We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really helpful owner”
Review of Puccini House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puccini House
Ranked #48 of 97 Windhoek B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really helpful owner”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Accommodation was decent - with good showers, kitchen, laundry facilities etc. Decent location - within walking distance of the centre. Internet (which you pay for) is a bit slow. Best bit for us was how helpful the owner was - with lots of suggestions of what to do, plus helpful in arranging taxis, reservations etc. Good breakfast too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
11
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here in 2012 for 2/3 nights. I had a twin single room full of mosqitoes and spiders and I had to walk down the path outside to use the bathroom/toilet. The self catering kitchen reminded me of something out of my school boy camping days, basic! The staff were not overly helpful, but I guess you get what you pay for in life.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windhoek hotels

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Apart from the accommodation being convenient, clean and convenient as described by other reviewers, we are most grateful to Schalk for his help and advice during the time we struggled with vehicle issues. When we complete those portions of our trip which we weren't able to do this time round, we would like to stay at Puccini again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaxand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place was great! Not only are the rooms comfortable and spacious (the bathrooms are enormous), but the grounds and garden are very relaxing...a little refuge in Windhoek! The breakfast was very good as well. Parking is secure and the guesthouse is very well located to great restaurants like the Namibian Institute for Culinary Arts (NICE) and a few malls for shopping. The owner, Schalk, was so gracious and helpful, providing us with travel advice, directions, and he even made sure to send along a forgotten item with some guests to his other guesthouse in Swakopmund. And all of this luxury and service came with such an affordable price tag. Thanks to Puccini for such a great stay. I can't recommend this place enough!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had a pleasant stay at the Puccini house. The rooms were comfortable, modern, and large, the staff was very friendly, and the cold breakfast was sufficient (cereals, toast, cake, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, coffee etc.). The guesthouse is also only a 10 min walk from the heart of Windoek (Independence Avenue). If you are deciding to stay at a guesthouse in Windoek, definitely consider the Puccini house.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

this is one of the best places I've been hosted in windhoeck. Pucini staff is very warm, rooms are spatious and breackfast is very complete. it's quite close to the center and to several restaurants , malls and shops. indeed an ace.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nuria-Fuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We needed an accommodation for few nights and we decided to try the Puccini house. Location is quite near the center and quality/price ratio is excellent. The courtyard is lovely and suitable for sitting long in the evening chatting with fellow travellers. Rooms are clean and comfortable, maybe a bit cold during the night though, but that is a common problem in Namibia during the winter. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit rough, and I recommend using a taxi or your own vehicle when coming and going. That's actually part of reality of Windhoek, so you can't blame Puccini house for that. Service is friendly and efficient, breakfast is good and as a bonus there's washing machine (coin operated) for guests to use. All in all Puccini House is perfect for a traveller who likes good quality and small budget!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.1 mi away
Uzuri Guesthouse CC
Uzuri Guesthouse CC
#46 of 82 in Windhoek
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puccini House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puccini House

Property: Puccini House
Address: 4 6 Puccini Street, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing