We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polana Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Polana Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gracious hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This gracious old lady has undergone some amazing renovations to make it into one of Africa's grandest hotel. It is no wonder that everyone wants to stay there. The rooms that face the sea are understandably in high demand. The breakfasts are delicious as are the lunchtime and evening buffets. The staff are friendly and helpful. Their English is good. The wifi is greatly improved. The veranda area is lovely to sit and have a leisurely drink. The new Aquarius bar serves good sushi although the service is a bit slow and the staff not that well informed about the menu.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LTWells101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

It is very good to read your comment and see you feel some of the improvements we did . I am sure all the team will appreciate reading you words.

I would like to meet you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    169
    53
    18
    13
See reviews for
62
113
38
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

It was a delight to fall onto a comfortable bed, in a well equipped room with quiet aircon, great shower and thick towels after a few days travelling in the heat and dust of Mozambique. Great views over the sea, good wifi, good food, great selection of fruit at breakfast, nice bar,plenty of space outside to take a drink and enjoy the evening breeze. A lovely stay.

Room Tip: Take a room between the pool and the main hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience at Polana Serena Hotel. I will share your comment with all the Team, I am sure they will be happy to read your words.

I would like to meet you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are quite outdated ... The pool is nice, breakfast is very good, people is very friendly. Well located and in a safe area. We walked to the shops and bars. Was a very good experience. Although, after asking for 5 mojitos( me and 3 friends) they run out on peppermint leafs.
I will return. :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lelisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We are very happy to know you had a very good experience with us and we will make sure we will not run out of peppermint leafs for Mojitos in you next visit.

I would like to meet you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

What can I say? This is a nice hotel that has a captured market... To an extent!

The rooms at the front a generally nice with great sea views although they are a little dated and the service at times is a little tardy. The power went off several times a day although it was restored quickly.

Some of the staff seemed a tad averse to the idea of service while others were amazing ( especially those in the main dining area). The bar staff seemed absent at times, so much so that on two evenings I simply stood up and walked out. Given the prices they charge you would think they would be hovering like chicken hawks!!

All in all not a bad hotel but nothing that a good dose of competition would not solve.

Room Tip: Make sure you pack mosquito repellent for your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our service and experience. We take every comment about our Hotel very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We will discuss internally your comments about service consistency, to see if we can improve and see the difference in your next visit.

I would like to meet you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again for providing us with very valuable feedback .

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Maputo hotels generally seem overpriced and whilst this is probably the best one in the city, for what you get in other cities and in the luxury lodges of Mozambique, it's a very nice experience but at a price.

The building is beautiful and the rooms are pretty traditional.

The restaurants are a bit 80's in look and feel, but if they work and competition is limited, there isn't a real need to change them.

The reception staff are very helpful whereas the spa staff really didn't want to help when my companion booked a massage (which also they didn't think was a very good massage either).

The complementary spa facilities are nice though, and provided a pleasant way to relax after a long flight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our product and service. We take every comment very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

We will discuss your comment with Spa team, to see how we can improve, had avoid the feeling you had last time you visited us.

I would like to meet with you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.


Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Whilst working in Maputo during 1997/1998 I often visited the Polana for a little bit of R+R following the rather arduous yet rewarding working conditions which Mozambique has to offer. It really is a place not to be missed just for a swim in the luxurious outdoor pool and to view the sunset over the bay. You don't even need to stay there to enjoy its' decadence within a rather frantic and eventful city! Although if you do you will not be disappointed in the slightest!

Room Tip: Make an effort to speak Portuguese!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our product and service. We take every comment very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

Its is very good read your words and I am sure all the team will be happy to read them.

I would like to meet with you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.


Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Polana Serena is THE hotel in Maputo. Breakfast is amazing, poolside nice and view to the ocean charming. Service in gerenal was great.

We got a room from an appendix, which was bit of a dissappointment. Room was ok, but a bit 70's style. We had our own balcony to the ocean, which was nice. The main building is amazing.

In addition to the room, an other dissappointment was the welcome we got from the reseption. As we had been backpacking in Africa for 5 weeks before ending our holiday with style in Polana Serena, we arrived with our backpacks and flipflops. This seemed to be a bit of a dissappointment to the staff and the welcome was degrading. In my opinion five star hotels should not judge their customers by the first impression.

After the two first dissappointment, the stay was amazing. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Polana Serena Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing the Polana Serena Hotel and taking the time to write about our product and service. We take every comment very seriously and whether positive or negative we always aim to improve.

Its is very good read your comment, however we will discuss with the team the feeling you had on arrival, so it does not happen again.

I would like to meet with you personally, so please would you contact me directly on your next visit to Maputo.

Thank you once again.


Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cardoso
Hotel Cardoso
#4 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Afrin Prestige Hotel
Afrin Prestige Hotel
#9 of 22 in Maputo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.0 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polana Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polana Serena Hotel

Property: Polana Serena Hotel
Address: Avenida Julius Nyerere 1380, Maputo 1100, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Polana Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “Grand Dame” of Africa, as the Polana Serena Hotel is widely known, is a must-see historical landmark when talking about the city of Maputo. The elegance and splendour of its façade are the living memory of bygone colonial times; its luxurious interiors whisper stories of the many generations who spent nights protected by the hotel’s majestic walls, kings and queens, ambassadors and presidents, princesses and common travellers; its gardens, perfect and romantic lookouts offer a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean.Built in 1922 in the heart of Maputo, one of the most exclusive residential areas, the Polana Serena Hotel belongs to the elite of the most famous hotels in the world. The splendor of its colonial lines blend tradition and art, making your stay an unforgettable journey through the past, looking to the future. Faithfull to the Serena Group philosophy of integrating architecture with cultural heritage, the Polana Serena Hotel offers a mix of elegance, grandeur and ethnicity, in a space equipped with the most modern solutions, luxurious facilities and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelClick so you can book your Polana Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing