We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place with real bar decor”
Review of Joe's Beerhouse

Joe's Beerhouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Nightlife in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Joe's Beerhouse is truly a Namibian landmark. Joe's is a must-visit destination for tourists and is popular withj locals. Enjoy Joe's unique decor and famous entrees.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place with real bar decor”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just had drinks but the menu looked fun. Lots of game choices. They messed up the drink order and brought 3 girls 13 and under drinks with run. Second set ordered specifically "virgin" came back with alcohol again. Maybe just not tuned into kids. But the decor is fantastic. would definitely go back and eat there next time. Check out the bar stools.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    126
    27
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cle Elum
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprising find! Good food and drinks - the atmosphere is really different!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stopped by one evening. We had heard people mention it. We thought it was a little beer place. Boy, were we surprised! It is a very large restaurant with a few bars. The areas are divided so you can dine inside or out and in different venues. I had a selection of meats common in Namibia and wanted to try something different. Very well done. Nice beers too. I liked the Castlethorn beer, Windhoek brewed. Couldn't find it too many places, so made it more special.

We enjoyed the venue many times.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmdavies001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Huge place - good meaty stuff”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's a huge place, yet reservation is required. You can get all sorts of meat/game dishes there, good value for money. In the winter huge bone fires are lit in the center of the semi-oepn structures. Wonder why this place features as an attraction rather than a restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good, copes well with large groups”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have been to Joes several times over the years and really love it, happy memories, lots of space freindly people, welcoming and top food

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good food, beer, wine and atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We tried this restaurant the first time looking for a quick beer on the way home - from the outside it does not look great but totally redeems itself on the inside. Great (predominantly outdoor) dining experience - which in Windhoek is nearly always good. As befitting the name, the beer selection is excellent, but the menu really surprised us with some wonderfully innovative African specialties and an extensive menu. As always in Windhoek - great South African wines.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Beerhouse also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Joe's Beerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing