We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and romantic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eningu Clayhouse Lodge
Reviewed 27 February 2013

we found Eningu Clayhouse Lodge a suprisingly welcome oasis after a 7 hour drive (in a sedan car) from Southern Namibia .
On our 2 day stay we were the only guests ( February is low season in Namibia) and this was like having our own game lodge .It is a small intimate site as other postings detail .
Our host was friendly and knowlegable and nothing was too much trouble .All the staff team were approachable and their attention to service and detail ,gave us a very positive experience to the end of our holiday .

we thought the lodge was delightfully constructed with chalets made out of clay that maintained a cool retreat from the hot sun.
The gardens were very pretty with interesting sculptures and there is a small shop and a library .
There is a viewing deck to enjoy a sundowner drink , and a pool and jaccuzzi that are dark in colour to mimic a waterhole. everything is very clean and well maintained .there are views of the bush from the poolside and jacuzzi and further views from our bedside window

The restaurant offered very good meals there was nothing to fault ..we had chicken and game and there is a good wine cellar that you can visit and choose your wine to go with your evening meal
the best bits for us was the walking trails around the game farm , we saw large and small game ,such as Oryx, Kudu, Stenbok,and various birds ,including a sceretary bird!
There is also plenty of information posted around the walks detailing the annimals ,tree names local population,and how the area is farmed -all very interesting
there is a hide near the lodge which you can visit at night -we took a bottle of wine and saw a procupine -he came right up to the hide! and we also saw jackals
If you have already seen the "big five" this is a great place to experience smaller game that often gets overlooked on a safari holiday ,and I would recommend statying here when you first land at Windhoek or perhaps as a last stop before your holiday ends

Room Tip: there are some rooms closer to the waterhole/hide that could be a little remote for some guests ...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clair460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Our family spent a very pleasant weekend at Eningu Clayhouse Lodge to get away from the workaday routine of Windhoek. Eningu is possibly the most delightful lodge/guest-farm of its type we've stayed at in Namibia.

As other posters have noted, it is small -- 9 rooms in 4 or 5 small cabins. Don't expect wifi, television, live entertainment, etc. Yet the place boasts a wine cellar (pick out your bottle on your way to dinner), a library, volleyball net, bows and arrows for archery, and several different areas to hang out with family/friends to enjoy each other's company -- by the pool, on the sundowner deck, under the thatched lapa, or in the raised blind by the water hole.

Somewhat unusual for Namibia, the Eningu Clayhouse Lodge has a network of nature trails with interpretive materials along the paths -- noting flora, fauna, and providing social-historical context to the natural surroundings.

Meals were outstanding. You get what you are served -- no menu or buffet line to pick from -- but what you are served is well conceived, prepared, and presented.

The owners are new, and the facilities are newer. Unfortunately for them but fortunately for guests, the owners had to shut down the lodge temporarily and completely renovate all of the buildings after the extremely severe rainy seasons of 2010 and 2011. The result is that the facilitates are comfortable (but by no means opulent) and up to date. Winter nights get cold in the desert. (Like most buildings in Namibia, there is no built-in heating at the lodge, other than fireplaces in the dining area and library.) We foolishly forgot to close the windows our first night. The second night we were pleased to find hot water bottles under our covers when we returned to our room after dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StupidNamingRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This treat for the eye is a comfortable nature retreat in the middle of nowhere. Indeed, it’s located in the Kalahari, about an hour east of Windhoek airport and even farther from Windhoek proper. In this case, location is everything and it is incredible. The sounds you hear may be made by hundreds of birds or maybe the shush-shush of a preoccupied porcupine meandering through the yard or maybe you’ll hear the new owner extolling her mastery of contracts and her shrewdness in protecting herself against liability for possible acts of negligence by the previous owner(s), etc., etc.

Eningu Clayhouse is in transition between owners. During breakfast on our one morning there, the only guest (me) couldn’t hear the songbirds or the rodent above the din of a business discussion carried on by the new owner so we left.

With the likely addition of television from Europe and an Internet café we sense that new management may not fully appreciate the site and can therefore not recommend it to others at this time unless, of course, you need tele in the Kalahari.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at Eningu Clayhouse Lodge for two nights at the start of our trip to Nambia and Zambia. As we had been on planes for about 40 hours before we got to the lodge, and it was the perfect, quiet place to relax. We were the only guests, but as there only 9 rooms I can't imagine it ever getting very busy. The lodge has a nice pool which invites you to relax and enjoy the sun.

There is lots of unusual African art all around – in the rooms, along the paths, around the pools, and in the main building. There are a few miles of quiet trails to experience the Namibian bush and savannah. Nothing spectacular, but quiet fun. There is a hide at the water hole to watch the evening porcupine feeds. On the roof there is a place for a "sundowner" drink and a snazzy, computerized telescope for star gazing in the unbelievably black nights. The lodge is a one hour drive from the international airport and still further from the domestic airport in Windhoek. Once you are at the lodge you are unlikely to go anywhere! But it was perfect for a recovery day.

As usual, British Airways lost our luggage. The manager and his wife were wonderful and spent a lot of time on the phone until it was found and brought out to the lodge.

They made the lodge from something nice to something special. Since we were the only guests they gave the cook the day off and the manager did the cooking. Good cooking too. Lots of game, very well prepared, and fresh, good local food. We set meal times with then but then came an hour early as we forget to set our watches after the flight from JNB. They never said a word!

If you are looking for a quiet place to recover from the long trip from the states or rest in a quit setting away from Windhoek, this is the place!

http://www.eningulodge.com/index.htm

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frickwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01130EchallonAnnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloclo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travel_Liev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
60.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
247 reviews
61.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,413 reviews
60.7 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.3 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 88 in Windhoek
423 reviews
49.8 mi away
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
43.6 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#8 of 88 in Windhoek
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eningu Clayhouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eningu Clayhouse Lodge

Address: Route M51/D1471, Farm Peperkorrel | 65 Mi From Hosea Kutako Intern. Airport, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eningu is a window on the Kalahari, a creative view from a place of wonderful style and Beauty; a Lodge imbued with warmth, handcraft and art, nestled in camel thorn savannah, where the last rocky outcrops of the central Namibian highlands dip their jagged backs into deep red sands, creating the gentle ripples that are the first dunes of the Kalahari. - Eningu Clayhouse Lodge offers nine private, individually styled guest rooms, a swimming pool with whirlpool, a rooftop sundeck, a lounge, indoor and outdoor dining areas, an archery range, a climatized wine cellar, a souvenir shop, beautifully set walking trails and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing