We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Art of Food”

Craft Cafe Windhoek
Ranked #5 of 129 Restaurants in Windhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Okahandja
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Art of Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were visiting the Craft Centre and after enjoying all the Crafts we went upstair and had the best Brunch possible. We enjoyed the quices and thcakes in the menu.. This is for sure the place to go...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    87
    37
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windhoek namibia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“passable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Ideally situated place for a light lunch especially for tourists who have been browsing in the craft centre. (well worth supporting).
The cafe itself is only so-so. Interesting freshly squeezed juices but whenever we have been there half of the menu is 'off' and the pricing is confusing - dishes with/without salad, plus or minus charge for this or that. Portions are tiny - a couple of spoons of spagbol for nearly N$90 ($10) and service slow. Welded metal chairs and tables apparently now fashionable, but wobbly and irritating.
Last but unpleasantly not least, bring a nose peg if you have to go to the toilet - although these probably belong to the main building and are not the fault of the cafe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Namibia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good place to chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is a lovely cafe to chill at and meet friends. They have tasty food, tho if you are a big carnivore then maybe not your best choice! they make good health drinks and muffins!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennieNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A nice place to have a light meal on a Sunday (rare in Windhoek) and a rare place to find freshly squeezed juices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I went to this place out of curiosity as it is highly recommended by trip advisor and travel guide books. I found the place to be very touristy and full of interesting things to buy and see.
The tables were all full with many tourists. Do not expect to find locals here. The fresh juices were varied and orange juice was fantastic. The food was good but not remarkable. The waiters tried their best. I would certainly return to this place. But it is not the most incredible place in Windhoek unless you are a tourist and wants to eat some thing light and do shopping for curios at the same time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Casual Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Overall, this was a pleasant experience.We had lunch on a Sunday and just managed to beat the crowds as they arrived. The setting is very pleasant, in an old brewery and part of a multi-business enterprise. Service was fine: we were given plenty of time to choose and then served promptly. The fruit juices were tem;ting, the carrot and pineapple very good, and better than the beetroot,orange and carrot - but you must try them.Both the spinach quiche and the Kudu salami salad were delicious and large. House sparrows trundled arround beneath our feet looking for cruimbs.We gave the other businesses there o nly a cursory glance, less than they deserved. There were curio shops, something we have given up buying, clothes stalls, books and, best of all, a stall selling homemade preserves. They were very tempting - especially matanga jam - but we decided we could not carry them arounf for another month until we arrived home! We liked the place and commend the food to you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craft Cafe Windhoek also viewed

Windhoek, Khomas Region
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 
Windhoek, Khomas Region
 

Been to Craft Cafe Windhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing