We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick to ask for advance payment, poor services and infrastructure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Macaneta Holiday Resort
Ranked #13 of 48 Maputo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Looking for a nice long weekend in Macaneta, we found available rooms in this property, unfortunately have to say.
When contacting them for information about the place, they offered us 3 chalets for us, a group of three families, all with children. Looked good, so made the reservation ,being asked to pay in advance 50%, what looks quite normal for a long weekend, suddenly asked to pay full booking in advance, what we rejected. In any case, just stepping in, we were forced to pay for the full amount.
Just after proceeding with the payment, we were informed not by the manager who received us but by one of the cleaning ladies (great person, very kind and helpful, have to say) that two up of three refrigerators were not working. Being used to Africa, we considered that we may be able to keep all our food and drinks in a single room. But it doesn´t stop there, was just the beginning ... In nay case, when asking the manager about this problem, the answer (typical by the way) was that the morning after they will promptly call a technician to solve the problem, technician that never came during the long weekend.
In one of the rooms the light didn´t work. In the other what fails was the shower.
At least the food on the first night was good, and service appropriate. They brought us two grills the next morning on our request, quite old and a bit nasty, but in any case, we managed to prepare a very nice food, for sure the best of all the weekend.
In the night we came to the restaurant encouraged by the good experience the night before and ordered for the children very simple dishes to be prepared, omelettes. More people arriving to the restaurant, all of them being served, nothing of the children. Asked and asked several times, and just after strong complain, three omelettes came one hour later when most of other guests had already left the place after eating.
So, for sure not a pleasant experience, poor management, partially covered by some of the staff being very nice and helpful but for sure not enough for us to even consider to come back again. Look for another place in Macaneta, for sure you will enjoy more without too many problems and discussions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AbelardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017
Google Translation

Thank FomSvetlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não escolham. Existem lodges perto de muito melhor qualidade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pablo_SCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LuisSeabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Transportes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputo
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#11 of 23 in Maputo
55 reviews
0 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Catembe Gallery Hotel
Catembe Gallery Hotel
#1 of 1 in Catembe
200 reviews
0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
581 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
Hotel Al-Khalil Machava
#27 of 48 in Maputo
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macaneta Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaneta Holiday Resort

Address: Praia de Macaneta, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Maputo
Price Range: £54 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macaneta Holiday Resort is situated 30 km north of Maputo, which is located between Inkomati River and the Indian Ocean on the east side. To reach at Macaneta you need to cross the Inkomati River by ferry. Drive through +/- 8 km in sandy road. Macaneta Holiday Resort has safest beach, temperate water and stunning scenery from miles around. Warm hospitality and most excellent seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macaneta Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing