We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service quality and staff performance needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Maputo
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Service quality and staff performance needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel have nice and modern rooms. The service needs to improve and some of the staff need training to increase their performance. The food is great, specially the sea food. The gym fees are extremelly expensive for the small space they have. The pool is nice and have good size. Besides this weak points, we had a great time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    34
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
7
4
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here for business on a colleagues recommendation. More suitable for a family of holiday makers than for business. It claims for stars, but feels more like three!! The rooms are functional and simple but the beds are hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom was ridiculously small and poorly designed...you have to enter the bath from the back!!!

My TV was not working and it took 10 hours and 6 calls just to get someone from maintenance to have a look at it.

The only redeeming feature was the food, which came in large tasty portions.

Will i return? Not by choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantomreviewer280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Firstly for the price a traveller should be entitled to far better everything! The food and service in the main lounge is really shocking. One can wait ages for the meal to arrive and more often than not when it does it more closely resembles hostel rather than hotel food.

The accommodation section (This hotel is laid out more in the format of a barracks than a hotel its rows upon rows of blocks with units of 1, 2 & 3 beds in each block) is not any better and the service here is equally bad. Room service is a joke. The delay from the dining area compounds into a disaster, as the food has to travel to the other side of just about a city block on a tray, with very little attention paid to keeping it warm. I have yet to have a meal to the room that was palatable.

Internet is iffy at best and pricey. I have used the gym and its acceptable at best.

The compound seems to host more long term guests and so it almost falls more into a self-catering villa and residential hotel than a business or holiday hotel.

It’s a miss if you need to be in Maputo for only a night or two. You will be better off elsewhere (Good luck with that!!!)

Room Tip: If staying a few days and you had no other hotel option be sure to ask fro a room in the earlier bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Maputo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Pemba, Mozambique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Good restaurant service and SPA. I traveled with my family (husband and sons) and we had a good time. Unfortunately my son had an eye irritation and ear pain because of the swiming pool. And when the doors are open in the afternoon, a lot of mosquitos come into the rooms. Besides this, the service on the restaurant was very good. Simpatic people and ready to help. I have no reasons to complain about the security: is very good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adloyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had a reservation there (made by a client) stayed one night and left for the Polana (an amazing hotel btw). The indy village is revolting. Dirty gym, terrible fried oily food and exceptionally unfriendly staff. I wasn't treated as a guest but rather like some vagrant. The gym needs a clean. The spa too! The pool was chemical and gross (with no clean towels). My room was dismal and completely over priced. What a disgrace. Even their WIFI is overpriced and didn't work. Dinner was expensive and very bad (oily and tasteless).
The aesthetic is another joke. Orange disaster.
Simply not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielScheffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012 via mobile

This is not so much a hotel as chalets. Some times this can be nice, but it also means you nee to walk outdoors whenever you want to get food, go to reception etc. A right nuisance i'm sure in the summer months Got to keep in mind TIA, so service, cleanliness and facilities are not necessarily to the same standard as other places. Food was ok, although zero atmosphere in restaurant and no bar per se. Pool is outdoors and basic, not particularly clean. Rooms are basic, and mozzies are a problem. I won't choose to stay there next time, but equally it's not really a hardship either. One saving grace is the gym, it's very good.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel is priced as a luxury hotel. However, the rooms are old and pretty basic, but what really makes it a really unpleasant experience is the service. The staff is very unfriendly (sometimes verging on being rude or bossy!); the service at the restaurant is extremely long (count at least 30min for a salad and a beer - if they notice you at all); it is impossible to put the bill on your hotel room as in all other hotels of that "class" around the world - you have to pay rightaway (although they don't even have an ATM and sometimes not even a credit card terminal like at the bar by the pool). You also need to pay for the room in full as you arrive. In the end you really get the feeling that you are being taken as a possible thief. Silly buffet options at the restaurant make it quite unconvenient (if you want to have a piece of dessert at lunch, you have to pay for the full dessert buffet wish costs around 15 USD). They don't have a proper laundry service meaning they have to send things outside for cleaning so you have to wait for days to get your clothes back if you have a suit for example. Pretty boring hotel also I must say, and far away from pretty much everything. There are a lot of other options in Maputo, but don't go for this one - completely overpriced for the poor quality of services offered.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apanamanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maputo hotels
1.0 mi away
Polana Serena Hotel
Polana Serena Hotel
#1 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence, Maputo
1.8 mi away
Montebelo Girassol Maputo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Maputo
Southern Sun Maputo
#2 of 22 in Maputo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Africa Business
Hotel Africa Business
#10 of 22 in Maputo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa das Arabias Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel

Property: Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel
Address: Rua Macombe Nongue-Nongue, R.1. 373 | Sommerschield, Maputo 1100, Mozambique (Formerly Girassol Indy Congress Hotel & Spa)
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Maputo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Maputo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sommerschield, one of the noblest areas of Maputo city, Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel is only 7 km from the International airport and very close to the city centre. This 7 hectare resort includes 55 one, two or three room villas and 72 rooms, a restaurant with wood fired oven, swimming pools with bar, conference room with a capacity up to 1,000 people, health club & spa, hairdresser, Kids Club, bar, tennis courts and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebelo Indy Maputo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel And Spa
Girassol Indy Congress Hotel Maputo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing