We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight or short stay hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Crossing Lodge
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On a recent trip to Namibia we spent two nights at River Crossing which is just outside of Windhoek center.
Quite a rough road to the hotel which is in a game park so all part of the experience.
Chalet was comfortable and had a modern bathroom which had good quality soaps etc.
Supper that night was excellent and service very friendly.
Next day we had a car service due in Windhoek. I must add that the service from Autohaus VW was outstanding!
On our way back from an extended trip to Caprivi Strip we again stayed at RC and had another happy experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

This lodge is situated between the airport and the city centre of windhoek.
Only a few minutes drive to
Maerua mall. ( Checkers,Mr Price,...) Recommended restaurant nearby = Am Weinberg.
The chalets are modern and with all the comfort one needs. Difficult to get hot water out of the shower.Staff friendly but a little chaotic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The location between the airport and windhoek makes it ideal for a busy or quick business trip - I have stayed there many times and have not been disappointed. The nights are unbelievably dark and quiet - only the occasional jackal call. The chalets are big with a modern bathroom, and quite warm enough in the chilly winters. The lodge can be a bit difficult to find - not well signposted from the main road. It does seem to lack a bit of soul - not sure why - but otherwise a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The chalets share one geyser per two rooms, so if you are in a room without the nearby geyser, you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I run a lot of seminars all over the world, but this was probably my nicest seminar location ever. A real heaven. You wouldn't believe it's only a few minutes from Windhoek downtown, so it's really convenient for people to come up just for the day. Yet it has this atmosphere of being remote out in the bush, overlooking the city lights in the far distance, and this open vast sky over the rolling hills of Windhoek.
And the staff was amazingly friendly, went out of their way to accommodate any wish of ours whatsoever, no matter how special and complicated it was.
Lastly, the dinners were really delicious, what a treat! I can highly recommend it for seminars!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've visited River Crossing two years in a row now. Absolutely love this place for a get-away near/in Windhoek. Here is why I love it!
* Fantastic location - literally 10km from City Centre.
* You leave Windhoek behind yet you can see it.
* Beautiful views, landscape and Lodge.
* Beautiful rooms: spacious; great views; private; lovely bathrooms; good beds; heating (important in the Namibian winter (mid-May to mid-Aug)
* Tasty food: simply but lovely
* Pleasant staff.
* Great owner - I've enjoyed my chat with Andrew and his knows horses!!!
* Good riding - I've rode horses at River Crossing three times now. I took a beginner and experienced riders there too this year and they enjoyed. So close to Windhoek, yet so far. Saw Zebra, Oryx, Kudu, Warthog.
Finally, I drove a sedan to River Crossing this year without problems.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lg_Chikwambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

i stayed here for one night at the beginning of a horse riding safarii and for two nights at the end of it and really enjoyed the place. I found the room very comfortable - the facilities are excellent and very update with all mod cons. The food was good and the staff kind and helpful; in fact they were very anxious to ensure that I was comfortable and happy. There is quite a lot to do - I rode the horses at the nearby stable three times, and had a long walk in the very beautiful surroundings. The wines were good as well as the food. I went during the Namibian winter - and it was a little too cold to swim in the lovely pool; each night there was a comforting fire lit in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freddie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here one night at the end of our stay in Namibia booked because it was close to the airport. It is set on top of hills overlooking Windhoek so you get a full 360 deg view of the city and surroundings wonderful. Food and service were good only drawback was the chalets were cold it was their winter but could do with some extra heating would book again if we ever get the chance to return to Namibia just for the views

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
247 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
1,415 reviews
22.4 mi away
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#7 of 88 in Windhoek
101 reviews
9.4 mi away
Trans Kalahari Inn
Trans Kalahari Inn
#23 of 88 in Windhoek
67 reviews
16.2 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 88 in Windhoek
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Crossing Lodge

Address: P O Box 97448, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range: £94 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Crossing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing