We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dismal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Africa Business
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed 23 November 2012

just one of the staff i dealt with was pleasant - the rest were unhelpful and inefficient. the room was stuffy and smelt of bad drainage, the shower worked only on scalding hot or weak dribble and restaurant was bleak. i will make sure i stay elsewhere in future. oh - and the stairs are much faster than the lift.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 773AmandaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Africa Business
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I really don't understand how can hotel staff just hang up the phone after she said "I'm in hurry with my work."
Their attitude is being so rude. and I am really disappointed with hotel Africa and staffs. Hotel property is not bad and Location is good. However hotel service and customer hospitality is really bad. They don't actually care about you.
Please don't complain to hotel because you're going to feel very bad from their attitude after your complaining. I don't think hotel staffs trained well either because they do mistake frequently.

If you have another hotel options, please don't choose Hotel Africa business.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Have you ever been at a place and they make you move so they can sweep the floor under your table? How do you feel? That's how you will constantly feel at this place. If you're looking for a clean room for the night it's good. Otherwise, don't bother! Staff are rude and can make no decisions ((I waited 3 hours for my key and wasnt early). I've been kicked out of the breakfast room twice so they can set up for lunch (nobody around). People have walked into my room twice. I speak Portuguese and staff were openly talking about me in front of me. It feels like the place is new, they had a bit of training and the staff run around like it's their place...someone forgot to say "We're open now, time to make the guests feel welcome". Other things....it's isolated, no alcohol, and the menu has almost nothing on it. It feels somewhat like it used to in communist days...the rest of the country has moved on. This place has reverted to something, I don't know what. i reviewed this yesterday and had such a miserable experience again decided to change it from 3 to 2.

Room Tip: Ask for one where you can regulate the temp of the shower...not just boiling or freezing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrDisastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed this jan 2012. Rooms were nice and food was great . Breakfast was Variety.
Will go stay they if need be.
Just the Lift is on a GO SLOW.
Everything else thumbs up

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M_Alli_South_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Located near the small but photographically interesting Janeta market, Hotel Africa is a well maintained mid priced hotel used mainly by business people from nearby African countries. It is definitely worth staying in while visiting Maputo, which often has a shortage of available mid priced hotel rooms. The staff are helpful in arranging taxis to restaurants as well as providing information about the city and how to get around.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JJAudubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Victor Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
#16 of 23 in Maputo
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africa Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africa Business

Address: Av. Agostinho Neto 1103, Maputo, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range: £60 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africa Business 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and new hotel in a quiet residential area, 5 min. (by car) to the beach. 10 TV channels, free high speed internet (service provided by ALWAYS ON), 24 hour security, restaurant, LCD TVs, free airport collection and breakfast included on room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Africa Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing