We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not living up to Hilton standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Windhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Windhoek
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Windhoek
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not living up to Hilton standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

While the hotel is clean and the rooms are modern and spacious, the service is poor!! The restaurant was a major let down. I am not going to go into specifics, but would only recommend this hotel as a one night stop over. If I had stayed over more than one night, it would have driven me crazy. Now we are on our way back there on the 3rd of January...I am not getting my hopes up that it will be better. There is a management problem at this hotel. I see you respond to complaints, but it does not seem that you are doing anything to rectify the issues. I can also write responses and make promises. Let's see what happens when we go back. (We pre booked our trip)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Mr Haven,

Thank you kindly for your feedback.
If possible, could you email me more about the issues you had during your stay? My email is teun.engbers@hilton.com or alternatively I will meet you during your next stay on 3rd of January.

My apologies for not meeting your expectations.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    517
    195
    97
    46
See reviews for
153
344
88
535
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel between 12 December and 20 December 2013 and it was not a good experience.

We were in an Executive Room- but it lacks bathroom and toilet privacy; terrible if you have a visitor and also if one uses the facilities when the other person is sleeping.
One night we could not sleep for a couple of hours because of a noise from the shower, probably because it was in use in the adjacent room. There is constant noise from the lift throughout the night.
The lighting is poor and the room is semi dark.
Though Wi-Fi is advertised at the Hotel's website, it is not free and I was quoted N1000+ for a week's use and so I had to do without. So effectively there is no Internet except for a shared computer in the lobby for all guests.
My wife tendered for a currency change GB£90 and was given a receipt for 90Euros, we made several attempts to get this rectified until we had to give up. I tried a couple of times to change money and found they did not have enough local money. The staff also keep telling you that their rate is very low.

We ate breakfast and Dinner there. The meals are boring monotonous and not great, the last breakfast we asked for fried egg and we were given one egg each. Sometimes room service food is brought in a warmer and sometimes it is just placed on a trolley. If you want room service breakfast you have to ring for the order card every time. For three days the hotel Restaurant had no soft drinks. The tea bags in the rooms are rationed to one bag a person in case one wants to use the tea making facilities in the room.

Over all, the staff seem to lack proper training although they are very cheerful and try to be helpful.

This was a trip arranged by our children as a present for our 40 wedding anniversary and it would break their heart if we told them of our experience. This is not the Hilton service and facilities I am familiar with.

Room Tip: Better to go to the restaurant than room service as the service is not consistent in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us.

My apologies for the issues you have riased of your experience. I have shared this with our team and we will ensure a proper follow up is done to rectify this.

Thank you for the positive comments about our team members and we will ensure we tackle the issues raised.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luderitz, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

excelent hotel. very friendly and helpfull staff and a very good price. they also gave us a nice special gift for our wedding aniversary when we checked in. i will definitely be booking at and recommmend the hilton again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am pleased to see you had a nice experience at our hotel.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future to our hotel.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had reservations to stay in the Hilton but there was a labor strike so I was put in another hotel down the street. When I arrived in Windhoek I was notified that the strike was over and I was back in the Hilton. The hotel is beautiful and so was my room. My room was located on the 6th floor with a great view of the city. Everything in the room worked and I did not have any issues or problems with my accommodations. The staff was very friendly and polite. The hotel has an excellent breakfast buffet. I ate in the main restaurant three nights and the steaks and braised pork belly were excellent! On the 9th floor is a roof top bar call the sky bar. The views were wonderful and it is a great place to watch the sunset.

I am not sure if it is true or not but I charged one of my meals to my room and I let the waitress know I was leaving a tip on the room tab. She told me not to do that because the management takes ALL the tips that are left that way and on credit cards and divides them among all the waiters. If this is true, I am not happy because my tip is for the individual that waits on me...not those that did not provide me the service. I ended up bringing her cash the next day so she would get it.

Also, I had to pay N$185 ($18.50 US) per day (24 hours) for WiFi. This was crazy! Come on Hilton.

Room Tip: For views choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMMUTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are pleased to see you came to the hotel once the industrial action was over.

We are also very pleased with the positive comments you have provided.

My apologies if the price for the Internet was not to your satisfaction.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few days in this nice new hotel. The staff were friendly but u able to help when there was a problem. Our room was very noisy due to the water system but the staff continually ignored the request for a different room.

Internet is very slow and far too expensive.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Manager at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
My apologies for the noise you experienced and the lack of responds from our team members to move you to another room. If you would like to send me more details I can make a follow up regarding the room as well as the team on duty. My email is teun.engbers@hilton.com

With kind regards
Teun Engbers
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel is stunning and so are the rooms. Service in Bar and Restaurants is terrible. Staff watching TV, or just plainly ignoring guests while waiting to be served. Nightclub on the same premises and music keeping you awake most of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Director of Operations at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very m,uch for your feedback and positive comments about the hotel and rooms.

My apologies for your experience in our outlets and noise from the night club. I will share this with the team and we will follow up on these issues.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The only hotel in Namibia that I know that charges guests for WiFi. N$75 (US$7) per hour. When I complained to Reception, the staff said "We agree with you. WiFi should be free for guests". A tour operator standing next to me said that several of his clients had also complained. C'mon, Hilton, up your game!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teun79, Director of Operations at Hilton Windhoek, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is our company brand standard that Internet is charged for but we are in the process of implementing changes regarding the public areas.

My sincere apologies if this has effected your experience with us.

We do hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards

Teun Engbers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#2 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#4 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Windhoek Country Club Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Uhland
Hotel Pension Uhland
#8 of 16 in Windhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Windhoek

Property: Hilton Windhoek
Address: Rev. Michael Scott St, Windhoek, Namibia
Phone Number:
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Windhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Windhoek
#3 Business Hotel in Windhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Windhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Windhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windhoek Hotel Windhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing