We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better options”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There are better options”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is average at best. For a business trip, the internet was poor to non-existent which made keeping up with business difficult. The rooms were shabby and old and the walls very thin. The rooms on the street side are very loud and you can hear all the traffic, horns, conversations, etc. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and a good night sleep was tough to come by. If you have no other option in Maputo this place is clean but there are better options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroundtheworld03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear costumer

I would like to thank you for your comment, because it´s very useful for the hotel receiving the client’s opinions, in order to improve our services and give the right attention to details.
Hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
General Manager - Hotel Avenida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    96
    49
    14
    5
See reviews for
3
5
13
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Avenida is a regular business hotel with excellent service!
The hotel is getting old and need some renovation. However, the location and level of service provided compensate the lack of modernization that you may face.
The breakfast is included on the rate and is great! Excellent variety of fruits, bakeries and hot food.
The gym is medium and is one of the best of the city with new and modern features, nice staff and a great view… inclusive they are open to general public
They have a nice spot on the top of the hotel with a small pool and a great view of the city.
Also the location of the hotel is excellent… close to the main restaurants of the city and a small shop and relatively safe for walking until early night.
Room rates are also around 260 dollars and a taxi for the JAT complex may cost you from 150 to 200 meticais.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Cristina,

I would like to thank you for your comment, because it´s very useful for the hotel receiving the clients opinions, to help to improve our services standards.

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
General Manager - Hotel Avenida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I travelled to Maputo on business and of course expected better service for the amount of money i was going to pay.
Avenida is a nice business hotel but needs to up their game and improve on everything all round, the hotel rooms carpets are old and need changing.
They are also very strict on cancellation no matter what you tell them.
Internet services given are for one laptop. Internet is also pretty slow
Meals are generally okay
A few staff speak English
Hotel has no views _ City view rooms are the worst

Room Tip: try the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Bagengo

We sorry for inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel.

We updated the internet system and today we have a faster Internet service without no charge

We will do a renovation very shortly

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!
Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel Avenida is a decent place to stay, but not the first choice in Maputo

I have stayed here a number of times in the last 1 and a half years.

It does have a great location.

Staff speak very little English which can become a problem.

Rooms are massive, but shower is integrated into the bath.

Views not great unless you stay on the top floor.

The food is not great, breakfasts take a bit processed although there is a good selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Dear Rory,

Thank you for the comment regarding the Avenida Hotel services.
I regret if the experience was not as expected.

I would like to say that Avenida has a tremendous focus on training the Staff members. However I will share you disappointment to our staff members.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!
Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel is a vry good hotel specifically for business travellers. The standard rooms are well decorated and fairly spacious. They have internet which is only valid for 8 hours. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food enabling vegetarians & others to have a good start to the day. Their is a gym & a swimming pool. The staff are freindly. The shower/bath is a little bit narrow (600mm), so if your are a larger prson it is not very comfortable. the hot water has its own will power ranging from boiling to freezing at the same temp setting. They have a good selection of things in the bathroo,m which includes a razor, a nail kit, sewing kit etc. As as hotels in Africa the price is relatively high. As a business traveller this hotel should feature in your selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Dear Rainer,

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to upgrade our client satisfaction.
Your comment will be shared to the members of our team
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Had some misgivings about this hotel as I normally stay at the Polana. But its a good location for business near restaurants etc. Also nice size room, good comfortable bed, good shower, good breakfast buffet and good service. Obviously not 5 start but then neither are the prices. I would recommend it if you are on a budget or don't like the pretentious Polano or overprices Southern Sun. Restaurant next door is really good with tasty inexpensive food and great service. Only negative was no mosquito repellent in room

Room Tip: Not on Main Street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 26 October 2015
Dear Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable. Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo.
Our prices are in the Average for a 5 Star hotel
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A very comfortable hotel but I'd rather equate it to a City Lodge in South Africa. Clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities. The usual array of goodies for the breakfast but nothing extraordinary. A nice little pub/restaurant next door to the hotel which makes for a more reasonable cost when it comes to eating and drinking. Pavement in front of the hotel very dirty. Hotel staff friendly but English lesson would be helpful.

Room Tip: I just find that a room closer to the elevator reduces the walk down the long passage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this review, 28 October 2015
Dear Robert
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I apologize if your expectation was not achieved. However Hotel Avenida is quite different compared to restaurant next door and the difference of prices reflects that
Hotel Avenida has a training program in English to provide a better conversation with our customers.
Your comment will be shared to the members of our team
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!
Kind Regards
Rui Viegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 23 in Maputo
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Maputo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#6 of 23 in Maputo
346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Property: Hotel Avenida
Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing