We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot outside Windhoek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot outside Windhoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at Naankuse in early May 2014, while on a panafrican air safari (from Kenya to Namibia and back). It was the perfect place to be, just outside Windhoek. We had a fabulous time, with even warthogs coming into the dining area to "greet" us. The management went out of their way to accommodate our unusual needs. They even opened up an unused airstrip for us! The walk in the morning with the cheetah was memorable. Cannot think of a better place to stay when having to be in Windhoek.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucakanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaankuseMarketing, Marketing Manager at N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
A big hearty Thank You from the N/a’an ku sê Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary for your sincere review.
We hope to see you again.
Kindly
Your N/a’an ku sê Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    42
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
100
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay here for three nights at the end of 4 weeks of travel through Southern Africa. Naankuse can be anything you want it to be and if you take the time to look at some reviews and the web site you will not be disappointed. The little cottages are modern and as good as you could possibly want with elec/blankets comfy beds and even a/c.The meals are fantastic and the kitchen staff will go out of their way to make you happy
There are plenty of activities including carnivore feeding, caracal walks and my personal favourite the cheetah walk with Kiki the cheetah and Solomon the guide, wow thank you Solomon.
The school and the farm are special places to visit especially if you meet up with Melissa and some of the volunteers .
Finally take some time to get to know the staff in particular Jodi and Marilise two of the warmest and most helpful people we met in Africa.We wil go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I admit, walking with a cheetah was pretty incredible but this was not my favorite stop along my 30 day 11 camp safari. I don't know exactly how to explain the way this place made me feel. It is a fenced in "sanctuary" with domesticated warthogs and a cheetah you can walk with. There are many other animals on the property as well. I admire what Naankuse is doing to help preserve the wildlife.
If you self drive to Nannkuse you'll probably have a better experience than I did. We went as a group of 12 with no car and the accommodation is houses spread out on the property. When we wanted to go to or from the houses to the main lodge we had to request a ride which sometimes didn't work out too well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotMichael_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maarheeze
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Naankuse Lodge at the end of our vacation to Namibia. It was a great stay. The rooms are very nice with everythong you need. The bathroom isin the middle of your room and it is great.
The beds are very good. We did a few tours, the full carnivore tour, that is nice to see how the animals are fed. And the walk with the cheetah Kiki. That is a must if you are here. You can see very close how a cheetah behaves. They also have a few whartogs, they walked with us when we went on a walk ourselves. You can also pet them.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Especially Rhona. Thanks for our great stay here.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were volunteering at the sanctuary and really needed some quality time in a nice room with constant hot water and other "luxury's". The Lodge certainly provided them. Each room is totally separate from the next, we were in the last one and felt like we were out in the bush alone, it was great!
You could hear lions roar and see baboons playing in the trees.
Inside the room is beautiful, rustic charm with elegant fittings.
Volunteering at the Sanctuary was a wonderful experience and very satisfying for the soul and then to spend a few nights just topped it off and made it a great experience for the body.
Make sure you go on the Cheetah walk or anything to do with the big cats, they are wonderful and to spend time with these animals makes life worth living

Room Tip: we enjoyed the last room - "out in the bush", but some might find it scary as there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ausgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We visited the lodge for a weekend in April with our kids.

The lodge is really child friendly with regards to the meals and also in the main area they have a play area with coloring books and a few toys. Our kids are age 8 and 3, so you do have to book private activities and some we didn't want to do but they took us to the petting zoo instead where the kids could feed a small baboon,touch baby tortoises and other small animals.

The rooms are very spacious and sleeper couches or extra mattress is provided on request for kids. The rooms are a total different building style than others in Namibia and also really romantic with big bathtubs made out of natural materials. So make sure to pack a few tea light candles if you take your loved one out for a romantic night.

You can also book one of the villas if you 2 families together but it is not walking distance to the lodge, which isn't bad if you have kids since they can then run free and by noisy without disturbing anyone..

Most of all the food was divine, with a Sunday lunch buffet most lodges can only dream of, for children once again special rates was given and the little ones wasn't charged. They also one of the few lodges that stock the wine of Neuras a local winery delivering a good shiraz and red blend.

This lodge would also be ideal for a small, intimate wedding and for me the whole setting was very relaxed, but intimate and romantic.

I will definitely return again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really nice with no particular one but if you are more than one family or have sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AfricanProfileSaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This lodge rescues the live of animals in need. Moreover the lodge employees and empowers disadvantaged people. Those people and the volunteers deliver a great quality. We did the game drive at the lodge which was wonderful. We had a diner as well. The food is the best available in Windhoek.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillemHWindhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
22.1 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
20.7 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
21.1 mi away
Windhoek Game Camp
Windhoek Game Camp
#6 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.3 mi away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#19 of 76 in Windhoek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
22.8 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#7 of 76 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
11.5 mi away
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
Etango Ranch Guest Farm
#22 of 76 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary

Property: N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Address: Farm Frauenstein 277, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is near the Airport and central Windhoek, on a 3.200 hectare big reserve. We offer Carnivore Feeding Tours, Bushman stories and stargazing dinners, Cheetah experiences and a “Behind the Scenes with Marlice” tour. Choose to stay in one of our six individual chalets or one of our eight exclusive holiday homes. We offer a dining area with award-winning cuisine, stunning views, bar and swimming pool. A delightful blend of rich ethnicity and modern luxury. The N/a’an ku se Lodge is the only Charity Lodge in Namibia, all profits from our lodge are returned back to our charitable projects. N/a’an ku se supports the local San community and activities are led by the local San. Volunteers looking to help with conservation can join the Volunteer Program offered on the N/a’an ku se Wildlife Sanctuary. The program offers volunteers the rare and exciting opportunity to work closely with and actively participate in the conservation of African wildlife. Volunteers can stay from 2 weeks to 3 months and will have the unique experience to care for our wildlife including a number of lions, leopards, cheetahs, wild dogs, caracals and baboons and many more, kept at the Sanctuary because they can unfortunately not be released into the wild again. Both experiences will leave you with great memories of Namibia while aiding in our conservation efforts which better the lives of the local San Bushmen and our animals. The N/a’an ku se Lodge & Wildlife Sanctuary is the ideal place to stay at the beginning or the end of your journey through Namibia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naankuse Lodge And Wildlife Sanctuary Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing