We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elegant Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 104 Windhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had one night at the Elegant Guesthouse after arriving at Windhoek early evening.
We were made very welcome, the room was very clean and comfortable and the staff very accomodating.
The pool was small, but clean and a perfect place to relax for a day before (or after) a safari trip. Storing luggage after checkout no problem.
No meals in the evening, but use of the kitchen would be no problem.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank JulieR_8426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

This guest house is located in a quiet part of Windhoek and you would need to get a taxi if you want to go out for a meal or into the city. We were only there to rest after a long flight and before going back home and we were quite comfortable. It isn't a place with many frills, but does have a pool and the bed was comfortable. It was clean, the breakfast was fine and the staff were polite. The TV does only have three or four channels, but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV. If you use this as a short-term base, it's absolutely fine.

We didn't go out, but tried the takeaway menu as the guest house only serves breakfast. There is a wide choice of places and we got a reasonable box of pasta within 45 minutes in the evening.

Room Tip: There are only six rooms. They are all situated on ground level around a small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Sausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and the room was clean, but a few things I didn't like: For the Price we paid, and supposed 5-stars, the room smelled a bit funny, and the TV only had about 3 channels. The mattress wasn't comfortable and the pillows were flat and old. The owner came in the Lounge one afternoon and didn't even greet us! And, at the pool, the sun umbrellas were full of holes. Not good value for Money at all...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLD5868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed one night after a very long trip from Los Angeles. Met my needs for a good nights sleep to start a 5-week trip in the souterhn part of Africa. Staff very friendly. Hotel listing references a shuttle, but no one metioned it, so not sure it was available. Would rather be closer to the central part of town if I would have been there more than one night. If a shuttle is available for transport to down town or a short town tour, a plus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lovely guesthouse with six rooms not far from the centre of Windhoek, with secure off road parking. We stayed there at the start and end of our 3 week trip around Namibia and were made to feel very welcome each time. The rooms are clean and airy with air con. Breakfast is provided (and a great selection of food) and they even got in some gluten free bread for me - much appreciated. There is no dinner provided. There is an honesty bar with a selection of beer, cider and wine and the lounge area and patio are lovely to sit and relax in. There is a also a small swimming pool. The only down side is when we checked in we were warned, and asked to sign a disclaimer stating that we had been warned, not to walk around in the area as it wasn't safe, which was a shame given how close it was to town. As others have said, it's great for a stop over at the start or end of your trip, but probably no longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 and room 3, the latter had a door out to the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

When you get into Namibia and can't be bothered to drive for many hours and need a place to stay in Windhoek, this is the place to go. Everything is clean, well taken care of, and the rooms are equipped with AC, a safe, clean bathroom etc. There is a help-yourself bar but no restaurant.
We were told not to wander around the neighborhood but that's not advisable for tourists at night anywhere in Windhoek.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Like most people we stayed here for our first and last night in Namibia. Matilda was very welcoming on our arrival and our room was clean and comfortable. There is a small pool which we used on the first day to cool down. The Elegant is not very central and we were unable to go out and see the city centre as we did not have a car to start our trip. We did get a taxi to go to Joe's Beerhouse for a meal and the taxi fare was very reasonable and from a company known by Matilda. The wifi service in the lounge area was very good. The Guesthouse operates an honesty bar which could have been better stocked but adequate for a nightcap. The Guesthouse does have a secure carpark too.
It is an ideal place to stay for 1 night but think I would have rather been more central had I been staying longer. Many thanks to Matilda and staff.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 on both occasions and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorn D, Owner at The Elegant Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear GillyT

Thank you for the nice review you wrote on The Elegant Guesthouse.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Elegant Guesthouse.
We hope to see you soon!!

Kind Regards
The Elegant Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
387 reviews
159 mi away
The Elegant Desert Lodge
The Elegant Desert Lodge
#18 of 92 in Windhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Olive Grove
Olive Grove
#3 of 104 in Windhoek
594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Windhoek Gardens Guest House
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 104 in Windhoek
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elegant Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elegant Guesthouse

Address: nr 56 Corner of von Eckenbrecher and Ziegler Street | PO Box 22810, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Windhoek
Price Range: £102 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elegant Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet street at the heart of one of the city's sleepiest neighborhoods, The Elegant Collection have a fashioned guesthouse which places its architectural and decorative accent on elegance and comfort of the most contemporary kind.The Elegant Guesthouse has a light, breezy and welcoming feel thanks to the open plan design and extensive windows: the single-storied architecture reflects the city's colonial (and recent) past. Clipped green lawns, sparkling pool, impeccably manicured guest rooms and cheerfully attentive staff help ensure that from the moment you arrive you feel a delicious sense of Dulce Domum - even though the wild beauty of the African veld is just miles from your door.The 6 garden and courtyard facing bedrooms are light, functional and imbued with contemporary, angular good looks. They have great mattresses of the firm-yet-pliant variety and these are matched by top-of-the-range bed linen.Expect a full quotient of gadgetry: TV (discreetly tucked away in a cabinet in most rooms), WiFi internet connection, telephone, hairdryer, safe and a hot and cold air-conditioning unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Elegant Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing