We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wretched experience.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vertigo Boutique Hotel

Vertigo Boutique Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vertigo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wretched experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

(Warning: A schizophrenic review follows.)

We stayed at the Vertigo a few weeks previous, and we were impressed. The place was wonderfully situated in the hills overlooking Windhoek, the lone staff member, Anthony, was pleasant and really helpful, and overall, the hotel was modern and swank. The rooms contained unique attributes, like Italian showers, and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, and the espresso maker was a big plus. Because of this, we largely disregarded the broken toilets in two of the three rooms we occupied.

Following our stay here, we left on a trip through Namibia, and we returned to stay here one more night before departing. What followed was a nightmare.

Upon arrival, the hotel was nearly empty, much like the week previous. We asked Anthony, who was, again, overly helpful and pleasant, whether the hotel could prepare dinner for us, as our small children were tired and completely unprepared to eat at a restaurant. He mentioned that the hotel wasn't staffed to cook that evening. No problem. I left my wife and kids at the hotel while I went to find food for us.

Upon returning more than an hour later, I found the owners throwing a large dinner party with ten of their best friends, children included. The party was sitting outside and was loud, to say the least. Because our room was situated directly across from their table, our children, one an infant, were still awake long past their bedtime. I learned from my wife that earlier, the owners' guests had treated her rudely, and the owners weren't contrite in the least about throwing a party at their place of business, irritating paying guests.

I went to speak with them, and when I mentioned that we had two kids trying to sleep, one of the owners said that she would keep the guests' children quiet. What? WHAT?! I sort of glanced outside at their large dinner party, and then through her thick skull she finally got the hint. Afterward, they moved inside, which was nice, but this presented further issues: We had no access to the main part of the hotel, so my wife was relegated to our room, and I sat outside in the cold to read.

Further mentions: 1) The Vertigo is not cheap. 2) Our toilet was still broken a week later. 3) Our bathroom was infested by a large colony of ants on a towel during our last morning.

Needless to say, our experience at this hotel was miserable, one of the most illogical and awful I've experienced. The owners were completely unprofessional and self-interested, and while their staff member, Anthony, was great and shouldn't be implicated in this at all, it was still an unfortunate time.

Do not stay at the Vertigo.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Vertigo Boutique Hotel on our trip to Palmwag Camp in Damaraland. The manager ( owner) and the rest of the staff did the best for us. Served a very good dinner and breakfast. The last night we wanted to dine out and the manager suggested Rstaurant NICE which was excellent. I recommend everyone to stay at Vertig Boutique Hotel !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

After a flight from Frankfort, it was a real pleasure to (finally) find the hotel. Several street names had changed from what our map indicated. We had requested an early check-in and everything was ready for us. The property is immaculately maintained. As we were tired, we opted for dinner in rather than exploring Windhoek. What luck! Morris and his colleague (whose name I have lost somehow) served up a sumptuous meal, one that disproved the idea that it has to be inventive/complicated for it to be good. Appetizer to dessert, five star.

The building is fairly new and was done in a modern style, meaning lots of glass and stone. While it was very tasteful and light, the lack of anything to absorb noise was distracting. People talking in normal voice on the lower level were heard, not too welcome if one needed a siesta as we did. We, too, noticed a lack of bars or crochets for hanging towels, etc. The 'ten ways to get clean' shower was an amusing gadget, which we reduced to it's simplest function. The hotel's location isn't the most convenient if you plan to go into the city center for shopping or dining.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeddie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I somewhat reluctantly booked into Vertigo as I had enjoyed my past experiences at another small hotel in Windhoek. Local friends urged me to give it a try - and I'm do delighted that I did. The views and decor are spectacular - and unique. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, although there still are a few minor glitches to be worked out (e.g., phone calls weren't always transferred to my guest room). The one evening meal I had at the hotel was fine - but not exceptional. We used the hotel van/driver for a number of appointments and outings in Windhoek and this service proved to be particularly useful. It's not easy to find Vertigo, but it's well worth the search.

Dr Colleen Braun, Calgary

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Very nice hotel situated on the outskirts of Windhoek(Close to the B6 highway that goes to the airport and just that little bit closer to the aiport than the other hotels). Free wifi at an acceptable speed(Big + for business). Rooms are modern and spacious. My room had a stunning view of downtown Windhoek and the surrounding hills. Nice bathroom, with a jacussi style bathtub and a shower that needs an instruction booklet :) Breakfast was standard hotel fare, but good. Some things that irritated a bit was the amount of cushions and towels on the bed (and nowhere to put them), the coffee/tee/milk was not replenished after I used some(3 day stay). All in all a nice hotel, which I will not mind visiting again. Best to use a GPS to locate the hotel as the roads are not marked properly

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank smileymarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

excelent service and breakfast. rooms are all very nice, lovely interior. managers and staff are fully dedicated. only some extras like e.g. whirlepool bathtub were not working. location of the hotel is not in center, but in windhoek everything is close by. would go there again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

We were booked in to this hotel when our original hotel was overbooked and how lucky were we! Our only complaint is that we only had one night here! This is a very new small family run hotel situated out of town in a residential area with wonderful views. Because of its location it is very safe and secure and has off street parking. We were given a warm welcome by Antonio and Maryann and nothing was too much trouble. The spacious rooms were spotless, comfortable and with wonderful bathrooms (our room had a double jacuzzi!). Because of its wonderful location you will need transport to get into town in the evening. We went to Joe's Beerhouse and got a taxi there and back which was organised by Maryann and absolutely no trouble. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout and obviously a lot of thought has gone into the little 'extras' that are provided. It has an outdoor pool with loungers if you want to relax after a long flight. The breakfast was superb. We had a very enjoyable stay and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Windhoek. It was a perfect start to our holiday in Namibia.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themuchtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
3.5 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jordani B&B Windhoek
Jordani B&B Windhoek
#12 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 17 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vertigo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vertigo Boutique Hotel

Property: Vertigo Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 Joey Street | Ludwigsdorf, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Windhoek
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing