We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Maputo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In the heart of Maputo”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Its a hotel found in down town Maputo. It has great coffee. Thats all I loved at the breakfast spread. The rest was not that well done and the menu never changed throughout the 7 days I was there. It is near Maputo shopping center which I foundnto have very many things including a forex exchange. The staff were friendly and like most of the hotels in Mozambique, internet is $14 a day, but there is one computer that one can use for free. One is advised to get a local line that they can use for data.

Rooms are clean and well kept. The interior decor is amazing. It came as a suprise.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not with windows to the main road. Very, noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed in Hotel Tivoli for 3 weeks and recommend anybody for this hotel. Location is very nice, its just few blocks from Maputo Shopping Mall and walkable to the sea point. Rooms are nicely designed, good interiors and Hygienic. Food was awesome except breakfast, I got bored seeing same dishes everyday in BF but lunch and dinner was good especially when they server buffet (only during conferences) it will be worth eating such expensive buffet.
Hotel is weak in few aspects like internet, it was working good for me but few other guests had lots of complaints, service and staff behaviour needs to improve further. They are not very polite as expected in Business Class hotel. GYM is like antique piece and they have notice on door as the GYM equipments are out dated and they are not responsible for anything wrong its was too funny. They don't have a swimming pool where as the tariff is expensive.
Conclusion : do a price comparison for hotel Terminus and Tivoli and choose Terminus even if that is slightly expensive because Terminus if better value for money but if cost difference is double you can leave with Tivoli.

Room Tip: Look at the map on website and choose a bigger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NasirBNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Rooms clean and neat with everything functional apart from airconditioning. When I asked reception for a remote to operate aircon I was given a blank stare.
Wifi access very expensive.
Hot breakfast pre-prepared so eggs and bacon are given the opportunity to get cold in buffet.
Lift functioning, but dirty with strange mechanical noises when moving. I would hate to be stuck in this lift in Maputo!
Very noisy area, especially in street facing rooms.
Reception and diningroom staff (all male during my visit) were sullen and never once cracked a smile.
I would not choose this hotel in Maputo because there are others at same/similar price with better facilities and level of service.
My opinion - appears as if some money was spent on facilities, but little effort goes into staff training or motivation to run the facility or service clients.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, with a working aircon, as it can get quite warm in Maputo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groenjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It was better than expected: the rooms have been up-graded, are spacious, well designed, confortable, clean, good bedding, toilets are ok. Breakfast is varied and ok. Service and staff are kind. However, the (two?) TV screens need repair, and channels are not the best choices. No internet at all, although the front desk guranteed it was good. Stayed in one of the rooms in the fifth floor, with windows to the main road, so not much noise. The gym is not yet ready. The great disadvantage is the area where the hotel is.

Room Tip: As said, get a room as high as possible, with windows pointing to sun-rise - East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Basic hotel, with clean and nice rooms, good bathrooms and tv. No minibar.
Breakfast is ok.
Few common areas with few spaces to hang out, meet, or have a longer chat.

No internet service...

Average business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Certainly not the best and over-priced! However, its clean and a place to sleep if you need one. The lift was not working when I stayed there. The rooms on the inside are terribly noisy all night long from the air conditioning and as they are built around a towering central open area. Otherwise it was comfortable enough. No fresh fruit for breakfast which I found odd considering fruit is wonderful in Mozambique. I don't think I would choose to stay there next time. No gym.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacestig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by how much the hotel had improved since last year. I have been back to Maputo several times since last year but always stayed at other hotels. The hotel has improved and I would say that it is now good value for money compared to other hotels in Maputo. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom has an good shower and is well lit. The breakfast is still somewhat limited when compared to other hotels, but for what you pay is okay. If you want a substantial breakfast use the money you have saved booking the hotel to go for a slap up breakfast in a café and don't ask for an espresso in the hotel as they charge for it now. The WiFi is also a lot better, but then it isn't free any more. The gym isn't ready yet, in fact you can't even get to it as its hidden behind a false wall on the stairway up from reception. Judging by the amount of building work still going on in the hotel, it will be a great hotel next year.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in a 7 are normally on the corners and can be slightly bigger. Rooms that end in 20 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisbaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
0.5 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
0.6 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#5 of 22 in Maputo
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Rovuma Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Maputo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Maputo

Property: Hotel Tivoli Maputo
Address: Avenida 25 de Setembro, 1321 | P.O. 340, Maputo 1321, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tivoli Maputo 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A RENEWED CONCEPT OF ELEGANCEFully remodelled in 2012, the Hotel Tivoli Maputo aims to add a touch of elegance to your days.Featuring a fresh and modern decoration and a welcoming environment, whose happy colours are an invitation to linger, here you will find the perfect scenery for a memorable stay.With 68 Standard rooms, 16 Junior suites and 4 suites, this 3 star hotel also features a bar, a restaurant and five meeting and events rooms with capacity for 90 people, making it the ideal choice for those looking for comfort and quality of service.Located in down town Maputo, the Hotel Tivoli enjoys a privileged location right in the middle of the shopping area, with easy access to the roads that connect the capital city to the rest of the country, to the airport and to the International Fair of Maputo, in Marracuene.Explore the perfect blend of business and pleasure.Member of TD Hotels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Maputo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing