We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Hotel, overpriced like all Mozambique Hotels”
Review of Monte Carlo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monte Carlo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Choose this Hotel on a choice of 2 overpriced options. This was cheaper, breakfast was ok a tad boring after 2 days of the same though. Room was ok, apart from intermittent internet connections and am sure i got some bites, or was it the savanah cider that i was drinking ? Location was good, taxi's were overpriced everywhere, shame the Hotel did not change money, don't count on this and be wary of what credit cards you use, their cc charge machines are on the blink regularly

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Rooms in the main buildings are old, dark, not well kept, not nice environment to work. In my room, windows and safebox were broken. Rooms in the new block (behind the main) are small, with almost no windows and look like hospital. Breakfast is acceptable. Must be verry aware about your belongings, becouse things are stiil happening. The location is good, but it is in a one way street that makes you go though big rounds to get somewhere. The evening and mornig traffic does not help.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matapa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I think travellers can forget when they're there on business that they're in a developing country. I had to stay at this hotel for almost two weeks for business as the better hotels were booked out.

It was fine by all accounts. The room was mostly clean (the bathroom hadn't been cleaned in a while but nothing a pair of flip flops can't avoid), the bed comfortable, the room quiet. It certainly wasn't 4 star by western standards but as a single female travelling alone, I felt safe here - there were security guards outside and naturally, I kept everything locked up. The room was serviced on an 'as they could be bothered' basis.

The lobby has recently been refurbished so is very welcoming. The breakfast is fantastic and the coffee really not bad. They do dinner here also - very limited range but fine also. I didn't get sick.

The service is terrible, that's true. The waiters on breakfast would rather swallow nails than smile or do anything in a hurry and the kids on reception will only lift a finger to help if you argue until you make a scene. And yes, for what it is it's very expensive, however the boom in mining means the supply/demand point is going up.

But honestly, this hotel is fine (but yes, there are certainly better).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Sorry to report yet another negative review.
I stayed here and was charged a heavy price for a not particularly nice room. Everything else was booked up with people attending the games, so I accepted it for one night.
I was carful to keep all valuables under close eye, and I don't think I lost anything from the room (which sounds like a first!).
Instead, my debit card was charged multiple times over the following few days. I phoned to discuss this, and as soon as I mentioned a card problem, they hung up the phone.

If there really is nowhere else to stay, and you have not choice then: 1) keep all valuables with you at all times - even when you are in the room, physically block the door so that nobody comes in at night to empty the safe, and 2) pay in cash, not with a card.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

No good to leave anything in hotel room. Valuable items will disappear. Manager do not care to our complain

Room Tip: Internet only in rooms close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrioRegister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were booked here since other hotels were full. They promised 5 star service, but the double room was small, the bed not queen size, we had to ask for a towel, lampside lamp was broken, no water boiler of coffee maker. No safe. Internet in the room did not connect.
We asked for a see view room, but the view was minimal and the morning noise from the street rather bad; not worth going for a view.
Room has an electronic door card lock and a small bottle of complimentary water. There is no international ATM nearby but there is a restaurant at some walking distance up hill.
The dip pool in front should not have the name of a swimming pool, and everybody from the street is at 2 meters looking straight into it. Anyhow, June is to cold to to go into the water.
The breakfast was resonable, but in general on the expensive side compared to alternatives.
The staircase is hung full of paintings. Down below is a commual computer for e-mail. An extra card can be purchased for higher speed internet.
Elevator can only be reached after some steps. Access from outside with many more steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear since the front rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thuys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I did not stay, but passed there to visit a client on may and these 3 photos lately posted do not look like the same place. Someone should check it's reliability.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank maputotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#11 of 23 in Maputo
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa das Mangas
Hotel Villa das Mangas
#16 of 23 in Maputo
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 2001
Hotel 2001
#14 of 23 in Maputo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Resotel Hotel
Resotel Hotel
#17 of 23 in Maputo
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Rovuma
Pestana Rovuma
#10 of 23 in Maputo
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Hotel

Address: Av. Patrice Lumumba 620, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carlo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Monte Carlo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing