We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinda Cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Ferro (The Iron House)

Casa do Ferro (The Iron House)
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kinda Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Worth dropping buy for a photo op. I don't know if you're allowed inside (probably not), but it is interesting to look at. It's also located quite closely to other Maputo sights, such as both Samora Machel statues, the Se Cathedral, and the Town Hall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PanamaZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    47
    58
    16
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you are in Maputo, take some time to visit unique house. All 3 floors made of Iron material which I found to be cool. Although found renovations going on so did not go to the last floors.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MumoAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Iron House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Only great for photo's as you walk by, I don't know what else people do there, I didn't even enter the building. I'm not even sure what the purpose of the building is to be honest

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Athi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not very practical in the heat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I don't think Eiffel had any idea of the heat in this part of Africa when he designed this house. I would hate to live / work in this building! From a (prefabricated) architectural point of view it makes for an interesting visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Specialplace to see and spend your free time. Close by the casa do ferro there is a cultural centre:great to go there and to send your time in the better way. I recommand it!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa do Ferro (The Iron House) also viewed

 

Been to Casa do Ferro (The Iron House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing