We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In conjunction with Bernard Nordoff Centre great volunteer opportunity”
Review of Katutura Township

Katutura Township
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.41*
and up
3-Hour Windhoek City and Township Cultural Tour
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“In conjunction with Bernard Nordoff Centre great volunteer opportunity”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I made contact with MaryBeth Gallagher in advance. She operates an after school program (tutoring math, English, and sporting activities. We took 150 lbs of tennis shoes with us for the kids grades 2-9. Wonderful experience. All volunteer based. We worked with kids individually on reading pronunciation, comprehension and helped preparing lunches. Highly recommended

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    62
    32
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We visited with a guide and it was a fascinating insight into township life, both past and present. The market was particularly interesting. The highlight of our half day tour of Windhoek.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Eye opening”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Visited Katutura as part of a Windhoek city tour with Ricma Safaris. Our guide lives in Katutura which made our visit interesting and in depth. We learned of the imposition of apartheid. and the evolution of the township since independence. The market was especially interesting. We also toured nearby township which were sober reminders of the poverty that still exisits in parts of Namibia.

Do not miss touring Katutura.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattleflyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vibrant Katutura”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I went to Katutura for the first time recently. It's like any other township. People going up and down, young people on street corners and lots of vendors. The place is very accessible. We tried their braai and really enjoyed it. We also went to the Katutura youth centre. They are doing great work by helping the youth develop necessary skills. They also have a gym for young people which is free of charge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindiweMl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Life in townships in Namibia”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The tour of Katatura township was well guided and informative. We got a feel for the day to day lives of many blacks in Windhoek. We also tasted a popular lightly fermented drink made from a type of barley and the freshly grilled beef offered in the market. We passed on a chance to taste the dried caterpillars!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footloose311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katutura Township also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Katutura Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing