We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Super hotel, goee locatie al moet men ervoor zorgen dat de service en diensten ten alle tijde uitmunted is. Staking of niet. Hiltion= premium brand= premium pricing= premium services and accomodation this was not the case and NO alternatives we're offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kristof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We do apologize for any inconvience that the industrial action has caused.

We fully agree with your statement and tried our level best to maintain.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    557
    210
    106
    49
See reviews for
172
378
92
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here in business in October 2013. The Hilton brand is always dependable and this one is no exception. It is very centrally located, has wonderful clean rooms and a superb "Sky Bar" on the roof. It is within easy walking distance to many shopping and dining options in downtown Windhoek. It is definitely worth a repeat visit in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive comments, pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to Welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Directors of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the second time I post a comment about this hotel.
After a bad experience two year ago I decided to give them a second chance because the room is nice and the swiming pool is great and two year ago this place had just open and that can explain the bad service at that time.
So two year later it is worst than ever!!!
1- less than half of the staff where on duty because of a stryke for more than a week...
2- this is probably the only one five stars hotel in the world where you don't have a botle of water in
your room ( and the minibar)! I had to go at the gas station 500m. away at 10pm to get one!!!
3- 2 of the 3 bars and restaurants where simply close!!!
4- the only one open restaurant was running without a chef ! and on the menu you have the choice
of 5 main courses only!
5- I was expecting a massage at the Spa, It was close!
6- they pretend to be short of staff but for a private fonction at the Skybar they have enough staf
and the next day this bar was close...
Conclusion, regarding the staff problem they should close the hotel at that time or the minimum
they can do is sending a mail before to their clients to give them the choice to cancel their booking!
It look's like the politic of Hilton is to get the money of their customers at any price include the worst service ever... Shame on you Hilton!
P.S. The general manager was simply gone...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocotof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page and for sharing your experience with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to the industrial action, I have noted your comments however complimentary water in rooms is not a brand standard apologies for the fact that your minibar was not refilled. Due to the industrial action certain outlets had to be closed so as to ensure that we meet our guest expectations as it was business as usual. Our apologies once again and please feel free to contact me directly should you need any assistance in the future. Trust that we will welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Spent 2 days while on business in Namibia. Found the hotel absolutely beautiful and everything was brilliant from check in to stay, however after my stay I got an email from the Manager stating there was damage to the TV. On further investigation, it seems there was physical damage which was not observed at the time of my check-out, but later in the day. It was obvious that the damage was done post my check out however I was horribly harassed and abused by the Director of Operations, TEUN ENGBERS. This went on for weeks and my company had to get involved. Never before has this happened to me!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback of your stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

There's a strike going on, so the sky bar wasn't open which was a real pity. The rooms are nice, tho the bathroom isn't separate from the bedroom. The gym is small but ok. The Divine restaurant menu was so small, boring and over priced. What a waste of time. Breakfast is also boring.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for the great comments on our hotel design, sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the food service as well as some operational departments that were closed due to the industrial action. However we trust that we will welcome you back soon so as to better meet your expectations on the areas that we did not fully meet.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you need any assistance in the future.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is one of better Hilton Hotels and i am a hiltons member so they knew my email address. So you. An imagine my surprise when i got there to find a full strike on by staff!!! The people who were on duty really tried so congratulations to those overworked staff members.
Worst part!! They had locked me out of my room and could not open it for 1 hour, plus they FORGOT TO CLEAN MY ROOM, plus rooftop restaurant was closed and trying to get any service was a real challenge, and a computer system that did not work.
BEST PART. The lovely rooms and amazing staff. Hilton please pay them an extra bonus and credit for putting up with all the angry and frustrated guests with a big smile.

Overall have always had very good experiences which is why this is poor not terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms and pillows are lovely. Rooms far from lift always very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanjiru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the great comments, pleased to note that our team members ensured that we meet our guest expectations although there was an industrial action. On behalf of the team sincere apologies for not fully meeting your expectations during your recent visit. Thank you once again for your feedback and trust that we will welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Located in the centre of town, this Hilton is ideally placed to get around Windhoek. When arriving by car, ensure you park under ground at the hotel and not what seems to be the car park next door in the open ground floor parking. You drive up to the hotel where the front desk can order taxis etc and helps with the bags. The reception area is large and impressive, the front desk staff on checkin and check out were very helpful. I was lucky being a gold member I got upgraded to the president suite so I can't comment on the rooms but my colleague said they were nice and new. On the first floor is the restaurant and bar area. Service in the bar was not great, closed at 11.30pm for last orders and at 11pm they would not even do coffees. There is a wine room which smells like it is also a smoking room and an outside bar area.The restaurant was large and looked impressive but we ate out. The room doors all face inwards in an american style hotel and have views outwards across the city. On the top floor is the exec lounge which is very small and with 10 people in there, there are no more seats. It has a fairly decent gym at the top, a roof pool with about 20 beds which is nice and a roof sky bar with glass protection from the wind. Overall a nice new modern hotel and worth staying at.

Room Tip: high floor away from the noisy traffic, ask for a balcony if you can get one and don't ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback as well as the negatives which caused for your stay not to be as pleasant as you may have expected it to be. My sincere apologies for the bad service you experience at our bar, we will ensure that we correct on these areas with the assistance of our internal training programmes and to better meet your expectations upon your future returns. Trust that we will welcome you back soon to Hilton Windhoek.

Kind regards,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
362 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Property: Hilton Windhoek
Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing