We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - but tired and unreliable”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Close to restaurants and amongst the buzz of central Maputo. But a number of negatives including poor parking, slow check in, unreliable wi-fi and various problems with the rooms which are tired and in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Andy,

We sorry for inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel.
I will share with our team your comments.
We will do a renovation very shortly

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is my sixth stay here at Avenida. Some problems remain:

Insulation (very thin walls) and internet.

Now I observed they get fewer cable channels, for instance no CNN or Globo (this hotel receives a lot of Brazilians).

Internet signal very slow and not reliable.

Housekeeper simply entered my room one day while I was still sleeping. She woke me up. I suppose she was eager to clean it. The next day she knocked quite early again.

My bathroom smelled like sewage, so I asked for a room change. They changed me, but the new room had a problem with the toiled bowl (water would not stop running). A hassle, at the end of a very tiresome day.

Some very worn out furniture in this second room (like the small couch).

On the good side, gym is well kept and staff has been courteous.

They need to keep up, otherwise newer hotels in town might take their business.

Room Tip: Ask them for a room far away from the housekeeping office. Quite noise around there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ccap77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015

Dear Customer

We sorry for the inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel.
I will share with our team your comments.

I would like to say that we changed the TV Channels, they are more adequate for the business customers and we are preparing for an renovation very shortly

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed here on business and was satisfied with my experience. The front desk staff were helpful and the airport shuttle was very prompt. The location is great, with shops and restaurants nearby (try the Thai place next door), and a taxi stand across the street.

Rooms are clean and comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was strong. The A/C was a little weak in my room, but that was addressed. Breakfast options were varied, and internet was fast and free. I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenivtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Dear Lenivtsa,

Thank you for spending time review our Hotel.
Definitely we are the most central hotel in Maputo and it was nice to know that you enjoyed our service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very Average Hotel - not sure who owns it but it needs a professional to polish up the service, procedures and decor. Reception was friendly but not efficient and credit card machine fell apart on departure and watched various people try to make it work and run around. The rooms when you enter are dark and dull and there is something missing from the decor and feel that makes the room feel dull. Layout of the fixtures does not really work well in the room or bath room. There is only a light switch on one side of the bed for example, which is partly covered as well by the head board. The decor downstairs has the same feel dull, lifeless and not inviting and needs work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Costumer

On behalf of Avenida Hotel, thank you for your comment because it´s very useful to have feedback from our customers so that we can implement and improve our service.

We are making arrangements to make a renovation very shortly
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent a few nights here for business, quite comfortable. Inside there is a restaurant, but at walking distance from the hotel there are also different restaurants among which to choose (from Thai to Mundo). Taxis are just out the door, breakfast is excellent for choice and quality, lobby is very comfortable, rooms are large (free wifi), and personnel is kind (really appreciated the welcome fruit after a long plane trip). Not close to the train station and Fortaleza area, however (walk there from the Avenida may take almost an hour), and no particular sightseeing from the room. Overall an hotel that I would definitely recommend if it is within your budget.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank 936marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Marco

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback We are very happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and that you were satisfied with the standards of the hotel.
Avenida Hotel is the most central hotel of Maputo.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife, a colleague, and I were in Maputo on a business trip and very much enjoyed the hotel other than for the front desk staff who were less able to help and be on task than most comparable hotels in which I have stayed. We enjoyed our rooms and the restaurant. We would choose to return on our next trip to Maputo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Peter,
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel.
Hotel Avenida has a year training program to all staff member to improve the attitude and skills
I apologize if something went wrong with the reception.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!

Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

[+] Front desk person was friendly.
[+] Rooms are clean.
[+] Some personal touches added like fruit supplied in the room.
[+] entrance hall, bar and dining area have a new feel to it.

[-] Bathroom design does not make sense, toilet roll holder placed directly next to and very close to the toilet, meaning that you are constantly in touch with the toilet roll holder. Shower head only has one setting and seems cheap, needs an upgrade.
[-] Poor wifi reception in room.
[-] TV in room has SD/AV quality, very poor reception.
[-] Hotel claims to be 5 star, at best 3 star.
[-] In room safe cannot accommodate a laptop.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank zhenn z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAvenida, General Manager at Hotel Avenida, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

Dear Zhenn

We sorry for inconvenience caused about what you should expect from our Hotel.
We updated the internet system and today we have a faster Internet service.

We will do a renovation very shortly

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in future!
Kind Regards
Rui Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 23 in Maputo
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#6 of 23 in Maputo
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#7 of 23 in Maputo
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
#14 of 23 in Maputo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Av. Julius Nyerere, 627, Maputo 3236, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Maputo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maputo
Price Range: £129 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Avenida 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 5 star Avenida Hotel, you have 159 fully equipped luxury Rooms, of which 7 are Suites and one Presidential Suite. Every Room is equipped with free Wi-Fi internet, Air-conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, Internet, and many other details that will surely make for a very pleasant stay, including our Health Club, so that, even when on vacation, you can keep fit. At your disposal there's a Swimming-pool and a Panoramic Bar, and you can enjoy the local and international specialities at our luxury Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing