We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roof of Africa Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nice small hotel with excellent food and social atmosphere. There was a wedding on when we stayed so may have been busier than normal. Service was good and the rooms fine. Rooms can be a bit noisy if others are staying up late

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    57
    36
    16
    11
See reviews for
15
38
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menerbes, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very pleasant. The location is good and the parking is secure - we left a large trailer there for 24 hours and it was well guarded. Important in Windhoek! The foos was inadequate in terms of quality but....the draught beer must be the coldest in the world! Great, on a typical Windhoek day! The other bonus is that the Roof is within walking distance of Joe's Beerhouse!!

Room Tip: In courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Exposed wiring, insufficient door locks, lamps hanging by a thread, dark staircases, garbage in halls. I wont try to counter the good reviews, just check out the photos we have posted of all the above.this place is a fire waiting to happen. if you have children, there are about a dozen ways they could hurt themselves.
windhoek is full fo great places to stay. this is not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mukson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorstenK, Owner at Roof of Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
The Report give wrong information. I'm not sure why this person did this. The picture of the bathroom is not from the room but a Toilet by the pool side, the bed shown is not how the room look like. Its actually a big room (38m2) and the room is separated by a wardrobe. Behind the wardrobe is an extra bed for children so if a child sleeps in the parents room there is still some privacy, The small yard with the gas bottle as the delivery entrance where guest have no access. The door lock is a normal cylinder lock. It locks safe and tide, not sure where the problem is, The light is hanging on a proper mounting bracket which was supplied with the light and not on the cable. which can even be seen on the picture. I'm not sure why he removed the cover to take a picture of it?
The dangerous cable are speaker cable for the bathroom speaker inside the TV cabinet and not on the wall. Yes there are not connected and should be removed but are not dangerous at all.
The walkway up the stairs has lights on both sides and is not dark at all. Its over grown with beautiful buganvilias plant and its just depend how to take the picture.
The step leader staying next to the entrance...yes should have been removed...was forgotten by the maintenance man....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Somewhat removed from the town centre so a bit of a hike if you like walking to get to/from shopping and some of the city sights - but otherwise well located. Our room was excellent and we enjoyed the restaurant - although the very pale fish in the fish tank can be a little scary - so take a table that isn't right beside the tank. 8-) The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petitCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed there on the first and last day in Namibia, making it as a transfer station. maybe we have been used to the friendly atmosphere of the many B&Bs we stayed, the service in a hotel made us feel there's no service. Of course the staffs were still friendly and happy to answer every question we had.
The bar is well designed. It even has an aquarium hiding under the stairs. A piano near the gate and many decorations on the wall.
The rooms are small, making the twin beds into a big one. Luckily the girls share the room with me is a very good friend, or it would be a little bit embarrassed. It's inconvenient if you are traveling with just colleagues but need to share the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A nice ambiance in winter around the bar with the dining area upstairs and at the opposite end of the bar. Warm friendly but slow service with good accommodation and a great outdoor beer garden in the summer

Room Tip: As to see the rooms first as they are all different. My preference would be away from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at Roof of Africa for one month while visiting Windhoek. The price of my hotel room, which included breakfast and the dinner buffet, was affordable. I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is not centrally located, but it was easy to get to the city center and back (either via walking or by taxi). The food was always good. Most importantly, however, the staff was very friendly, accommodating, and always a pleasure to talk to. They were always very responsive and helpful whenever I came to them with a question or concern.

The only reason I do not give this hotel 5 stars is because there was a very limited selection of television channels and the internet wifi did not always work in my room. However, as far as I am concerned, these are minor issues (especially considering the wifi is free). I recommend this place to anyone visiting Windhoek, and will certainly book here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
4.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.2 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
3.6 mi away
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Hotel
#9 of 16 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof of Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof of Africa Hotel

Property: Roof of Africa Hotel
Address: 124-126 Nelson Mandela Avenue, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roof of Africa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Roof of Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing