city where accommodation seems vastly overpriced. It's clean, simple and quiet (as its name suggests!). There's a pleasant courtyard out the back, good wifi, and you get a pretty good breakfast (it's a serve yourself arrangement, with quite a few options.)

The italian owner, Andrea, is charming and helpful, as are the staff. All in all nothing fancy but good value, welcoming and very pleasant people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anemone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    35
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
9
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed 16 days in April 2014. The guest house has very good client service, warm staff who never miss to say "Bom dia" and assist whenever possible. Breakfast is wonderful and by the way, you can cook your own meals in the very well maintained kitchen, I tell you everything works its incredible. The rooms are very comfortable and the cleaniliness is outstanding especially the bathrooms, the curtains are unique, warm combination of colors that completely sooth any form of stress especially after a busy day. The spaces are in such a way that you get to interact with other guests, at the Quite Corner I made many friends and we had a great time in the evening at the common garden area. I think the thing I liked most was that there is nobody putting you under any pressure. Andrew always listens and is always willing to assist. Its is best value for money I could find for same quality of service. It was an amazing experience and advice everyone to choose Quite Corner when in Maputo.

Room Tip: First floor room facing the entrance has a beautiful tree in its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here for one night at the end of last year. The room was clean, basic and attractive, and the B and B has polite, if disinterested staff. However, my three main issues with the place are as follows: First, the cost - this place is a basic B and B. This does not justify the large cost of the rooms. Second, the breakfast - essentially a loaf of stale bread (if other guests have left any, that is), low-grade instant coffee and raw eggs which you seem to have to cook yourself. The kitchen was dirty with used pans so not really helping you to cook for yourself. Third, the noise - the guest house should be re-named 'Dog Bark Corner', or perhaps 'Banging Door Corner'. Even by Maputo standards this guest house resulted in a very disrupted sleep. Finally, I initially booked for two nights and found out after the first that I had to leave early. They still made me pay for two nights though. In retrospect I wish I had challenged this money-grabbing as I effectively paid the equivalent of £120 to stay one night in a basic and noisy B and B. You would be well-advised to take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeleMj, Host at The Quiet Corner Guest House, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Customer

Thanks for taking the time of leaving a review on our house. We really appreciate it.
I was happy to read that you found the room clean and attractive and that you found that our staff is polite and disinterested.

You also pointed out some issues which unfortunately made your stay uncomfortable and of which I am very sorry. I hope you will give us another chance and will eventually change your mind on the value of our service.

First of all I am sorry you were not happy with our prices. However, I have to say that at the time you stayed with us, our prices were already quite competitive among prices offered by other guesthouses of the same standard in Maputo.
Please refer to the reviews by other guests who had been hosted in other guesthouses and hotels in Maputo before being in our guesthouse and have a different opinion on our prices.
I am afraid costs in Maputo are a bit high and this inevitably reflects on the price of services.
Please notice also that from February 2014 (about 3 months before you wrote this review) we further lowered our prices!
Kindly refer to our website where you find our prices always updated.

As about breakfast please notice that early in the morning you would find the bread from the day before. We keep the bread on a bread bag to preserve its freshness as much as possible; however, fresh bread (or warm bread) from the bakery is always available from around 8 AM.
Our breakfast is self-service. However, our staff would be more than happy to fry an egg for you or to help you up with whatever you request.
For example apart from the soluble American coffee we also offer the Italian express coffee and if you don’t feel like preparing the coffee yourself, our staff would be more than happy to help.

I am sorry that you found dirty pans in the kitchen. This shouldn’t have happened. We got distracted somehow and I apologize for this.
It’s unfortunate that you experienced noises from doors during the night and thanks for pointing this out. We put some tick stickers on room doors to eliminate/diminish the noise they make when shut. We will check the stickers to make sure they are in place and replace anyone if needed.
It’s also unfortunate that you were disturbed by a barking dog. Our neighborhood is actually among the quietest in Maputo. However, our house is just a normal one, aside other houses and our neighbor owns a dog, who does bark sometimes.

As about your last minute cancellation, I must say that we have a policy for cancellations, written in our guest book available at the reception and in all rooms.
At the time I am writing (and at the time you were with us) the policy says that the cancellation is free if you warn us at least 24 hours in advance and that we charge one day stay for later cancellations.
Please note that for special circumstances we might decide to refund you 100% even if you cancel with less than 24 hour notice. We have done this in the past as you can read from other reviewers. However this is not guaranteed, so please be aware of our cancellation policy when you plan your trip.

Thanks for taking the time of reading my response.
Hopefully you will stay with us again.

Best Regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed 4 nights in February and had safe parking for my car, a good clean room and efficient friendly staff responding quickly to my requests.

I enjoyed staying in the guest house and it is a viable alternative to staying in overpriced hotels.
I'll definitively visit them again when in Maputo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
373 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I would recommend this place for the budget traveler who wants to be treated well! Rooms are small but adequate with en-suite bathroom. WiFi is not always at the top and it is sometimes necessary to go out of your room for a WiFi connection. The guesthouse is situated in a rather central part of Maputo, close to the business activities. The neighborhood is safe. There is room for 2 cars in a guarded and closed parking in front of the hotel.
Breakfast is a self service and self cooking affair but you don't have to wash the dishes!

Room Tip: all rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeleMj, Host at The Quiet Corner Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and I am happy to hear you would recommend our house.
Your review is very fair and I thank you for that.

I am posting this reply just to say that at the time you were with us we had some misconfiguration problem of our WiFi system. Only 2 out of 4 routers of the house were well configured leaving some areas uncovered or with a weak signal.
Thanks to you and to other Guests that like you pointed this out we could realize the problem and fix it within a few days.

It is now working perfectly :-)

All the best
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inhambane, Inhambane, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Clean - tidy - well organized - shuttle service even cheaper than taxis to go the city.
I really enjoyed staying here, It was quite at night very restful and i would like to thank Andrea for his hospitality Thank You

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014. The management responded efficiently to my email prior to arrival. I was met at the airport as per schedule. The place was clean, friendly and convenient for my meetings at Eduardo Mondlane University. Its good value for money considering that hotel accommodation in Maputo is quite costly.

Room Tip: My room was not facing to guest house entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodumo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.0 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mozguest Residence
Mozguest Residence
#9 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sommerschield Guest House & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#15 of 41 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quiet Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quiet Corner Guest House

Property: The Quiet Corner Guest House
Address: Rua Almeida Garret, N 40 | Coop Bairro, Maputo CP 116, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Quiet Corner Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in a refined residential area. With four different rooms, for guests with different exigencies. Easy to reach from the Maputo International Airport, the house is at walking distance from supermarkets, restaurants and a taxi spot. The house caters for the needs of those staying in Maputo for a few days, willing to enjoy the comfort and most of the services offered in a hotel but at a more affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quiet Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing