We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stayover hotel, not much more”
Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a very well-located hotel, especially if you are getting to or from the Windhoek airport. The parking downstairs is quite ample and free (at least for the Platinum or Diamond members). Not much around within walking (if you are that kind of a person) or driving distance....
The hotel is clean and proper, well-kept and well-run - though I cannot hide the bitterness of being completely mistreated as a Diamond Member of the Hilton chain, but that's just venting :)
Rooms are very nice, well-equipped, have at least one European plug, so you don;t have to worry about those weird Namibian/South African adapters. Air conditioners are quiet, efficient, though the elevators ding quite loudly, so make sure to be away from them. Linens and towels are top notch, with the usual Peter Thomas Roth toiletries on offer.
The restaurant food was the blandest I ever had, the service was awkward, white wine warm, and the food choices were amazingly unimpressive. Avoid, at all costs.
The pool on the top floor is a pathetic little water hole, so do not get your hopes up, but the views from up there are quite nice.
The lounge is poorly stacked - no food, just snacks, and I was charged for the white wine, as there were none in the refrigerator - the lounge clerk told me that of course it will be delivered right away, and it was - with a bill, what a ripoff!

In general, the service was surprisingly subpar. Someone has to re-think the whole strategy of addressing the clients' need and reboot the employees' training from point zero.

Nice location, bad service. Your choice! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyValera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing our survey and for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page. Thank you for both your positive and negative feedback, our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences experienced. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future should you need any assistance. Trust that we will welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

827 - 833 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great hotel for start to finish. Rooms are huge and very nice. It's in a very nice area and close or the few best restaurants in the town. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good, although a little slow on the re stocking of the empty products. Don't stay at any other places in the town. Well done!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest

Trust that you are well,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are very pleased to note that you loved our hotel and that you had a fantastic stay with us. Looking forward to Welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed last week 3 nights in Hilton Windhoek. It felt like all the time this hotel was teasing us in a negative way not to enjoy our stay here. Many things are not working here, communication between staff and operational director Teun Engbers, is not working well. Also Teun gives the impression he will help you, but finally he is doing nothing.
Ok there was a strike of staff, but some things had nothing to do with that strike. Why is still on your website Mr Teun that you have complimentary wifi which you do not have?
Why guests are just sending out of the pool because they was a private party, it was really rude. Breakfast was different every day, the nice bread of one day just was not there the next day, pancakes finished and so on. On day of departure late check out was first free of charge, later 50 % of our room rate on which we agreed, but when we were at the pool on our last day staff came up to inform us that is was much higher because it was 50 % of the rate of that day which was much higher. We saw people complaining at reception about many things. I would not stay here again because you can not rely on their quality, you can not rely on their promise that the pool is open and so on.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

My sincere apologies for the interuption caused by the industrial action.
We have corrected the issue of our website immediately. My apologies if this has come across misleading.

We do hope you will consider us for your next visit to Windhoek.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers

Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed at the Windhoek Hilton twice now. November 2012 & November 2013.

Both times have been pleasant and unproblematic, and you can't beat the location for access on foot to the city centre, the parliament gardens and the Kristuskirche. It also conveniently sits on the main access roads to the big airport and Klein Windhoek in the one direction, and the shortest route to the city bypass/main route connecting North and South. I don't recall being bothered by traffic noise when the windows are closed (air con on).

The rooms are a good size and the beds in the double-doubles are comfy with soft linen. The bathrooms are a bit avante guarde for my personal taste in that they're quite "open plan" with the room and involve panels of frosted glass here and there, which is (a) great for adult shadow puppet shows, (b) mildly interesting if you're sharing the room with a loved one and (c) could make for some rather unique holiday memories if there are four adults sharing.

The Sky Bar views are lovely, particularly at sunset, however it does seem to be quite a popular drinking hole for the local beautiful people and gets phenomenally crowded with non-resident guests. I wasn't brave enough to have a swim amongst all the bar throng, but some people didn't seem to mind.

I was pleased that the Hilton appears to have stopped charging their overnight guests for underground parking in their own building. Although the daily rate in 2012 wasn't extortionate, it did seem an unnecessary annoyance last time.

The wi-fi isn't free. It isn't expensive either, but to Europeans used to it being standard and available all over, again, it does come across as an annoying petty revenue stream. In 2012, our room was just outside the reach of the wi-fi transmitter, so the best reception was sitting on the floor outside the room. In 2013 we were fairly close to the lifts and the reception in the room was fine. When a remote tent camp in Sossusvlei can manage free wi-fi, it does seem reasonable that the Hilton brand could chuck it in free too.

The breakfast buffet isnt bad, but a limited number of staff are trying to do too many tasks, like serve coffee, clear tables, lay tables and replenish the buffet. And none of them very well as a result. It would probably ease some of the stressload if the coffee was self-service from an urn, rather than guests needing to catch the eye of the over-busy lady zealously guarding the flask. The ladies cooking the eggs to order are just fabulous and their omelettes are lovely.

The lifts this visit were a bit confusing at first as nobody had mentioned you needed to touch your key card to the panel to activate the buttons to the room floors. Consequently I had a few extra journeys back and forth from the sky bar to the lobby before the penny dropped. And then the second penny dropped as to why this was possibly the case.

I can't comment on the restaurants in the hotel, or the room service as we were keen to explore and eat out. We didn't have a bottle opener in our room for a cold beer from the mini bar, but I guess we could have rung housekeeping if we didn't already have our own with us.

The lobby staff were attentive and effective.

It's a pleasant enough hotel - certainly one of the better ones in Windhoek. Clearly not in everybody's budget but there are savings to be had with advanced payment. We'll be staying there again next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest

Trust that you are well,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for the positive feedback and for informing us about our shortfalls as well, we truly appreciate our guest feedback as it is very vital for us towards our growth and development. We at the Hilton Windhoek are very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us although we did not meet your expectations on some of the areas as outlined in your feedback. Our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us and for not meeting your expectations on our internet and restaurant services. We will most certainly use your feedback to correct on the areas so as to better meet your expectations upon your future visits.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Super hotel, goee locatie al moet men ervoor zorgen dat de service en diensten ten alle tijde uitmunted is. Staking of niet. Hiltion= premium brand= premium pricing= premium services and accomodation this was not the case and NO alternatives we're offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kristof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.

We do apologize for any inconvience that the industrial action has caused.

We fully agree with your statement and tried our level best to maintain.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here in business in October 2013. The Hilton brand is always dependable and this one is no exception. It is very centrally located, has wonderful clean rooms and a superb "Sky Bar" on the roof. It is within easy walking distance to many shopping and dining options in downtown Windhoek. It is definitely worth a repeat visit in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the positive comments, pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and look forward to Welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Directors of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is the second time I post a comment about this hotel.
After a bad experience two year ago I decided to give them a second chance because the room is nice and the swiming pool is great and two year ago this place had just open and that can explain the bad service at that time.
So two year later it is worst than ever!!!
1- less than half of the staff where on duty because of a stryke for more than a week...
2- this is probably the only one five stars hotel in the world where you don't have a botle of water in
your room ( and the minibar)! I had to go at the gas station 500m. away at 10pm to get one!!!
3- 2 of the 3 bars and restaurants where simply close!!!
4- the only one open restaurant was running without a chef ! and on the menu you have the choice
of 5 main courses only!
5- I was expecting a massage at the Spa, It was close!
6- they pretend to be short of staff but for a private fonction at the Skybar they have enough staf
and the next day this bar was close...
Conclusion, regarding the staff problem they should close the hotel at that time or the minimum
they can do is sending a mail before to their clients to give them the choice to cancel their booking!
It look's like the politic of Hilton is to get the money of their customers at any price include the worst service ever... Shame on you Hilton!
P.S. The general manager was simply gone...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocotof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun E, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on our tripadvisor page and for sharing your experience with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced due to the industrial action, I have noted your comments however complimentary water in rooms is not a brand standard apologies for the fact that your minibar was not refilled. Due to the industrial action certain outlets had to be closed so as to ensure that we meet our guest expectations as it was business as usual. Our apologies once again and please feel free to contact me directly should you need any assistance in the future. Trust that we will welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Teun Engbers - Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 16 in Windhoek
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range: £129 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing