We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst service in town!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The worst service in town!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel is priced as a luxury hotel. However, the rooms are old and pretty basic, but what really makes it a really unpleasant experience is the service. The staff is very unfriendly (sometimes verging on being rude or bossy!); the service at the restaurant is extremely long (count at least 30min for a salad and a beer - if they notice you at all); it is impossible to put the bill on your hotel room as in all other hotels of that "class" around the world - you have to pay rightaway (although they don't even have an ATM and sometimes not even a credit card terminal like at the bar by the pool). You also need to pay for the room in full as you arrive. In the end you really get the feeling that you are being taken as a possible thief. Silly buffet options at the restaurant make it quite unconvenient (if you want to have a piece of dessert at lunch, you have to pay for the full dessert buffet wish costs around 15 USD). They don't have a proper laundry service meaning they have to send things outside for cleaning so you have to wait for days to get your clothes back if you have a suit for example. Pretty boring hotel also I must say, and far away from pretty much everything. There are a lot of other options in Maputo, but don't go for this one - completely overpriced for the poor quality of services offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apanamanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
7
4
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

we stayed 2 nights at the Girassol Indy Congress. When we entered the room I felt being back in the 80's. I was not overly keen on the rooms interieur neither of the TV. Toilet was broken and a few other things didn't work. It's a small fridge in the room but you cannot use it as it's looked. The staff is friendly when a bit slow. The hotel is in a compound with bungalow style accomodation which is quite nice and safe. The pool area is nice and relaxing with a nice little bar for drinks and snacks. The breakfast was the biggest disappointment. When we arrived around 7.30 am most of the buffet was empty and what was left didn't look very tempting. No amtmosphere either in the breakfast room. It felt like a huge barn with one side some tables for having breakfast, in middle some tables with the food and the rest just a big empty space. It was o.k. but if I wouldn't go back for the price you pay and what you get. There are better options in Maputo but often fully booked because the lack of accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macaco2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LISBON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed two nights on our holidays - August 2012. The rooms are nice. It is a business hotel, or at that time, it was with a lot of business people because of the Fair of Maupto. The breakfast was good. The location is good - near the centre and best restaurants in Maputo.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RV091972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed on a business trip in July as a last resort when we couldn't get in to the Polana.

Basically just a very average hotel, charging big prices due to the lack of accommodation options in Mozambique.

The whole hotel is a compound style and felt safe enough, but that was about the only positive.

The room had a bed, it had air conditioning (which barely worked), it had a bathroom. None of which were particularly nice.

Will do the job if you don't have other options.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarecrow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maputo hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Maputo is short of good accommodation - this place is OK but expensive. The whole place is a large campus with blocks of single-storey rooms surrounded by little gardens, a gym, restaurant, cafetaria, pool, jungle-gyms, tennis courts. This makes it very unlike the city-centre accommodation that it is. It is quiet and spacious outside the rooms, which are small but clean. The lighting in the rooms is good and bright, but there are no desks to work at. There are self-catering chalets, but I don't know anything about these. Service is impersonal; the staff seem to be only too keen to get to the end of their shift.

There is a really good gym, but with no water available. You need to go downstairs to the apealing little cafetaria and pay cash, as the credit card machine doesn't work. Nothing in the campus can be charged to your room, which is frustrating, and accommodation must be paid up front. Restaurant is good but also expensive. professional, not warm.

All-in-all its just OK because of the price - better than nothing, which is often the choice in Maputo.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 to 105 are right at the gate - noisy as this is also where the staff hang out and chat lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

stayed for a week while working. The hotel is nice although I had a problem with the cleaning since only once my bedroom was cleaned during the whole week. Nice pool, average restaurant, nice surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugoRSLoureiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

By far I think this hotel has the best health club and spa of the city, quite inviting without being pretentious.
I cannot review or talk about the rooms because I was never a guest but I occasionally frequent the restaurant, do frequent the health club and also order pastry from them.
The food never lets one down, a bit pricey but worth it I would say. The pastry is by far the best in the city, the former Polana head baker who used to work for the famous but now closed polana patisserie is now working here so you can call and order cakes and other things, and no, its not expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15theos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.6 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#8 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel

Property: Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Address: Rua Macombe Nongue-Nongue, R.1. 373 | Sommerschield, Maputo 1100, Mozambique (Formerly Girassol Indy Congress Hotel & Spa)
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sommerschield, one of the noblest areas of Maputo city, Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel is only 7 km from the International airport and very close to the city centre. This 7 hectare resort includes 55 one, two or three room villas and 72 rooms, a restaurant with wood fired oven, swimming pools with bar, conference room with a capacity up to 1,000 people, health club & spa, hairdresser, Kids Club, bar, tennis courts and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel And Spa
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing