We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in an interesting surroundiing”

Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 129 Restaurants in Windhoek
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ideal for every dining occasion from family gatherings, business meetings, romantic dinners to quite evenings out on your own. Quality dining in a natural setting, far from the hustle and bustle of city life yet only minutes away from the city centre. Open 7 days a week. Breakfast, lunch and dinner with light meals in between. Safe and secure parking. Affordable prices and excellent service.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in an interesting surroundiing”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I liked the quality of food. Clean and tasty for Namibian standards. This is not Europe. Large portions-if you want bread you need to ask for it. Very busy in the evenings with guests. Good idea to book in advance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I had dinner at the restaurant last night and it was the worst experience ever. We had to wait for 20minutes before anyone brought a menu to the table and another 20minutes for the drinks to be served...i actually fetched them myself at the bar and the rude waiter Okart thought this was a joke and laughed all the way to the kitchen. When i approched him he denied it was extremly rude and walked away while i was still talking to him. When the food finally arrived, we were left at our own mercy till we requsted for the bill. This was the worst experience ever and coming from a hospitality background i would suggest that you close down and give your staff some tranning on service and MANNERS!!!!!!!!!!! because they have none.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philander01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertNienaber, Manager at Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this issue and we would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for the experience that you had. Please contact me at robert@arebbusch.com as soon as is convenient for you. We would like to get additional information from you regarding what happened so that we can investigate it further and we would also like to try and make it up to you. You have our word that we will do what we can to ensure that this does not happen again.

Kind regards,
Robert Nienaber
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service and non-existent management”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We ate at the Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant while staying there as part of a conference. The main issue with our meal was the complete lack of service. Requests for drinks had to be repeated several times (eventually we went to the bar to order the drinks ourselves), the food order was completely mixed up, and took more than an hour to arrive. Requests to see the manager fell upon deaf ears, and only when we threatened to not pay for the meal was the issue escalated to one of the senior waiters - still no sign of the manager.
On the upside: when the food did eventually arrive (one member of our party of 3 only received his food after the rest of us had finished) it was tasty and well prepared.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TakiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertNienaber, Manager at Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this issue and we would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for the experience that you had. Please contact me at robert@arebbusch.com as soon as is convenient for you. We would like to get additional information from you regarding what happened so that we can investigate it further and we would also like to try and make it up to you. You have our word that we will do what we can to ensure that this does not happen again.

Kind regards,
Robert Nienaber
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“very good food and service”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a very good restaurant that provides quality food and service. The price is reasonable, the place is beautiful and the food is very good.

(www.relatosdicasviagens.com.br - Sergio Vaz)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_Vaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food ok but why the long wait?”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

+ Breakfast is excellent, omelettes are a highlight
+ Food is generally well cooked
Simple menu, nothing fancy
- You could age waiting for service
- Don't go on a Thursday, this is night out time for Windhoek.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertNienaber, Manager at Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this issue and we would like to take this opportunity to apologize to you for the experience that you had. Please contact me at robert@arebbusch.com as soon as is convenient for you. We would like to get additional information from you regarding what happened so that we can investigate it further and we would also like to try and make it up to you. You have our word that we will do what we can to ensure that this does not happen again.

Kind regards,
Robert Nienaber
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Arebbusch Travel Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing