We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ondekaremba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ondekaremba
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A wonderful farm stay option just 20 minutes from Windhoek airport. Clean, spacious room, warm and friendly staff, wholesome food and wifi now in the lobby. Excellent birdwatching. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We did spend our last night on one of the 4 beautiful campsites, which are located 5 minutes away from the farm house.
There is a small swimming pool just for the campers, it is great to relaxe but too small for swimming.

There are several marked walking trails on the farm (from 2-14 km).

The dinner was a bit of a disappointment, overcooked and not very nice presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This lodge is a half hour drive from the airport. It has beautiful surroundings,a nice pool and spacious simple rooms with a private terrace. You can go for several walks and there are lots of birds to watch. Unlike the other reviewers we did not like the food at all. Maybe we were just unlucky but dishes were very sweet (soup!)or very salt. We did not expect something fancy but since we did eat well everywhere in Namibia ,this was a bit of a disappointment on our last night. Breakfastboxes were provided for the early flight guests. They had to be picked up after dinner and contained hamsandwiches,boiled egg and yoghurt. Unfortunately there is no fridge in the room so we only ate the apple the next morning. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitavhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaucluse, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

If you are looking for accommodation close to Windhoek airport you should take a look at Afrika Farm Ondekaremba. It's a great place if you have an early flight out of Windhoek or arrive late and don't want to travel all the way into town. Airport pick-ups/drop-offs can be arranged. The farm has a variety of accommodation and offers packages that include breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. The food is outstanding and my very large room was spotlessly clean. If I'd had the time I'd have stayed another night, just to relax in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of the African bush. I'm sure to be back.

  • Liked — initially proximity to the airport, later the whole experience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.9 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#24 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
9.6 mi away
Trans Kalahari Inn
Trans Kalahari Inn
#23 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.1 mi away
Airport Lodge
Airport Lodge
#55 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
23.3 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
26.0 mi away
GocheGanas
GocheGanas
#3 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ondekaremba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ondekaremba

Property: Ondekaremba
Address: | B6, 7 km west from International Airport, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the African bush savannah and yet only a 10-minute-drive away from your plane, Ondekaremba offers an authentic African experience, including hiking trails in the bush savannah which is home to about 100 bird species. Accommodation: • Ondekaremba Lodge (10 well-tended rooms, free WLAN, pool, restaurant, bar) • Erioloba Village (5 affordable bungalows with shower/WC and 2-4 rooms each, pool, communal dining room with bar, kitchen & fridge; dinner available at the restaurant of the lodge, 5 min. walk) • Ondekaremba Campsite (3 tent pitches with own shower/WC, pool; dinner available at the restaurant of the lodge, 5 min. walk) We also offer transfers (airport and Windhoek) and day bookings before the flight (with or without room reserved) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ondekaremba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing