We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evening view complimenting the chef's pride on your plate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leo's at the Castle

Leo's at the Castle
Ranked #11 of 126 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The team of Heinitzburg is herewith fondly welcoming you. It is our great pleasure and honour to be your host and we would like to take this opportunity to convey our personal dedication of making your stay with us memorable and enjoyable one, The assortment of divine wines was personally selected by your hosts Beate Raith and her son Tibor Raith. Our kitchen brigade under guidance of our Executive Chef Tibor Raith and Head Chef Neville Stoffels celebrates the ,,Haute ecole de cuisine"with freshest ingredients and in the classic spirit of gourmet tradition presentation. Enjoy the time with us! We are already looking forward being your host again in the future.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Evening view complimenting the chef's pride on your plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The flavour profile on every dish is very specific and every bite bursts with flavour. From the moment you are seated, until the moment you leave the table after your dinner, you feel like the royalty that once resided in castles worldwide. The services is outstanding - although a certain waiter seemed slightly cheeky - the menu has a wide variety and caters for most diners. The wine list is outstanding - although might require an update or restocking of the cellar. Lastly, the view will make you loose yourself on the hilltop only to return on arrival of your meal. A note should be made that the flavour of the dishes may not appeal to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elipsis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    32
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had heard so much about this "Castle hotel" and arranged to meet friends for a drink and see the views over Windhoek. Sadly my mobile phone was stolen from the table at which we were sitting whilst our group walked a few yards away to observe the view. There were NO other patrons on the terrace and the only person who could possibly have taken it was the waitress who was serving us. The manager Tibor was uncooperative and arrogant and rude and refused to interview the guilty party. He fobbed us off by saying that he had viewed the CCTV recording and initially refused to allow us to view the recordings and stated that he would not even allow us in to his office. After we reminded him that protecting a thief could in itself constitute a crime he reluctantly allowed us to view the CCTV recordings.
To our utter amazement we found that the table at which we had been sitting was not even covered by the CCTV cameras and there was no point in him having tried to convince us that because of the so-called coverage he could assure us that nothing untoward had happened!
We found him to be most unfriendly, dismissive and the absolute opposite of what one would expect from a hotel manager. The staff were equally disinterested and slack. I would advise you to stay well away from this dodgy place!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windhoek namibia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beutiful setting, rather pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Heinitzburg is on the site of a former German colonial hilltop mansion, one of the three 'castles' of Windhoek. It's a beautiful setting with panoramic view, and especially good for Sunday lunch in winter, with cool mellow sunlight filtering through the trees. We went for a father's day lunch. Menu is varied and interesting, a bit pricey with main courses around US$20. The serving style is very much nouvelle cuisine, so if you're really hungry you might struggle. My steenbras (south african fish) was a minute 5 cm cube, nicely presented, but with the accompanying potato cube-lets almost raw. A vegetarian in our family though had a very tasty looking trio of filled crepes. So, in summary a beautiful place to impress visitors, but the food maybe not quite what it used to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
717 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Excellent view and nice dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Perfect and very romantic place on top of the hill with excellent view over Windhoek. Reasonably (for best city hotel) priced meals. Decent service. Must visit for \Windhoek

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndersUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We went with high expectations to Heinitzburg and sadly, high price does not equal high quality.

The view is excellent!

The tables are in the open and would only have great atmosphere when it is a wind still evening. Sadly it was windy. We were rushed to place our order and the fillet steak is watery vegetable soup was the worst meal I had in any restaurant ever.

We paid 50% more for what we would have paid in any family franchised restaurant and would have enjoyed that moch more.

Consider to cover the tables from wind, allow guests to order when they are ready, give more options and forget about european cuisine, stick to good old Namibian and South African meat preparation.... bry, fry or bake, but not in water.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leo's at the Castle also viewed

 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Leo's at the Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing