We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Crossing Lodge
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We only stayed one night here but it was great. After being stuck at the airport dealing with lost luggage we didn't know if we would make dinner. Phoned and the staff said it would be no problem they would sort out something for us if we were late. Happily we made it and dinner was fantastic. Rooms are super and the views are amazing. As to have breakfast outside so you can watch the animals. This is only a short drive to/from the airport so would definitely recommend it as a first night or last night option. As we had such a rotten flight over it was great to not have to go to far to get our first night of Namibian hospitality in. So a big thank you to our travel agent Rose Hipwood @ http://www.theluxurysafaricompany.com/ for suggesting it and offering every assistance. No thanks to Virgin for being late and losing our luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller200926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Outside WHK, on top a hill. Great views to WHK at night. Amazing views towards the mountains in morning. Rooms are solid, clean & fresh and quite large. Lovely stoep to sit and take in the bush. Traditional Namibian/African experience. Decent B/fast. Would always go back again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our trip. It is very handy from the airport, is only ten mins from a great shopping mall, and is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was lovely. Nice decking area to sit and watch the sun go down and have a few drinks before dinner. The rooms are nice, individual little bungalows, very private, nice bathrooms and comfy big beds with great views. We would definitely stay again as it's so convenient, service was good and such amazing scenery.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our last night in Namibia. It is very conveniently located for the airport, but not so much for the city centre. We didn't attempt to, but I don't think you'd be able to walk. Also finding the entrance off the main road can be a bit tricky, so drive slowly as you approach.

The main highlight for me was the absolutely stunning view when you first enter the reception. It's almost like being in Italy and overlooking valleys covered with vineyards. They had a number of people arriving for sunset just to enjoy a drink at the bar, not staying at the hotel. The have a nice pool on the terrace as well with the view.

Rooms were large and comfortable. Unfortunately there was a curious smell in our room from the drainage. But I know our friends in the other room didn't have that same problem and I'm sure it's fixed by now.

I think there are many b&b type places in Windhoek. This is definitely a boutique hotel rather than b&b.

Food was delicious. But similar to most places in Namibia, it was a fixed menu rather than a la carte.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Santa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Visited this lodge on a business trip for a couple of days, very beautiful setting. Staff need a bit more extra training, made quite a few mistakes with orders for the group. TV's in room only have three channels, one local and one international news channel. Lodge have great potential to be great.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Morne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Convenient to airport and to Windhoek - a good place for your first or last night. A warm welcome, good food, relaxing atmosphere, great views and comfortable, well equipped chalets. Service is friendly, relaxed and efficient - very easy to feel "at home". Happy to make it my "gateway" on future trips. Just a word of advice - easy to miss if you drive too fast! Driving into Windhoek from airport it is on your left, just before the big railway bridge, look for the sign to the winery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On a recent trip to Namibia we spent two nights at River Crossing which is just outside of Windhoek center.
Quite a rough road to the hotel which is in a game park so all part of the experience.
Chalet was comfortable and had a modern bathroom which had good quality soaps etc.
Supper that night was excellent and service very friendly.
Next day we had a car service due in Windhoek. I must add that the service from Autohaus VW was outstanding!
On our way back from an extended trip to Caprivi Strip we again stayed at RC and had another happy experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
387 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#6 of 17 in Windhoek
255 reviews
16.2 mi away
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 92 in Windhoek
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Auas Safari Lodge
Auas Safari Lodge
#6 of 92 in Windhoek
109 reviews
22.4 mi away
N/a'an ku se Lodge and Wildlife Sanctuary
12.2 mi away
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen
#14 of 92 in Windhoek
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Crossing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Crossing Lodge

Address: P O Box 97448, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Windhoek
Price Range: £118 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Crossing Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your River Crossing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing