We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One out of the box”
Review of Okapuka Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Okapuka Ranch
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed for ten nights at this Ranch approx 30 km from Windhoek in October. The whole experience was fantastic, the staff, the facilities and the animals. If you are going to Windhoek and are seeking a place to relax and have a beer in the evening then this is the place. Meals are excellent and free wireless. What a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great place, simple big rooms, animals eating grass just near the reception. Breakfast is ok, who cares about breakfast anyways. Bar.. they heated my glass before the brendy.. Austrian "ordnung", I guess. Wake up early and you see giraffes at your door.
Plus , you can arrange a real safari right from there.. f.e. zebra ... Hi Tim!

Room Tip: choose those facing the internal therritory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

While staying in Windhoek we had dinner out with friends at Okapuka. This was a nice restaurant with good food set in its own game park. We ate at dusk as the animals (Wildebeast, Impalas, Giraafs, Hartebeast etc) meandered over the grassy area in front of the restaurant towards the waterhole. Quite a unique setting for dinner, and not too far outside of windhoek to just go to for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and i spend the last 2 days of our Namibia holiday at Okapuka Ranch and we had a fantastic time. The food was excellent, the meat was nice and tender according to my husband. Being a vegetarian I was very happy to see vegetarian dishes as well. The service was very attentive and friendly. The rooms very romantic and cozy. We also went on a Game drive saw many different animals species with Rhinos and Giraffes being the highlights. We had a fantastic time and we can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have come twice to Okapuka Lodge, never to stay overnight, but to have a nice meal and to take excursions.
The food is nice and varied, and prepared with care. Pricing is also quite reasonable. The service is both attentive and not too pushy.
They offer tours of the reserve (1½ hour) and this is very exciting. We came to see springboks, waterbucks, crocodiles, onyx, rhinos, giraffes, baboons and much more, and we a great outing. I also lasted almost 2 hours because the driver would not give up in finding giraffes (request from a passenger).
The other tour on offer is only in the afternoon and goes to the lion reserve, where the lions will get fed. Very exciting and you really get close to these majestic animals.
All in all a great place and I would like to come back, but this time have the time to check into a lodgement for a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were quite disappointed by the unfriendly, grumpy service which we had to experience at Okapuka Ranch. The buildings themselves really have potential, also the chef does a good job in the kitchen.
BUT everything was spoilt by staff which doesn't seem to bother, which doesn't seem to care about clean table cloth or even about a smile. Especially the breakfast was a disappointment compared to that of the many other fantastic lodges we experienced in Namibia. They ran out of food and coffee already one hour prior to the official end of breakfast time and didn't really bother to fill up either, although there were not many guests present (wonder why?). Also the pool area was not kept clean, dirty glasses were standing around and nobody seemed to care about that, although, as I said, the place was not busy and the staff was just standing around chatting with each other and obviously didn't want to be disturbed...
The place needs a complete make over (remove the plastic flower stuff, dust ALL the interior, educate the staff) - then it could be a good location to end or start your holiday in Namibia. The way it is now is not recommendable. There are so many other, better alternatives in Namibia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was our first stopover on a 2 week trip around Namibia. It is very close to the capital and just off the main motorway so convenient if you don't want to have a long drive just after landing in the country but also don't fancy spending your first night in the city. Location is not spectacular though. Still, first impression was very good, the place is set in expansive own grassland and you can see some Antilopes from the car and warthogs on the lawn right in front of the main house and restaurant. Maybe not too impressive for anybody who's been around Africa already but as it was our first trip and first day, exciting enough. Room was big with nice views across the grassland and clean enough, with a thatched roof. The complimentary lion feeding is a chance to see the big mal lion very close up which you would rarely get otherwise. But these are by no means wild lions, they live in an enclosure (which is much bigger than anything you would see in a zoo, so I don't see an issue from an animal welfare point). Food was ok and German inspired, similar to what we had in other places later during our trip. Varieties of game, other dishes (had a vegetarian meal) not overwhelming but perfectly edible. Service was ok but didn't feel like anybody was going out of their way for you. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly and clearly trying their very best.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
21.4 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
249 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#20 of 88 in Windhoek
128 reviews
5.6 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 88 in Windhoek
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#7 of 88 in Windhoek
103 reviews
21.7 mi away
Trans Kalahari Inn
Trans Kalahari Inn
#24 of 88 in Windhoek
70 reviews
15.8 mi away
Penduka
Penduka
#30 of 88 in Windhoek
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okapuka Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okapuka Ranch

Address: 30 Km3, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range: £80 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okapuka Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Okapuka Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okapuka Ranch Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing