We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too class service”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Naankuse is a top class lodge, with fantastic staff who provided excellent service. The food was delicious, especially the cupcakes on the buffet day. The rooms were elegantly designed and equipped with all you could need. Great fast wifi in the main lodge made working more efficient. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank KatO559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    44
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
60
110
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for a few days on and off as part of our volunteering stint at the sanctuary. The food is just stunning and they did an amazing job catering for my gluten free diet

The lodges are just lovely....eveeything you need

The staff are so nice and helpful

A small bit of paradise in Namibia

Room Tip: All rooms fhe same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Upon arrival in Namibia myself and a friend stayed at the lodge the first night before heading to the farm for volunteer work ( I stayed there for 4 weeks ). The staff were INCREDIBLY friendly and understanding. The food was superb ! The price for staying the night was great as well. I can't get over how beautiful this place is! There is wildlife out side your rooms window every morning ( and night!! ) and don't get me started talking about the view because I don't know if i'll be able to start talking! :)

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book early, the lodge fills up fast for a reason :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

What an awesome experiance to be so close to wild animals the kids loved it! Food was amaizing the staff was wonderful with the kids! We will visit again this time to sleep over and do the walk with the cheathas! The kids couldnt beleive their eyes when they saw real boesman!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- very stylish chalets and restaurant area
- very remote location but just an hour drive to Windhoek
- great food, very fresh and creative dishes
- lovely service
- non-profit organisation with charity work for the San people and injured/ orphaned animals
- great activities like feeding tours of the big predators or walking tours with animals like cheetahs, caracals or baby baboons
- a lot of game in the lodge

Cons:
- expensive transfer
- toilet has not been cleaned when we arrived

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinski T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Last month my wife and I spent two nights at the N/a'an ku se Lodge and sanctuary. It was amazing. The rooms are stunning the food great, the staff super friendly and helpful, and we had incredible experiences seeing and meeting wildlife they're caring for. Absolutely worth a visit. (Tip: Ask if their wireless is working, since it can be spotty in the bush, and also ask about the condition of the roads.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huntersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Naankuse is a hidden gem, in my estimation. It’s easy to overlook because it’s close to the airport — just a 30-minute drive over dirt roads — and yet it has as much to offer as many of the bigger, more flashy, exclusive, heavily promoted guest farm/conservancies up north.
I stayed for five days over four nights in mid December. I noticed that many visitors just stay the one night — to or from the airport — and there are a fair number of day visitors from the capital Windhoek, to look at the captive orphan cats and perhaps see some of the surroundings, which is a shame: One night is clearly not enough to appreciate what Naankuse has, and a quick day visit seems almost like a waste of time.
First, off: The accommodations. Naankuse is small, half a dozen or so chalet-style rooms, set out within easy walking distance of the main reception area, but designed in such a way that one has one’s privacy.
The rooms themselves are cleverly designed; they appear to be bigger than they are, but one never has the sense of being crowded. The shower is a pit area in the centre of the room, and won’t appeal to everyone’s sense of privacy. But for a solo traveler or a couple comfortable in each other’s company, the idea is unique and actually kind of original. Everything is designed for ecological efficiency — the water from the wash basins (two basins, both with a private mirror) runs off over rocks and stones for recycling.
There’s a small private veranda, air con (if needed) and plenty of ambient light. Skylight windows are built into every corner of the room, even the small cubbyhole toilet, so one rarely needs to use lights, except at night of course. I was there during a full moon, and at night the light through the skylights was almost strong enough on its own to serve as a light in its own right. Nice touches: Proper towels, big and downy. Two big, downy bathrobes — that seems an obvious perk, but even big hotel chains get that wrong. The beds are separate, large and hard without being uncomfortable. Large pillows, not the wimpy kind favoured by hotel chains. The housekeeping staff, from the nearby San Bushman community, keep the rooms spotless: Naankuse, on top of all its other attributes, appears to be kept very clean..
Smoking is not permitted, but inevitably some visitors will insist on smoking, despite the written notices. While the chalets are private from one another, they are in close enough proximity that the air can carry from one veranda to the next. Didn’t bother me too much, but it did bother me enough that I noticed it.
The food is delectable. The dinner menu is not a la carte — you’re given a choice of one of two main dishes — but the meal itself is prepared to your individual specifications. I prefer my food plain — I’m somewhat unusual in that regard — and the cooks caught on to that after a while.
The Internet is wifi and is limited to reception and the main dining area, as well as a small bar-and-library. The Internet speed is intermittent — fast one minute, slow the next — but is complimentary. It’s Africa, after all, and technically part of the Kalahari, even if it is half-an-hour from the airport.
The cost runs about $180 USD per night. That’s a lot for a backpacker, but for guest farm/conservancies in Namibia, it’s actually middle-range. There places in the north of the country where you’ll pay much more. Two people can comfortably sleep in the room (shower privacy aside), and I think the lodge can make arrangements for a children’s sleeping area as well, if you have young kids. Three adults, though, would be pushing it, in my opinion.
In terms of the conservancy itself, there’s a lot to see. One can go walking with the San bushmen in the afternoons (pre-booking necessary), take in San bushmen campfire tales late at night (also pre-book); and see the conservancies orphaned predators during feeding time. Naankuse is home to numerous problem predators (cattle killers and the like, that otherwise would be killed) and a number of orphaned animals and rescue cases that can never be released back into the wild. One three-legged cheetah, for example, lost her fourth leg to a poacher’s leg trap; she would have died a slow painful death, or been shot, if not for Naankuse’s intervention. Other captive animals include wild dogs, leopards, caracals, lions (raised by hand from cubs but much too habituated to people to ever be released safely back into the wild) and, curiously, baboons, which seem everywhere in Namibia but which, in this case, were orphaned and alone.
Naankuse also runs what seems, from my outsider’s, amateur eyes, to be a fairly extensive volunteer program, where visitors, mainly young people from Europe and South Africa, help out with the animals, help in a small San Bushman school and help the staff run what looks like a large, potentially unwieldy operation. The owners, Marlice and Rudie van Vuuren, were away on a family outing when I was there, but I understand one of the planned activities is a “behind the scenes” tour with Marlice. Naankuse has been the focus of a number of wildlife documentaries and short films, made mainly for the HD cable channels, and so it’s reputation is gaining all the time.
Jodi and Rona held down the fort during my stay, and they proved both helpful and attentive — pleasant company all around.
I’ve been to Namibia several times before, but this was my first visit in three years.
Naankuse is fairly new — it was established as recently as 2007, in its present incarnation — and so it won’t appear in any of the older guidebooks. It’s easy to overlook, as I say, but worth looking out for. Ideal for families with children. Friendly, attentive staff, and reasonably priced. (I don’t know how they do it but they insist that they’re a non-profit: 100% of the funds they raise through accommodation, excursions, activities etc. is directed right back into the conservancy.)
Naankuse is unusual, too, in that it combines two elements: Wildlife conservation, and the indigenous San Bushman community and their culture. Most, if not all, similar places in Namibia focus on one or the other.
I understand this may read a little like PR or an infomercial but, to be quite honest, I tried to think of a single negative and couldn’t come up with one.
Actually, I can think of one. If you’re looking for noise, wild parties, late nights and dance music blasting through the night, this is not the place.

Room Tip: There are five chalets, but other than the walking distance from your chalet to the reception/dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MzunguPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
25.3 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
232 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 16 in Windhoek
1,368 reviews
20.8 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 82 in Windhoek
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 82 in Windhoek
81 reviews
31.4 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#20 of 82 in Windhoek
121 reviews
14.3 mi away
Trans Kalahari Inn
Trans Kalahari Inn
#26 of 82 in Windhoek
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Farm Frauenstein 277, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is near the Airport and central Windhoek, on a 3.200 hectare big reserve. We offer Carnivore Feeding Tours, Bushman stories and stargazing dinners, Cheetah experiences and a “Behind the Scenes with Marlice” tour. Choose to stay in one of our six individual chalets or one of our eight exclusive holiday homes. We offer a dining area with award-winning cuisine, stunning views, bar and swimming pool. A delightful blend of rich ethnicity and modern luxury. The N/a’an ku se Lodge is the only Charity Lodge in Namibia, all profits from our lodge are returned back to our charitable projects. N/a’an ku se supports the local San community and activities are led by the local San. Volunteers looking to help with conservation can join the Volunteer Program offered on the N/a’an ku se Wildlife Sanctuary. The program offers volunteers the rare and exciting opportunity to work closely with and actively participate in the conservation of African wildlife. Volunteers can stay from 2 weeks to 3 months and will have the unique experience to care for our wildlife including a number of lions, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, caracals and baboons and many more, kept at the Sanctuary because they can unfortunately not be released into the wild again. Both experiences will leave you with great memories of Namibia while aiding in our conservation efforts which better the lives of the local San Bushmen and our animals. The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is the ideal place to stay at the beginning or the end of your journey through Namibia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naankuse Lodge And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing