We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine, pretty nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Like many have said, Mozambique is expensove, and that is true of the Tivoli. The revamp has been done very well and tastefully.

The place is looking pretty and charming. The rooms have beautiful parquet floors and the bathrooms are newly done. They are clean, light and modern. The rooms also have aircon.

The beds are firm and comfortable and the linen is nice a clean and crisp.

The Tivoli makes for a very comfortable stay, especially if all you're doing is overnighting and you only need a good clean place to lay your body and mind.

Breakfast is alsojust fine, nothing bad and nothing great; just adequate.

However I do think the price is rather steep. Three-star hotels in South Africa with much better breakfasts (such as the Garden Court and City Lodge chains) are much cheaper.

Room Tip: The views into the city aren't that great so it's neither here nor there whether one gets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neotrax233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

From previous reviews I can imagine the hotel was in a bad state, but you wouldn't know that from the way it looks now. It's not a luxury hotel - definitely no Polana - but it's very comfortable, I like the modern decor, with some nice details such as the old photos in the lobby. Not all rooms have the same size, mine had a huge window and a pleasant view to the municipal library. The breakfast is OK, not lavish but enough to start the day, including eggs, bacon and such. The hotel bar is small but comfy - nice G&T. Wifi is free, not the best connection but they're working on it. At the time of my stay, there was one network working on the lobby and 1st floor (not in the bar, strangely, only the corridor where there are sofas) and a different one in the rooms, and that was the one that was not yet fully operational. The manager explained they were changing the system so I would expect it would be working fine by now.
The hotel is located downtown, next to major monuments (the cathedral, the stunning train station...) and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
I enjoyed the stay, and the friendly staff, and would stay there again, be it for business or holidays. The price is expensive for a 3 star, but that's how prices are in Maputo's hotels. Restaurants are a better deal!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the inner "courtyard" may be quieter but the view is obviously unpleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a completely renovated hotel. And really well done. The combination of colours, art and decoration enhance the ambiance and provide a comforting environment. Rooms are comfortable, cozy bed, safe bolted down in the cupboard, flat screen TV, modern bathroom with all the extras. Breakfast is a complete affair with a selection of types of eggs and extras, dishes of fresh fruit, home made breads, and smooth coffee (or tea). Staff are attentive, friendly and always helpful. The Caju Bar is a great place to unwind after a long day. The Acacia Restaurant seems a great place for dinner as well although I didn't have dinner once during the 5 nights I stayed there as there are several good restaurants within walking distance (try Restaurante Escorpião). This is a business hotel centrally located with a few tourist attractions nearby. We were a group of 9 staying at the hotel and we all agreed it was well worth it. I am always weary of reviews written by someone who has only written one or two other reviews before as is the case with several of the reviews written previously for this hotel. This is a great place and a great value specially as we were provided with their corporate rate.

WiFi works but only on the first floor near the restaurant. Eventually though they will extend the connection to all floors. There is only one elevator which does display the wrong floor numbers but once you realize this it really is a non-issue. There is security at the front door all the time. And video cameras on all floors. Even so keep your valuables in the room safe or even at the safe at the reception. Nothing different from what you would do in any hotel anywhere in the world. No swimming pool and I am not sure if there is a gym. There is a park a coupe of block from the hotel with a race and exercise course ... so wake up early and get your exercise done before the hearty breakfast

Room Tip: I was given a room facing the side street (south) and although the view is boring you are rewarded w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DPS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hotel Tivoli is located in downtown Maputo and was recently renovated. The rooms are comfortable and air conditioned. There were a whopping 7 television channels, 2 in English, the rest in Portuguese. The bathroom was nice and clean, but the overhead shower dribbles at best. The lobby smells horribly, mostly because of the street out front, along which very aggressive street vendors hawk their wares, sewage flows, and trash accumulates. The property has free internet, but only in public spaces. The restaurant is mediocre. The elevator is a dicey affair that works when it wants. All in all, the property serves its purpose: somewhere clean and safe to sleep. In the larger picture, Maputo is the capital city of Mozambique - one of the poorest countries in the world. While the potential for a beautiful, vibrant sea-side city exists, it is a long way from being realized. I would suggest that travelers stay closer to the better developed areas up the hill near the Polana shopping center. By the way, get ready for sticker shock as prices in Maputo rival those of New York and London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is my fourth time in Maputo, on previous trips I have stayed at the Avenida. But was assured that the Tivoli was ok and recently refurbished. It is definitely recents refurbished as you can still smell the paint and several times over the last few days, I have been confronted with workmen still refurbishing. Here is the summary text from my e-mail to the agent that booked the hotel for me:

A list of things that don't work at the hotel:

The Lift, there is only one and it frequently doesn't work. When it does it displays the wrong floor number on the indicator inside, we have realised this but it's a source of amusement with new guests when they get out on the wrong floor.

The Wifi, about as reliable as yogurt pots connected with string. It only "works" in the public areas and not in the rooms.

The bath, it only has a shower head and no plug, so you cannot fill the bath.

The room safe, the batteries are flat so it won't lock and reception don't seem to have any replacements or the technical know how to change them.

The air conditioning, before midnight. Then it starts up and the noise keeps you awake.

Breakfast , is like the leftovers from the Hotel Avenida. Today the bacon looked like road kill, the eggs resembled rubber toys and the orange juice was transparent. 

There is no gym despite there being a sign for one. Probably better there isn't as it would only be full of equipment that didn't work. Actually I've just found it, but the room is full of old furniture, perhaps they are running furniture reconditioning classes rather than exercise classes.

Although I haven't personally seen any, another guest is sharing her room with a family of cockroaches.

The area around the hotel is definitely "down town", although we are only a few minutes walk from the office. You would get a taxi back to the hotel after dark, rather than risk the walk alone. Even when there are two of you, it's not pleasant and yo will see rats on the pavements.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crisbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Feliciano_moz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Luis G, Manager at Hotel Tivoli Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose Luis G, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Maputo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 23 in Maputo
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 23 in Maputo
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
VIP Grand Maputo Hotel
#18 of 23 in Maputo
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Rovuma
Pestana Rovuma
#10 of 23 in Maputo
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Maputo

Address: Avenida 25 de Setembro, 1321 | P.O. 340, Maputo 1321, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range: £75 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tivoli Maputo 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A RENEWED CONCEPT OF ELEGANCEFully remodelled in 2012, the Hotel Tivoli Maputo aims to add a touch of elegance to your days.Featuring a fresh and modern decoration and a welcoming environment, whose happy colours are an invitation to linger, here you will find the perfect scenery for a memorable stay.With 68 Standard rooms, 16 Junior suites and 4 suites, this 3 star hotel also features a bar, a restaurant and five meeting and events rooms with capacity for 90 people, making it the ideal choice for those looking for comfort and quality of service.Located in down town Maputo, the Hotel Tivoli enjoys a privileged location right in the middle of the shopping area, with easy access to the roads that connect the capital city to the rest of the country, to the airport and to the International Fair of Maputo, in Marracuene.Explore the perfect blend of business and pleasure.Member of TD Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing