We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury stay on the edge of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a return visit, but the first time we have stayed in the villa.

This rating applies specifically to the villa.

The villa is a fully equipped house - : 2 x convection microwaves, dishwasher, tumble drier, oven, hob, fridge, freezer, and yes a gate with remote.......

There are three bedrooms, 1 with a double bed and 2 bedrooms with 2 x single beds in each.
2 bathrooms and a lounge with flat screen TV and satellite viewing. There are 2 identical villas next to each other. V1 has the bigger garden with outside braai area, tables and chairs.

Villa 2 (V2) has a smaller garden, but also has outside braai with table & chairs. There is even a washing line to hang up clothes you don't want to put in the drier. Thee units are air-conditioned, helps in both winter and summer.

This time we did not stay for breakfast, but from previous experience, their buffet-type breakfast has everything you want with out being cold / dried out. (and delicious coffee).

It never bothered us, but I feel I must mention that the lodge is right next to the presidential hanger.

Perfect place to stop if travelling between Springbok and Etosha, as it is on the edge of town and the nearest shopping mall is about 5min drive away. Maeura Mall - Woolworths food will be opening there in September, apparently.

Room Tip: Villa 1 or Villa 2 for families of 4 -6 members (and one on the lounge couch if needs be!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catherine80808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our decision to stay over in Windhoek en route back to Stellenbosch from high up north was a sudden decision and what a relief it was to get place for all 9 of us. Only problem we experienced is that no bedding, pillow or towel was provided for the xtra person (for whom a mattress was provided).
Breakfast was fantastic and great value for the 70 bucks per person. Service in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToyOosth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed on one of the luxury campsites on our last day in Windhoek. The front desk was very professional and friendly. The campsite itself is excellent: large shower & toilet, small grass area, etc. Unfortunately, the luxury campsites are located right next to a very busy street, even at night. Sleeping is almost impossible. Because of the location describing them as "luxury" is very misleading.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

In general nice place to stay for a few days:
1) Rooms are typical as for 3* hotel standards. Door lockers don’t looked safe, but fortunately nothing bad happened during my stay;
2) Very nice restaurant with decent food, drinks, good service and fare prices. Probably the best restaurant I've ever visited in Windhoek. Reservation has to be made in advance, as many tables are busy.
3) Reception staff (especially at night hours) are desired to be better. Guys are pretty relaxed and do not fully care about customer orientation.
4) Good value for money, but please, arrange everything in advance and have hotel confirmation at hand.

Room Tip: Pick up the room very close to Square area. It is the best location at the campus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ostap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

1. Rooms booked were changed with out our knowledge. 2. Wifi never works, every day the same answer "we're working on it" after four days still no wifi. 3. Breakfast tables are all reserved. You are expected to sit outside in winter. 4 staff have no knowledge of restaurants in the area and can't recommend anything. 5. Air cons in the "square" is so noisy it sounds like bees humming all the time in the room. 6. Still waiting for invoices that were supposed to be sent last week.
7. Same breakfast served for the last 5 years, no variety. Not even salt and pepper on the tables.

Room Tip: Choose the self catering rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertNienaber, Manager at Arebbusch Travel Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback in your review and I would like to personally apologies for the bad experience that you had with us.

We would dearly like to establish contact with you, regarding points 1, 3, 5 and 6. They are unacceptable and we would like to gather more information from you so that we can ensure that this does not happen again. Would you please send an email to robert@arebbusch.com so that we regarding these issues.

Points number 4 and 7, I can guarantee you, we are working on them. And lastly, with regards to the Wi-Fi, while it is unacceptable, we have been struggling with our service provider a lot of late, but we are taking action to get the issue resolved and to build additional redundancy into the system.

Kind regards,
Robert Nienaber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Reception desk staff are extremely helpful and professional! Rooms are spacious with everything you need. Restaurant serves a variety of well prepared dishes with well trained waiters. If you visit in winter rather book for a table for dinner otherwise you have to brave the cold outside as the restaurant is very popular. I had an issue with the A/C which was sorted out within minutes. Well done!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Amp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Its a refreshing change to be away from a hotel on business.
Arrebusch lodges are well spaced and comfortable without being luxurious..All comforts are catered for, with spacious rooms, outstanding shower with best hot water supply ever, comfortable beds and good wardrobe for 5 days!!
The only downside was the cheap and very nasty toilet rolls!!

Room Tip: Ask for the upgraded rooms near the swimming pool...but away from the main road and the Truck stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.8 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,472 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#9 of 17 in Windhoek
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Safari Hotel
Safari Hotel
#17 of 17 in Windhoek
263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#13 of 17 in Windhoek
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arebbusch Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arebbusch Travel Lodge

Address: 1 Golf Street | Olympia, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Price Range: £42 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arebbusch Travel Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the dry Arebbusch River, Arebbusch Travel Lodge is nestled in the natural surroundings of the "veld." Far from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet minutes away from the capital’s shopping centres and attractions. The lodge offers high quality, affordable accommodation in luxury 2-6 bed self-catering units, standard rooms and budget rooms. Caravan and camping sites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arebbusch Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing