We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Campsites - major street noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Luxury Campsites - major street noise!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed on one of the luxury campsites on our last day in Windhoek. The front desk was very professional and friendly. The campsite itself is excellent: large shower & toilet, small grass area, etc. Unfortunately, the luxury campsites are located right next to a very busy street, even at night. Sleeping is almost impossible. Because of the location describing them as "luxury" is very misleading.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    107
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
68
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

In general nice place to stay for a few days:
1) Rooms are typical as for 3* hotel standards. Door lockers don’t looked safe, but fortunately nothing bad happened during my stay;
2) Very nice restaurant with decent food, drinks, good service and fare prices. Probably the best restaurant I've ever visited in Windhoek. Reservation has to be made in advance, as many tables are busy.
3) Reception staff (especially at night hours) are desired to be better. Guys are pretty relaxed and do not fully care about customer orientation.
4) Good value for money, but please, arrange everything in advance and have hotel confirmation at hand.

Room Tip: Pick up the room very close to Square area. It is the best location at the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ostap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

1. Rooms booked were changed with out our knowledge. 2. Wifi never works, every day the same answer "we're working on it" after four days still no wifi. 3. Breakfast tables are all reserved. You are expected to sit outside in winter. 4 staff have no knowledge of restaurants in the area and can't recommend anything. 5. Air cons in the "square" is so noisy it sounds like bees humming all the time in the room. 6. Still waiting for invoices that were supposed to be sent last week.
7. Same breakfast served for the last 5 years, no variety. Not even salt and pepper on the tables.

Room Tip: Choose the self catering rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertNienaber, Manager at Arebbusch Travel Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback in your review and I would like to personally apologies for the bad experience that you had with us.

We would dearly like to establish contact with you, regarding points 1, 3, 5 and 6. They are unacceptable and we would like to gather more information from you so that we can ensure that this does not happen again. Would you please send an email to robert@arebbusch.com so that we regarding these issues.

Points number 4 and 7, I can guarantee you, we are working on them. And lastly, with regards to the Wi-Fi, while it is unacceptable, we have been struggling with our service provider a lot of late, but we are taking action to get the issue resolved and to build additional redundancy into the system.

Kind regards,
Robert Nienaber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Reception desk staff are extremely helpful and professional! Rooms are spacious with everything you need. Restaurant serves a variety of well prepared dishes with well trained waiters. If you visit in winter rather book for a table for dinner otherwise you have to brave the cold outside as the restaurant is very popular. I had an issue with the A/C which was sorted out within minutes. Well done!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Its a refreshing change to be away from a hotel on business.
Arrebusch lodges are well spaced and comfortable without being luxurious..All comforts are catered for, with spacious rooms, outstanding shower with best hot water supply ever, comfortable beds and good wardrobe for 5 days!!
The only downside was the cheap and very nasty toilet rolls!!

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms near the swimming pool...but away from the main road and the Truck stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My sister got married on the 5th of April and they had their wedding reception at Arebusch Travel Lodge in Windhoek. We decided (my wife and I) to book in for the night after the reception, though it was a last minute decision, the staff at the reception desk were very helpful. Though they couldn't find a cot for our baby, they got her an extra mattress. We even arranged with them to check out an hour later, which they were happy with, because we didn't check in until about midnight. The price was reasonable for their new cabins by the pool. Will recommend to anyone who wants to have a nice peaceful reasonably priced accommodation away from city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moctar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Was there this past week. Stayed for four nights. The reception staff were great and very helpful.

The self catering chalets are not well equipped. No desk to use a lap top. The pillows are well past their sell by date. No hand soap or complimentary shampoo.

The time we were there, there was a screaming evangelist across the road at the National stadium who carried on until 22h30 on the Thursday night and right through the Friday night until 06h00 on Saturday. ( This was not Arebbusch's fault though)

Their restaurant service is non existent and their waiters are not to be seen when you are sitting outside. It took them 22 minutes to serve us and then only because I complained. We were wrongly informed that they did not serve their coffee and cake special on a Sunday. The second waiter than advised, that they did. Two simple coffees took another 10 minutes to arrive. No cake! I once again had to get up and enquire. Then the waiter came back and advised that the lemon meringue was out of stock. So we both ordered apple cake.
This took a further 10 minutes. By then our coffees were cold and they had to take them back to re warm, which took another 7 minutes.
All in all, I would not recommend this restaurant as we had similar slow service the previous lunch time for simple hamburger orders.
I will not consider this place for my next Namibian trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sothtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,312 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
207 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#11 of 16 in Windhoek
43 reviews
2.9 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#15 of 16 in Windhoek
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arebbusch Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arebbusch Travel Lodge

Property: Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Address: 1 Golf Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arebbusch Travel Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the dry Arebbusch River, Arebbusch Travel Lodge is nestled in the natural surroundings of the "veld." Far from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet minutes away from the capital’s shopping centres and attractions. The lodge offers high quality, affordable accommodation in luxury 2-6 bed self-catering units, standard rooms and budget rooms. Caravan and camping sites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arebbusch Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing