We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet, one of my favorite places visited so far.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Gecko Tented Camp
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Camp Gecko is fantastic, possibly the most relaxing break I've had in a long time; Heidi and Rene are fantastic hosts, they are such lovely welcoming people. We had the most amazing views from the tents and I must say it's breath-taking. Wholesome home cooked meals, exceptionally friendly staff and overall a wonderful experience for us. You are just 28 km from Solitaire, the roads are in great condition (considering the state they were in last year same time) there is so much to do and Sosusvlei is about on hours drive Spreetshooghte Pass is just 20km's away and well worth the drive, absolutely amazing. We will be back for a visit. Thank you Heidi and Rene for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Don't be expecting 5 star luxury hotel rooms, these are fantastic well equipped tents that offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This camp was very cute, however the tents were quite open and full of bugs. Mosquito nets were available, however it was a bit uncomfortable during the night. Also not a lot of activities to do during the day, so I wouldn't recommend spending too much time there.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Samone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our third stay at Camp Gecko. Every single stay has been amazing. Heidi and Rene are wonderful hosts and we very much enjoyed our New Year's Eve dinner with them. The eagle campsite is just awesome with an 'open plan' bathroom and stunning view. Rene is an excellent craftsman and manufactures amazing knives. Our son really enjoyed the archery experience with Rene.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Rothbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Worn out beds, no waterpressure, broken and dirty bathroom equipment, broken pool, lousy food, no other facilities. Indeed, N$ 700 pppn (!). A complete waste of money, except for the view and the location.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We just LOVED it! We stayed at the campsite 'Eagle camp' and the view was so amazing!!! Campsite is basic but so funny. Toilets and shower are incredible but very clean. You can sit on the toilet and look at the view. Or take a shower with a view. Really great!! We travelled with our kids and they liked it very much. Stunning sunset!! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Whoa what a setting for a campsite! The scenery from the camp is absolutely stunning sitting on the borders of the desert with the surrounding mountains looming in the distance.

The owners are from Switzerland and are charming and knowledgable about the local area. We stopped here on account of the roadside (dirt road as so remote!) sign of hand made knifes. We were intrigued and thus stopped by to see them and the other artefacts the owner was selling. He was evidently passionate about the crafts and took great time to talk about how they were made/how materials were sourced etc.

The campsite is secluded from the main building and is extremely tranquil, all facilities are present and there is a restaurant on top of the hill.

Would definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank deluxetrolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Run by a Swiss woman. Basic camp with rustic, beautiful A frames with a proper toilet and shower. There is a brai spot as well and the views are stunning.
At the top of the hill you can visit the 'bar' and enjoy the lovely sunset over the hills.
A very charming camp with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lollo81Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windhoek
0.0 mi away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
0.0 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 88 in Windhoek
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 88 in Windhoek
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
Sossus Oasis Camp Site
#3 of 9 in Sesriem
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Gecko Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Gecko Tented Camp

Address: Solitaire | P O Box 31277, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing