We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Friendly and cosy in the city centre”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Pestana-Rovuma Hotel in Maputo is very nice and has a good location in the very city centre. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and do their utmost to make you feel at home and help you with everything you might need. The rooms are good, the bathrooms and the house-keeping also. The hotel itself and the rooms are tastefully furnished and there is an atmosphere of calm and tradition. When it comes to food, I especially enjoy their breakfasts, but the bar and restaurant are also nice and cosy. There are good shops and ATMs, and a coffee shop in the same building, and taxis are easily found just outside. Staff will help to find you one.
However, the little room in the lobby with two computers and Internet connection is unpleasant and a bit dirty. Also, even though the hotel pool is nice, there are no changing facilities or lockers, and they don't provide bath towels - not yet anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zekigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VascoManhica, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Google Translation
Caro Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos a preferência de V. Exa. pelo Pestana Rovuma Hotel, bem como a Sua disponibilidade em partilhar connosco a sua experiencia.
As suas observações mereceram a nossa especial atenção e ficamos satisfeitos em saber que os nossos serviços corresponderam às suas expectativas.
Partilhamos os seus comentários com toda a equipa que ficou orgulhosa e motivada para melhorar cada vez mais, corrigindo o que menos o agradou.
Atenciosamente
Vasco Manhiça – Director Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    69
    91
    31
    23
See reviews for
15
47
21
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As all hotels in Maputo are expensive compared to what you get, this one is okay considering the price. The room was clean, we had a nice view and the internet connection worked quite well in the room, which was important for me to be able to work. The hotel is well located, it is easy to get around by walking or taxi. The staff was okay. The food was also fine, nothing special. The pool at the second floor is a nice place to relax or have a drink at sun set. All in all, the hotel is okay if you don't expect too much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VascoManhica, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos a preferência de V. Exa. pelo Pestana Rovuma Hotel, bem como a Sua disponibilidade em partilhar connosco a sua experiencia.
As suas observações mereceram a nossa especial atenção e ficamos satisfeitos em saber que os nossos serviços corresponderam às suas expectativas.
Partilhamos os seus comentários com toda a equipa que ficou orgulhosa e motivada para melhorar cada vez mais, corrigindo o que menos o agradou.
Atenciosamente
Vasco Manhiça – Director Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Old hotel, nice restaurant area, nice breakfast. Very friendly staff, very near to the market, and shopping center.
Hotel elevator is a bit slow, and scary, many police patrol the area, felt very safe.
There is a taxistand very near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VascoManhica, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Google Translation
Caro Estimado Hóspede,
Agradecemos a preferência de V. Exa. pelo Pestana Rovuma Hotel, bem como a Sua disponibilidade em partilhar connosco a sua experiencia.
As suas observações mereceram a nossa especial atenção e ficamos satisfeitos em saber que os nossos serviços corresponderam às suas expectativas.
Partilhamos os seus comentários com toda a equipa que ficou orgulhosa e motivada para melhorar cada vez mais, corrigindo o que menos o agradou.
Atenciosamente
Vasco Manhiça – Director Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovereto, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for about 2 weeks in 2013 and I can say that this accommodation is probably the best value for your money you can get in Maputo (compared to other hotels where I stayed in the city). The services are good although not exceptional but the rooms are decently sized and are ok for a business trip. The common areas near the restaurant and the balcony are very comfortable for business meetings and for working (and wifi works much better there than in the rooms).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VascoManhica, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2015
Dear valuable Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rovuma Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment very seriously. We are greatly appreciate and we aim to improve.
It was an enormous pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service. We look forward to your next visit which we hope will be soon, as we would like to offer you more ‘Memorable Moments’
Vasco Manhiça - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotels in Maputo is crazily expensive for what you get. The Pestana Rovuma is more affordable than most of the local hotels but offers a very basic experience for the four star rating it claims to have - two stars would better describe what you can expect. It is clean and relatively neat, but the rooms are old and very basic. My room had an old box TV with dodgy, intermittent WiFi Internet. There were coffee and tea sachets but no kettle. The sliding door of the wardrobe was stuck and difficult to open. The shower in my room was leaky and sprayed in all directions and the basin had no plug. Staff is friendly and helpful, which makes the experience bearable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mr. Henry V,
We have just received your questionnaire regarding your stay at the Pestana Rovuma Hotel, and firstly we would like to thank you for informing us of your concerns. It is through guests such as yourself that we are able to rectify our errors and improve in order to offer better standards to our customers. Let me begin by assuring you that this is not our normal standard of service and we sincerely apologise for the inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We can assure you that all your concerns have been duly noted and we are in the process of rectifying them.

We hope to have a pleasure of serving you at the Pestana Rovuma in the near future and please contact the General Manager or Duty Manager in case of need of assistance during your stay as this will definitely allow us to take the necessary actions.

Sincerely,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel is too overpriced, though all the 3+ stars hotels in Maputo are extremely expensive.
Food was good enough. Hotel has relatively clean rooms. Staff wasn't that nice, unwilling to serve coffee in the mornings. Moreover cockroaches were joyously running in the room.

Room Tip: Best view from the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
First of all thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. Your feedback is appreciated and we'll seriously consider your suggestion for improvement.
We are truly sorry to have failed to meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We have addressed your issues with our team and we will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services and hope that we can have you again here at Pestana Rovuma.

Best Regards,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here three times on business over the course of 2013-early 2014, each time for a week. Each time it got progressively worse. Fixtures falling apart, closet and balcony doors not working, wifi terrible.. On more than one occasion, housekeeping opened my door and walked into the room without knocking. Sometimes, the elevator does not work. (happened on 2 of 3 of my visits). Pictures on website are probably what this hotel looked like 10 years ago, but not a true reflection of today. Also, the beds are not full size, but are 2 twin beds pushed together.

My biggest issue was on my third stay in March. For the most part, the staff who can speak some english, will be marginally helpful. However, if you have a problem, as I did, the staff will outright RUDE, disrespectful and completely unprofessional. Have since filed an official complaint and received no response. Would NOT recommend if you are looking for a hassle-free stay or you are on business and hoping for professional staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco B, Gerente geral at Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pestana Rovuma and for taking the time to post your opinion. We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced.
All points raised deserve our utmost attention. All your observations were taken into consideration and subject of thorough analysis by the management.
We express our gratitude for sharing with us your experience, since it allows us to take action into improving our quality of services, and hopefully be worthy of your visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Vasco Manhiça | Director Geral - General Manager - Pestana Rovuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
#9 of 23 in Maputo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#6 of 23 in Maputo
346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Rua da Se 114, Maputo 4376, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an intensive full year renovation the Pestana Rovuma in the center of Maputo is again the reference in the Mozambique capital. The renovation was total covering all the room types, the public areas, the WI FI coverage, a new management team and basic infrastructures like the lifts. In the city center the Pestana Rovuma is the obvious choice whether on business or leisure, allowing quick access to the key city spots and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rovuma Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing